The Official Panasonic DMP-BD30 Owner's Thread - Page 13 - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Blu-ray & HD DVD > Blu-ray Players > The Official Panasonic DMP-BD30 Owner's Thread

Blu-ray Players

joerod's Avatar joerod
07:36 PM Liked: 117
post #361 of 12545
11-13-2007 | Posts: 22,129
Joined: Nov 2002
I would definitely get one over a PS3... Unless you really want to play video games to.
paul?'s Avatar paul?
07:43 PM Liked: 10
post #362 of 12545
11-13-2007 | Posts: 581
Joined: Jul 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I would definitely get one over a PS3... Unless you really want to play video games to.

No, I was always wanting a Blu-Ray player and just assumed the
PS3 would be the best choice. Now I think I see something better!
Charlie Tango's Avatar Charlie Tango
09:46 PM Liked: 13
post #363 of 12545
11-13-2007 | Posts: 244
Joined: Feb 2007
Connected the DMP-BD30 to my Integra DTR 8.8 via HDMI. I set all audio formats to Bitstream and turned Secondary Audio Off. I can play DD, DTS, and uncompressed audio fine. I then tried the only title I have with DTS Master Audio (Night at the Museum) and all I get is DTS. Yes, I selected DTS Master Audio on the disc menu (it's the default), I changed HDMI cables as well as HDMI inputs on the 8.8 and doubled checked all setup menus on both units. Any ideas of what I've missed?
slimoli's Avatar slimoli
09:50 PM Liked: 31
post #364 of 12545
11-13-2007 | Posts: 4,685
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by paul? View Post

No, I was always wanting a Blu-Ray player and just assumed the
PS3 would be the best choice. Now I think I see something better!

The PS3 can be the worst choice if you get one with the "jet engine" fan, like I did (and replaced it twice). The noise can be unbearable.

Not everybody has this problem, though.

Sergio
Chip E's Avatar Chip E
10:28 PM Liked: 11
post #365 of 12545
11-13-2007 | Posts: 1,519
Joined: Mar 2001
I picked a BD30 tonight at Circuit. So far, just watching Spiderman BD...looks pretty good! Picked up Oceans13 BD... Gotta program it into my MX950
JKR1963's Avatar JKR1963
11:50 PM Liked: 35
post #366 of 12545
11-13-2007 | Posts: 729
Joined: Oct 2004
Quote:
Originally Posted by mixxxer View Post

i went to my local future shop today - and looked on the in store computer and they have 200 of these units coming in 'on order' - so it should be anytime. This thread has been very informative right from the start.

I just want to confirm something if possible.

Say on JAnuary 8th - I buy the movie Sunshine - which has a seconday audio track PIP etc. (profile 1.1)

So - from reading the posts here about disabling the secondary audio - what about in the future - when many discs have the seconday audio - but many still don't.

Will we have to keep going into the panasonic menu everytime we play a 1.1 profile disc - and enable the seconday audio - and then go in and disable when i put in a 1,0 disc - and then switch again and again..... (when wanted dts-hd etc...) (btw i prefer extras so would want to enjoy the secondary audio and video)

I am getting this becasue it is profile 1.1 (and the good reviews here have cemented that decision) - but just confirning there will be alot of player menu switching until all discs start shipping as profile 1.1 discs....


I tired to get a local FS (Edmonton North) salesman to check his computer to see if they had any on order........he said he could not......that it would not show anything........too lazy, standing there doing nothing at all. Oh well they are on commision and I will never buy from him. I can't wait to get this and keep checking BB and Fs websites several times a day...........
Mark Booth's Avatar Mark Booth
12:22 AM Liked: 25
post #367 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 1,503
Joined: Nov 2001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chip E View Post

I picked a BD30 tonight at Circuit. So far, just watching Spiderman BD...looks pretty good! Picked up Oceans13 BD... Gotta program it into my MX950

When programming my MX-800 and MX-850, I found that 75% of the IR codes I needed for the BD30 were contained in the BD10 device selection. I still had to delete a few and learn a few, but it was mostly ready to go with just the BD10 commands.

