The Official Panasonic DMP-BD30 Owner's Thread - Page 22 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #631 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 09:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by darinp2 View Post

I believe that Kris Deering has stated that in his testing the PS3 outputs things properly (at least as far as 1080p24 content, which is the large majority on BDs), so if that is the case then as far as tweaking goes the only way to improve on that would be to tweak away from the standards. Equal pictures would seem to be possible though. I should note that I'm referring to the HDMI output here.

--Darin

Even in normal/standard mode, the BD30 produces a better image than the PS3 at 1080/24p over HDMI. I'm not an engineer and can't say exactly what it's doing, but it's creating a naturally crisper (no added EE), detailed image with a bit better contrast, as well. Maybe it's the quality of decoder, I'm not sure. Let me state it's not a night/day difference, but appreciable to a moderate videophile like myself even on a 60" display.

DavidHir is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #632 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 09:49 AM
Advanced Member
 
Addicted2HD4Now's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Canton, CT
Posts: 897
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone notice any lip sync issues later in BD movies? The first half of Spiderman 2.1 was perfectly in sync and then somewhere around the middle of the movie the audio/video got out of sync and was quite noticeable in parts.

I didn't really notice anything like this happening earlier in the day when watching Fantastic 4: RSS. I'll try out POTC again later and see if it does it on there. Just not sure if it's a movie, player or receiver issue.
Addicted2HD4Now is offline  
post #633 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 10:59 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
DavidHir's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 10,222
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 391
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

Anyone notice any lip sync issues later in BD movies? The first half of Spiderman 2.1 was perfectly in sync and then somewhere around the middle of the movie the audio/video got out of sync and was quite noticeable in parts.

I didn't really notice anything like this happening earlier in the day when watching Fantastic 4: RSS. I'll try out POTC again later and see if it does it on there. Just not sure if it's a movie, player or receiver issue.

I had the same issue with Spider-man 2.1 - from what I've heard, some other players have had the same problem though I'm curious if the new firmware released will fix it.

DavidHir is offline  
post #634 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 11:08 AM
Member
 
jcs913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 124
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Addicted2HD4Now View Post

Anyone notice any lip sync issues later in BD movies? The first half of Spiderman 2.1 was perfectly in sync and then somewhere around the middle of the movie the audio/video got out of sync and was quite noticeable in parts.

I didn't really notice anything like this happening earlier in the day when watching Fantastic 4: RSS. I'll try out POTC again later and see if it does it on there. Just not sure if it's a movie, player or receiver issue.

I don't know what receiver you have, but my Elite 92 and the BD30 have worked very well together. No sync issues at all and I have watched all those discs you listed.
jcs913 is offline  
post #635 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 11:12 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kroenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by thehun View Post

No, it won't help, he doesn't have HDMI.



Per the online manual p. 21 regarding the digital out connection (not HDMI):

Quote:
Regarding Dolby Digital Plus/TrueHD, DTS-HD

The settings described in the shaded area are recommended to output the high specification audio of Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD, DTS-HD High Resolution Audio and DTS-HD Master Audio as the original format.

Bitstream is selected. BD-Video Secondary Audio is set to Off.

DIGITAL AUDIO OUT terminal -- Dolby Digital or DTS Digital Surround
(depending on the original format)


P. 25:

Quote:
No sound:

When BD-Video Secondary Audio is set to Off, Dolby Digital Plus, Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD are output from the DIGITAL AUDIO OUT terminal as Dolby Digital or DTS Digital Surround bitstream.

See I was helpful.

You watch a Donnie Yen movie to watch what Donnie does best - kick-ass!
Kroenen is offline  
post #636 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 11:14 AM
Advanced Member
 
Kroenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by teachsac View Post

Firmware version 1.2 is now available. I started a discussion thread for it here with links to the update.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=942017

S~

Thank you for the heads up.

Quote:
Originally Posted by malcolmp6 View Post

Can someone please verify this? In the opening sequence of Saw III when Eric Matthews is trying to saw off his leg I noticed a lot of distortion in the PQ. The background is dark and the colors on the screen appear to run off the subject with the motion.
In other lighter scenes it is perfect.

I will try to find the time to check this scene out tonight.

EDIT: I just finished watching this scene. I kept going until ~5 minutes into the film. I stopped viewing when the S.W.A.T. team made entry into the room.

I'm sorry, but I didn't see the video aberration that you mentioned. I did see a lot of grain, but that isn't an issue with me.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Bee One View Post

Hi all, I've been reading page after page trying to find an answer but have given up after about 10 pages, so, if this question has been asked already, my apologies.

Out of curiousity, when a 1.1 disc comes out, and since this lacks advanced audio decoders what happens with the audio?

For example, lets say they release Batman Begins with PiP and in TrueHD. From what I understand you can't bitstream TrueHD while having the video secondary decoder on..is that correct? If that's correct, that means you can't bitstream TrueHD if you want to watch the extras..meaning using PiP, therefore, what does the player do with TrueHD?

