PS3 Version 2.0X Firmware - Master Thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 02:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ResOGlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My PS3 randomly turned on twice today. Don't know if Sony is connecting to my console or what, since PS3s can now be turn on over the internet via devices like PSPs. I just decided to flip the main power switch in the back now when I'm done using it.


Has anyone else had their PS3 turn on, on it's own, since the 2.0 update?
ResOGlas is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian27 View Post

It would be nice if Sony would actually let us know IF AND OR WHEN they would add DTS HD master audio decoding to the PS3...I am sure they have gotten lots of emails and calls about it...I have sent a few emails to Sony asking about it but I dont get any kind of information from them either way...If they dont plan on adding DTS HD master decoding to the PS3 then I would like to know so that I can look at other options....Is there any other way to get some info from Sony about this???

You hit it perfectly. If the PS3 won't decode nor send bitstream DTS-Master audio, I "might" have to look for a new player. I hate to say that, because the PS3 is probably the best player on the market, but I would like to hear DTS-Master audio.
metalsaber is offline  
post #33 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 05:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
PLincoln's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,862
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ResOGlas View Post

My PS3 randomly turned on twice today. Don't know if Sony is connecting to my console or what, since PS3s can now be turn on over the internet via devices like PSPs. I just decided to flip the main power switch in the back now when I'm done using it.


Has anyone else had their PS3 turn on, on it's own, since the 2.0 update?

you need to disable remote start....it has a bug that turns the PS3 on randomly
PLincoln is offline  
post #34 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
talbain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 5,015
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post

You hit it perfectly. If the PS3 won't decode nor send bitstream DTS-Master audio, I "might" have to look for a new player. I hate to say that, because the PS3 is probably the best player on the market, but I would like to hear DTS-Master audio.

all of my sources say they're working on it. the problem is that they've been telling me that for 11 months now...

---Mr. Met---

J-E-T-S-JETS JETS JETS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO DE-VILS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO METS!!!!!!! --- LETS GO NETS!!!!!!!
talbain is offline  
post #35 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 07:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 4,711
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 118 Post(s)
Liked: 47
I am not disappointed at all with the update, I am just thankful we have them. Do I want DTS-MA sure do, but not getting bent out of shape considering I don't have many movies with this option yet.

If your not a gamer or not, try downloading the game "Uncharted" and giving it a whirl!!! Simple amazing stuff.....
Garman is offline  
post #36 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 08:11 AM
Senior Member
 
Shaitan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, the update is aimed it seems at gamers. No problems with that. But I will wait for the next update and see what it holds for the Blu ray part of the PS3.
Shaitan is offline  
post #37 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 09:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
whippersnapper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 1,555
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian27 View Post

It would be nice if Sony would actually let us know IF AND OR WHEN they would add DTS HD master audio decoding to the PS3...I am sure they have gotten lots of emails and calls about it...I have sent a few emails to Sony asking about it but I dont get any kind of information from them either way...If they dont plan on adding DTS HD master decoding to the PS3 then I would like to know so that I can look at other options....Is there any other way to get some info from Sony about this???

Sometimes things have to be kept confidential for awhile so as to not give a competitor format time to plan for new Blu-ray initiatives/developments.
whippersnapper is offline  
post #38 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 06:10 PM
Senior Member
 
Yankees24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Tampa,Florida
Posts: 430
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I like the new SACD MC through the optical connection.

Think before you speak....
Yankees24 is offline  
post #39 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 07:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ResOGlas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 2,364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLincoln View Post

you need to disable remote start....it has a bug that turns the PS3 on randomly

Thank you very much for the info.
ResOGlas is offline  
post #40 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 09:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
slimoli's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Miami area
Posts: 4,668
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by ResOGlas View Post

Thank you very much for the info.

The remote start was off but my PS3 was turned on . Acting up ?

Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy
slimoli is offline  
post #41 of 214 Old 11-10-2007, 11:01 PM
Member
 
RAM021's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: |+| CANADA |+|
Posts: 192
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankees24 View Post

The update also added the capabilty of using your TV sets audio and reciever at the same time !!!..this is a big one for me since I didn't want to fire up my reciever at night when the family is sleeping.