Mark
stangflyer's Avatar stangflyer
12:42 AM Liked: 10
post #368 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 208
Joined: Feb 2006
Got my bd30 tonight from bb. Put in ffross and it was great. dts master on the onkyo 805 and 1080p/24 on the mits 73833. In one movie I had a better experience than the two sammy 1400's that I returned. All I can say to anyone on the fence is get a bd30.
valmont74's Avatar valmont74
03:21 AM Liked: 10
post #369 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 299
Joined: Feb 2007
Here are some very odd news from DVDTOWN.com

Quote:
The Panasonic DMP-BD30K Blu-ray has been delayed a few weeks. It was announced at the two day Blu-ray festival in October with a November 12th release date.
Now the player is listed for December 1st. The player will retail at $499 and be the first profile 1.1 Blu-ray player allowing for the first time true picture in picture features on the format.

http://www.dvdtown.com/news/panasoni...r-delayed/4915

This player was released about a week ago, and several people already bought it (hence this thread)
paradigm's Avatar paradigm
04:33 AM Liked: 10
post #370 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 822
Joined: Oct 2002
Gonna pick one up today after all the positive reviews. I too have owned the PS3 since day 1. None of the stand-alone players have impressed me.

Can anyone tell me where I can get a list of blu-ray discs that have DTS-Master audio? I need to know so I can get some more of those movies!

EDIT: I found my answer. To those interested in DTS Master audio titles look here (dissapointing that there are only 40 titles in USA. hope this increases, reminds me of DTS when DVD first came out they were slow): http://www.dts.com/consumer/hometheater/dvd-titles.php
Midwest User1's Avatar Midwest User1
05:55 AM Liked: 10
post #371 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 426
Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by BAMAVADER View Post

What is behind the total lack of dts-HD-MA decoders in ANY new BDP?

I have read AVS until my mind is numb and it just doesn't make since for Sony, Panasonic, Samsung, etc. to not include all of the new audio (including dts-HD-MA) decoders in their new models. With so many people (a lot of the people that actually Care about the new HD formats) with HDMI 1.1 receivers, it is just inexcusable for the manufacturers to continue to release new players without these decoders. All it does is punish people that have been the first ones to give these company's their hard earned money. They should have had all the new decoders mandatory in all HD DVD and Blu-Ray players or they just should have had no new "so called" formats and just used uncompressed PCM on all new hd discs. End of confusion. It boggles the mind that they didn't.



<><

I think that the makers of the players have decided that getting their price points down is more important for their future than internally decoding ALL of the codecs out there. I honestly think this is the reason that NO players today can internally decode DTS-HD MA yet. Plus they're betting that people are MORE likely to spend extra on the receiver that can do that versus the player. I'll bet the Marantz 8002 blu-ray player that is scheduled to be available in early 2008 will decode ALL of the codecs but that is just a guess on my part (it should for the $2000 MSRP).
Midwest User1's Avatar Midwest User1
06:09 AM Liked: 10
post #372 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 426
Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Tango View Post

Connected the DMP-BD30 to my Integra DTR 8.8 via HDMI. I set all audio formats to Bitstream and turned Secondary Audio Off. I can play DD, DTS, and uncompressed audio fine. I then tried the only title I have with DTS Master Audio (Night at the Museum) and all I get is DTS. Yes, I selected DTS Master Audio on the disc menu (it's the default), I changed HDMI cables as well as HDMI inputs on the 8.8 and doubled checked all setup menus on both units. Any ideas of what I’ve missed?

It sounds like you have all of your settings correct. I have the Integra 9.8 with the Pioneer 95FD and I also have "Night at the Museum" and it played the DTS-HD MA track with no problems. Try trying another DTS-HD MA disc (two others that I have are ICE Age 2, and Men of Honor both have DTS-HD MA) just to make sure it's not the track on that particular disc that you own. If none of them work then it's either the player is not sending you the "full lossless" audio, the 8.8 is not decoding it properly, or one of your cables.
bembol's Avatar bembol
06:40 AM Liked: 10
post #373 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 629
Joined: Jan 2005
joerod, thanks for the review. I'm picking this up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by valmont74 View Post

Here are some very odd news from DVDTOWN.com



http://www.dvdtown.com/news/panasoni...r-delayed/4915

This player was released about a week ago, and several people already bought it (hence this thread)

I was told mid December up here.
Chip E's Avatar Chip E
06:41 AM Liked: 11
post #374 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 1,519
Joined: Mar 2001
Thanks Mark,

I don't think i should have any problem. I'm not sure where this player will actually end up. Either in my bedroom setup (where it is now) or the basement. I've 950's in both rooms, both controlled by MRF350 RF's.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Booth View Post

When programming my MX-800 and MX-850, I found that 75% of the IR codes I needed for the BD30 were contained in the BD10 device selection. I still had to delete a few and learn a few, but it was mostly ready to go with just the BD10 commands.

Mark


Wendell R. Breland's Avatar Wendell R. Breland
08:12 AM Liked: 61
post #375 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 4,419
Joined: Sep 1999
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mark Booth View Post

When programming my MX-800 and MX-850, I found that 75% of the IR codes I needed for the BD30 were contained in the BD10 device selection. I still had to delete a few and learn a few, but it was mostly ready to go with just the BD10 commands.