I'm considering this player since I have and Onkyo 805 but I can't seem to find an answer to this question before I take the plunge.

Thanks!


The audio output will be Dolby Digital.

You watch a Donnie Yen movie to watch what Donnie does best - kick-ass!
Kroenen is offline  
post #637 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 12:05 PM
Member
 
Bee One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kroenen View Post

The audio output will be Dolby Digital.

Appreciate the answer....thanks.
Bee One is offline  
post #638 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 12:36 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kroenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bee One View Post

Appreciate the answer....thanks.

You're more than welcome.

BTW I also have the 805. It's my first Onkyo receiver and I absolutely love it.

You watch a Donnie Yen movie to watch what Donnie does best - kick-ass!
Kroenen is offline  
post #639 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 01:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
giggle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 519
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by DavidHir View Post

Even in normal/standard mode, the BD30 produces a better image than the PS3 at 1080/24p over HDMI. I'm not an engineer and can't say exactly what it's doing, but it's creating a naturally crisper (no added EE), detailed image with a bit better contrast, as well. Maybe it's the quality of decoder, I'm not sure. Let me state it's not a night/day difference, but appreciable to a moderate videophile like myself even on a 60" display.


As a former owner of a PS3 I can attest to this. I did not do a side by side but after seeing a friends BD30 I will agree with you. I know it doesn't make sense but it is true.
giggle is offline  
post #640 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 02:15 PM
Member
 
lonestarwings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 112
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just bought a DMP-BD30K this morning. Even though I've only watched two movies on it so far (Die Hard 3 and Bad Santa) I can say I'm quite amazed at how incredibly clean and realistic the picture is compare to standard dvd (even on my relatively small 40" sony w series bravia LCD). The regular DTS on Die Hard sounded great too even though I'm just using toslink and can't get the full dts had master audio. I paid full price at best buy but didn't want to wait around for one in the mail. It was pretty easy to setup too. It skips sometimes on bass heavy material, but I guess I need to find a better place to put my electronics than directly on top of my subwoofer

Overall I'm quite pleased with this player, and appreciate that since it is 1.3 hdmi compatible I will be able to take advantage of the lossless codecs should I choose to upgrade my reciever at some point in the future. Thanks for all the useful coments on this thread, but more importantly for the negative comments on the sony bdp-301 thread that steered me away from that one and toward this one.
lonestarwings is offline  
post #641 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 03:43 PM
Newbie
 
Porsche356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Got it two days ago. Thanks to the forum I was able to use the 10% of coupon from AAA at CC.

Movies look outstanding with my JVS-RS1 on a 123 screen. Now I am looking for a HDVD player or save my money to upgrade my receiver.
Porsche356 is offline  
post #642 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 06:40 PM
Member
 
mixxxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Drove to the US to purchase this yesterday. Well worth the drive. This is exactly what I wanted in a player to replace my PS3:

This unit is near silent when in operation.
LARGE digits on the front panel lcd display.
Loads all material very fast (Dragons Lair was my ultimate test and it loaded no problem in 40 seconds).
Ability to turn off any lights/displays you don't like.

and

IT JUST WORKS.

I persoanlly have not had a single problem. I follow threads for most of the popular players out there and it seems like the quality control on this unit was superb.

Anybody thinking about replacing their PS3 as far as Blu Ray movies go - I recomend this unit from all other alternatives.
mixxxer is offline  
post #643 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 06:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ILJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 1,435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, boys and girls, the day has arrived.

ILJG has finally gone...*drum roll*...PURPLE!!

I got this player a few days ago and finally threw it into the rack, with the new receiver (Onkyo 805). I also got a new HD-A35 to replace my faithful A1 (that I just updated to 2.4). The A1 now becomes a gift.

Very impressed with the speed and response. I've watched Ratatouille and Casino Royale and was very pleased with the PQ and AQ of both. Multichannel beamed merrily on the front of the receiver. I don't have any DD+ or TrueHD BDs yet. (But have seen DD+, TrueHD, and DTS HD-MA light up the 805 on my HD DVDs)

One thing I found kind of funny, was the screen that came up in Ratatouille, the pre-emptive apology disclaimer saying "This may take 2-3 minutes to load, contact your HW...." and then it popped off and started to play before I had a chance to finish reading it!! That was good for a laugh, but I can see why people who've cut their teeth on most BD players would be thrilled by this. This is a quick loading and responding player!

The setup was simple, and I'm happy to say, my Pioneer Pro-FHD1 handshakes successfully at 1080p24 with both this player and my new HD-A35 through the 805. Non-juddery-bliss---> I can watch slow pans and end credits without feeling literally queezy. I realize this isn't a big deal to some of you, but it's been bothering me for quite some time now.