Awesome - How do you set this up?
RAM021 is offline  
post #42 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 01:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ac388's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 1,248
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Do you mean both the composite out n HDMI out are active at the same time for video n audio ???

If this is true, it is an excellent news on the new upgrade. Since I don't have to remember to switch to composite out on the PS3 everytime before shutoff, after using HDMI out the night before.

Can somebody confirm this ???





Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankees24 View Post

The update also added the capabilty of using your TV sets audio and reciever at the same time !!!..this is a big one for me since I didn't want to fire up my reciever at night when the family is sleeping.


Man see things as they were n say why. I dream of things that never were, n say why not ....... A Perfect PROJECTOR
ac388 is offline  
post #43 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 03:36 AM
Senior Member
 
Rich Davenport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Eastern MA
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The browser seems faster, by about fifty percent or so.

Member of AVS FORUM folding@home team, (team #55280)
Rich Davenport is offline  
post #44 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Quote:
Originally Posted by talbain View Post

all of my sources say they're working on it. the problem is that they've been telling me that for 11 months now...

Is it that hard of an issue or is it just low on the priority?
metalsaber is offline  
post #45 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 06:59 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Ron Jones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Florida and West Virginia, USA
Posts: 5,735
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 65 Post(s)
Liked: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankees24 View Post

The update also added the capabilty of using your TV sets audio and reciever at the same time !!!..this is a big one for me since I didn't want to fire up my reciever at night when the family is sleeping.

Which two audio outputs are you getting at the same time. I doesn't appear you can configure the PS3 to get audio over HDMI at the same time as digital audio via the optical output. Are you getting audio via:

1. HDMI and analog stereo
2. Optical and analog stereo
3. ???

Ron Jones
Blog + Reviews + Articles: projectorreviews.com
Ron Jones is offline  
post #46 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 07:07 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Yankees24 View Post

The update also added the capabilty of using your TV sets audio and reciever at the same time !!!..this is a big one for me since I didn't want to fire up my reciever at night when the family is sleeping.

Wooooo..Now I get to check this out..this is AWESOME..sometimes at night I want to just hear the TV..

Update: Not working on my end..but then again..I have HDMI hookedup to TV, and optical to Receiver for digital sound..Im not seeing anywhere that shows that you can do this..

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #47 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 07:51 AM
Member
 
houstonht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After the 2.0 update some of the audio is mumbled, like only the base is being sent to the receiver.

Blu Ray movies sound fine, with no issues. The boot up sound is also fine. But when I play anything else the sound is mumbled. I have tried CD's, PS3 games, and even downloaded trailers from the playstation store and all are mumbled.

Again, Blu Ray movies are perfect and nothing has changed but the 1.93 - 2.0 update. All the settings look fine and everything is connected via HDMI.

Anyone else seeing this problem.
houstonht is offline  
post #48 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 10:08 AM
Senior Member
 
Rich Davenport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Eastern MA
Posts: 367
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone seeing freezes or lock-ups with 2.0? I got a freeze twice when using the browser. The unit stopped responding to the controller. Only the console [soft] power button worked.

There's a thread in the playstation area and other boards.

Member of AVS FORUM folding@home team, (team #55280)
Rich Davenport is offline  
post #49 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 10:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
richlo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 1,463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Davenport View Post

Anyone seeing freezes or lock-ups with 2.0? I got a freeze twice when using the browser. The unit stopped responding to the controller. Only the console [soft] power button worked.

There's a thread in the playstation area and other boards.


2 freezes today, my controllers turn on but wont control anything..Rebooted twice before it worked..

WHATSUP WITH THIS>>>

Rich L

Go Chicago Bears

richlo is offline  
post #50 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 10:48 AM
Senior Member
 
malcolmp6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 13
My blu-ray movie froze yesterday couple of times when watching. I have the version 2.0 installed. Never happened before with older versions.
I am seriously considering replacing the PS3 with new panny BD30.
malcolmp6 is offline  
post #51 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 02:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Maxx_75's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Algona, WA
Posts: 1,002
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by richlo View Post

Wooooo..Now I get to check this out..this is AWESOME..sometimes at night I want to just hear the TV..