Mark, can you upload the MX-850 file to Remote Central?
pbmpharmacist's Avatar pbmpharmacist
08:20 AM Liked: 12
post #376 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 1,802
Joined: Oct 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

I think you'll really like the Panasonic. After watching an hour of Spider-man II on Blu-ray with my Panasonic, I threw the disc in the PS3 re-watching many scenes and the differences in PQ between these players became more striking; so much so that I can't use my PS3 anymore knowing what the Panasonic can do. The PS3 is very good; the Panasonic is breathtaking.

Thanks. I can't wait until my Best Buy gets it in stock so I can go pick it up. They already have my money so I'm pretty anxious!
Bill Mac's Avatar Bill Mac
08:38 AM Liked: 500
post #377 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 11,593
Joined: Nov 2003
Ordered a BD30 at BB yesterday should have it by Sunday. I gave the BD10AK a hard look as I do not have a HDMI capable pre-pro (Anthem AVM 30) but decided I will most likely have a HDMI pre-pro in the near future. The faster load times reported slight edge in PQ over the BD10AK, more compact chassis (height) and HDMI 1.3 make it a better choice looking forward.

Is anyone using the 5.1 output of the BD30 that does not currently have a HDMI capable receiver/prepro? If so what is your opinion of the SQ for uncompressed 5.1 PCM? From what I have read so far is that it is better than straight DD/DTS. I have the A2 and find the SQ using optical with the 1.5 mbs DTS to be quite good (Transformers sounds excellent). Would the uncompressed 5.1 PCM with the BD30 compare in SQ to the 1.5 mbs DTS output of the A2? Thanks for any thoughts on this.

Bill
Mantis22's Avatar Mantis22
08:53 AM Liked: 10
post #378 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 31
Joined: Aug 2007
Is anyone using the BD30 with a Pioneer 5010/6010. If you are can you post the video settings you are using for the TV and the player? Thanks in advance.
Chip E's Avatar Chip E
09:31 AM Liked: 11
post #379 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 1,519
Joined: Mar 2001
I'm just using HDMI into a Sony 5200ES, out to a 4280 Kuro. I just don't want all the cables...plain DD & DTS for now.. I'm junking the Sony soon (garage duty) for a Yammy 1800, i think. We'll see.
Rolls-Royce's Avatar Rolls-Royce
10:34 AM Liked: 68
post #380 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 2,063
Joined: Apr 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

Ordered a BD30 at BB yesterday should have it by Sunday. I gave the BD10AK a hard look as I do not have a HDMI capable pre-pro (Anthem AVM 30) but decided I will most likely have a HDMI pre-pro in the near future. The faster load times reported slight edge in PQ over the BD10AK, more compact chassis (height) and HDMI 1.3 make it a better choice looking forward.

Is anyone using the 5.1 output of the BD30 that does not currently have a HDMI capable receiver/prepro? If so what is your opinion of the SQ for uncompressed 5.1 PCM? From what I have read so far is that it is better than straight DD/DTS. I have the A2 and find the SQ using optical with the 1.5 mbs DTS to be quite good (Transformers sounds excellent). Would the uncompressed 5.1 PCM with the BD30 compare in SQ to the 1.5 mbs DTS output of the A2? Thanks for any thoughts on this.

Bill

Bill, since Transformers is DD+ and uncompressed PCM is the equivalent of True HD or DTS MA, in theory the uncompressed PCM should sound better than the 1.5 Mbs DTS or straight DD+ that has been simply decoded and sent out. How much better depends on your equipment, I think. YMMV!
Bill Mac's Avatar Bill Mac
11:13 AM Liked: 500
post #381 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 11,593
Joined: Nov 2003
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rolls-Royce View Post

Bill, since Transformers is DD+ and uncompressed PCM is the equivalent of True HD or DTS MA, in theory the uncompressed PCM should sound better than the 1.5 Mbs DTS or straight DD+ that has been simply decoded and sent out. How much better depends on your equipment, I think. YMMV!

Royce,

Thanks for your thoughts. I will hopefully be able to do a direct comparison this weekend.

Bill
Rolls-Royce's Avatar Rolls-Royce
11:20 AM Liked: 68
post #382 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 2,063
Joined: Apr 2003
Sounds like fun, Bill. Here's to an enjoyable time!
Dan Hitchman's Avatar Dan Hitchman
11:30 AM Liked: 538
post #383 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 9,249
Joined: Jul 2000
Any glaring issues yet... lip synch, audio popping, skips, stutters, complete shut downs? Where is the best place to buy this unit?