Update: Not working on my end..but then again..I have HDMI hookedup to TV, and optical to Receiver for digital sound..Im not seeing anywhere that shows that you can do this..

This is how I am set up as well. HDMI to tv that I would like to get 2 channel from at night when my receiver is off without changing the settings everytime. He got me excited but alas no.

"My ignorance amuses me." .......Manfred Powell

Blu-Ray = 381 HD DVD = 1
My Collection
Maxx_75 is offline  
post #52 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 03:58 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I had never seen a lockup with my PS3 until this update. In particular, if I try to playback a 1080i mpeg2 .ts file from the server, it locks up and has to be rebooted. previously these same files would either not play or playback without audio however would never cause the console to crash.

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #53 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 04:02 PM
Newbie
 
slabrozzi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
With the 2.0 update all my HDV content being served by WMP11 no longer plays well. Either I get the "the data type is not supported" message or the content is thought to be only seconds or minutes long. Previous to the update HDV content playback had been working extremely well. I don't believe anything has changed on PC/server side.
slabrozzi is offline  
post #54 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 04:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,520
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Glad I'm not updating.
metalsaber is offline  
post #55 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 07:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
trgraphics's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2,063
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 14
I wish I didn't update. Problems here as well. Several lockups on movies and the web interface. Hopefully they will fix this quick and not wait 2 months.
trgraphics is offline  
post #56 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 08:25 PM
Member
 
IBNobody's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 186
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
One thing that has been mentioned on other sites is that the 2.0 firmware recognizes MPEG4 encoded files. There is strong evidence from Sony's reps that DIVX/XVID support will be added in the next firmware.
IBNobody is offline  
post #57 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 10:34 PM
RTK
AVS Special Member
 
RTK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 2,390
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
If you run h.264 recordings thru tsremux they will playback fine with the new firmware. Sometimes I wonder if they even test file playback functionality before releasing the update. I've never pursued it but is there any place on the web that Sony take feedback from regarding issues with PS3 firmware?

Rick
RTK is offline  
post #58 of 214 Old 11-11-2007, 11:55 PM
Member
 
mmfs001's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLincoln View Post

you need to disable remote start....it has a bug that turns the PS3 on randomly

It depends on your router (mine works fine).

Have a look at the manual:
http://manuals.playstation.net/docum...motestart.html

Micha
mmfs001 is offline  
post #59 of 214 Old 11-12-2007, 05:35 AM
Member
 
bsk116's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Northern "the stix" Maine
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by PLincoln View Post

while that's indeed true, here is a the problem...

I've got my PS3 connected to an AVR via HDMI and when I playback an MPEG with DD5.1, the receiver still shows MC7.1 which I'd be fine with, if it were not for the fact that it doesn't sound right.

If I go back and de-select all the PCM formats under the Audio Options (via the manual config), so that all I am left with is DD and DTS, the clip sounds as it should.

By not sounding right, I mean the the soundstage seems to have collapsed when I it comes through as MC...as soon as it comes as bitstream it sounds great...just as the original DVD.

I was hoping this update would allow me to stream some DVD's more easily, but not if I constantly have to change those settings.

Hopefully this makes sense ... others comments?

I had a similar problem playing the new Eagles cd. It would skip and drop out, so I did the same as you and deselected some of the audio options (do not have a hdmi avr yet, using toslink) and now it plays just fine.
bsk116 is offline  
post #60 of 214 Old 11-12-2007, 05:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
s2mikey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Upstate, NY
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by metalsaber View Post

You hit it perfectly. If the PS3 won't decode nor send bitstream DTS-Master audio, I "might" have to look for a new player. I hate to say that, because the PS3 is probably the best player on the market, but I would like to hear DTS-Master audio.

Just out of curiosity, what does the PS3 do with a DTS-MA track when you select it right now? Downmix to something? Either way, yeah...we want our DTA-MA!

s2mikey is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off