Charlie Tango, did you figure out what was wrong and why you were not getting lossless DTS-MA on your Integra?

So, is it the opinion here that 1.1 features are pretty much worthless on this player because you can only use DD lossy with in-player audio mixing? You do have to manually select in-player audio every time you want to watch the extras on a 1.1 compatible disc?

If that's the only quirk (since I don't normally watch too many extras) then I definitely will be recommending this player to friends and family.

Thanks!
snowboarder's Avatar snowboarder
11:57 AM Liked: 10
post #384 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 83
Joined: Aug 2003
Any good online store has it in stock?
I will never buy anything in any best buy or cc, can't stand that useless
bunch of lazy dudes standing around doing nothing...
I placed my order at amazon, but they are still showing Dec 1st...

Andrew
Charlie Tango's Avatar Charlie Tango
12:17 PM Liked: 13
post #385 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 244
Joined: Feb 2007
Well, I got the 8.8 and BD30 working--sending DTS HD MA via bistream to the 8.8. I finally did a reset on the 8.8, still didn't work, then a did a reset on the BD30 and everything started working. Apparently the two were not communicating and the resets did the trick.
CT
crussell1492's Avatar crussell1492
12:55 PM Liked: 16
post #386 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 737
Joined: Mar 2004
Hi, I have seen this asked in this thread, but not sure there is a definitive answer..does this player support 1080/24 forced mode?
thanks
sergiohm's Avatar sergiohm
01:29 PM Liked: 14
post #387 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 1,244
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan Hitchman View Post

Any glaring issues yet... lip synch, audio popping, skips, stutters, complete shut downs? Where is the best place to buy this unit?

Charlie Tango, did you figure out what was wrong and why you were not getting lossless DTS-MA on your Integra?

So, is it the opinion here that 1.1 features are pretty much worthless on this player because you can only use DD lossy with in-player audio mixing? You do have to manually select in-player audio every time you want to watch the extras on a 1.1 compatible disc?

If that's the only quirk (since I don't normally watch too many extras) then I definitely will be recommending this player to friends and family.

Thanks!

No issues.
CC has them don't know if it is the best place or not.
The 1.1 features are not worthless. I believe that even if the player sent the secondary audio via HDMI the receiver on the other end would not be able to handle it. So, the implementation is correct.
The image is fantastic, I was watching "Kingdom of Heaven" and it was really breathtaking (the sound via Bitstream to an HDMI v3 was also great).
This is the one I can safely recommend for now.
sergiohm's Avatar sergiohm
01:33 PM Liked: 14
post #388 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 1,244
Joined: Sep 2002
Quote:
Originally Posted by crussell1492 View Post

Hi, I have seen this asked in this thread, but not sure there is a definitive answer..does this player support 1080/24 forced mode?
thanks

There is no "forced mode", the player will detect via HDMI if your monitor supports 24p. It worked for me (the Samsung 1400 did not although the manual said it would), when it is connected to the projector it outputs 1080p/24 when to the TV (which does not accept 24p), 1080p/60. The Sony S1 does have a direct mode which does no processing on the signal and outputs at 24p but there is no bitstream support (or DTS-HD MA for that matter) and it is as slow as you can get (although faster than the Samsung 1400 for some movies).
Partyslammer's Avatar Partyslammer
02:20 PM Liked: 42
post #389 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 1,281
Joined: Dec 2003
Forgive me if this is a basic question, but I just bought the BD30 player as my first HiDef dvd player and I noticed while reading the manual this notation on page 7:

"Some discs prohibit high definition video output from COMPONENT VIDEO OUT terminals. In this case, video resolution is converted to 480p."

As my monitor doesn't have HDMI, I plan on hooking the player up via the Y/Pb/Pr component cables. Is there actually any Blu-Ray dvds that disable 1080 video through component connections or does this only apply to disabling upscaling of standard dvds?

Thanks in advance.
Robert George's Avatar Robert George
02:40 PM Liked: 10
post #390 of 12545
11-14-2007 | Posts: 3,768
Joined: Dec 2000
Quote:


Is there actually any Blu-Ray dvds that disable 1080 video through component connections or does this only apply to disabling upscaling of standard dvds?

DVD format rules don't allow upconversion over an unencrypted interface, ie, component video. 480p maximum.

Blu-ray (and HD DVD) do allow full resolution over component, but also give the content producer an option to enable what is called the "image constraint token". When ICT is set, the output resolution of the component interface is lowered. ICT is currently not being used by any major studio, though that could change any time any of them decide to change.
Tags: Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd30k 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players

Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com
Reply Blu-ray Players

Subscribe to this Thread

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3