My only peeve is that there isn't an ethernet port. Burning discs for FW doesn't phase me, it's just that my A1 always had the port and it could always get the latest and greatest FWs and since the days of FW2.2 has been able to get web content. This is a minor peeve compared to PiP and other interactivity that's directly on the disc, and this player's got that. I could have waited for a real 2.0 profile player, but with the good things I read about this bad boy, and it's price...it was time.

I have more playing to do...

*************************************************

Still looking for a movie theatre that shows movies the way they're SUPPOSED to be viewed...



...with a bitrate meter and screencaps.
ILJG is offline  
post #644 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 08:09 PM
Member
 
mixxxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all.

I know there is a dedicated thread for the 1.2 update firmware on this player - but i just wanted to post here what to watch for if you do not burn the firmware correctly.

I downloaded the firmware - and used a Vista pc to burn it to the cd. then i put it in the player and inserted teh disc.

The player restarts - and the display reads: U/F

then it reads L MAIN

and after 1 minute the disc will pop out and the display will then read:

UP'DING

to me - that meant it was upgrading the firmware. UP'DING - sounds like updating to me....

so after 15 minutes nothing....

Anyways.... I burned the firmware with XP built in burning software and tried again.

It again says L MAIN - but then it will read W MAIN if it is (i guess writing the firmware) then it will say FINISH.

the panasonic site does not mention the UP'DING message...
mixxxer is offline  
post #645 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 08:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
paradigm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: las vegas
Posts: 822
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mixxxer View Post

Hi all.

I know there is a dedicated thread for the 1.2 update firmware on this player - but i just wanted to post here what to watch for if you do not burn the firmware correctly.

I downloaded the firmware - and used a Vista pc to burn it to the cd. then i put it in the player and inserted teh disc.

The player restarts - and the display reads: U/F

then it reads L MAIN

and after 1 minute the disc will pop out and the display will then read:

UP'DING

to me - that meant it was upgrading the firmware. UP'DING - sounds like updating to me....

so after 15 minutes nothing....

Anyways.... I burned the firmware with XP built in burning software and tried again.

It again says L MAIN - but then it will read W MAIN if it is (i guess writing the firmware) then it will say FINISH.

the panasonic site does not mention the UP'DING message...

Thanks! I had not realized there was a firmware thread for this player. Going to check it out now.
paradigm is offline  
post #646 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 09:16 PM
Advanced Member
 
Richard Tywoniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have set audio to Bitstream and PCM. Either way I only get two channel PCM. I have an Integra pream that supports HDMI 1.3 and all the latest codecs supposedly. HDDVD seems to work. My 1st generation samsung used to deliver uncompressed pcm to all channels. Not sure why this Panasonic is only providing 2 channel pcm
Richard Tywoniak is offline  
post #647 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 09:39 PM
Member
 
goplay912's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 114
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richard Tywoniak View Post

I have set audio to Bitstream and PCM. Either way I only get two channel PCM. I have an Integra pream that supports HDMI 1.3 and all the latest codecs supposedly. HDDVD seems to work. My 1st generation samsung used to deliver uncompressed pcm to all channels. Not sure why this Panasonic is only providing 2 channel pcm

Have you trying pressing the AUDIO button on the remote and select the PCM Multi-Ch or PCM 5.1 sountrack?
goplay912 is offline  
post #648 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 09:58 PM
Advanced Member
 
Richard Tywoniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
tried that - selected LPCM multi and Dolby Digital Multi - those were the only options given other than stereo - no matter what I select - I only get 2 channel on my integra receiver
Richard Tywoniak is offline  
post #649 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 10:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Richard Tywoniak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well it looks like either hdmi bugs or processor bugs or both. I started switching between HDMI sources and all of a sudden multi channel kicked in. Unfortunately I had a power outage in the area just as I finished installing the player and that may have drove my preamp or video processor whacky. I guess I need to think about a better surge protector for my preamp/video processor.
Richard Tywoniak is offline  
post #650 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 11:15 PM
cam
Senior Member
 
cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kroenen View Post



Per the online manual p. 21 regarding the digital out connection (not HDMI):




P. 25:



See I was helpful.

Hi,

Could you kindly provide me the link to the online manual, as I have searched the forum, but could not find it.

Thx,
Cam
cam is offline  
post #651 of 12544 Old 11-20-2007, 11:30 PM
Advanced Member
 
Kroenen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cam View Post

Hi,

Could you kindly provide me the link to the online manual, as I have searched the forum, but could not find it.

Thx,
Cam

Hi Cam,

The download link is:

http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPER...MPBD30-MUL.PDF

You watch a Donnie Yen movie to watch what Donnie does best - kick-ass!
Kroenen is offline  
post #652 of 12544 Old 11-21-2007, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertc88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I saw this player at Circuit City connected to a Samsung 50" display running Spidey 3. I doubt that display was calibrated or optimized in any way. I have a Tosh 50" RPTV running component at 1080i with the PS3. Long story short, the demo at CC blows away what I've seen out of Spidey 3 with the equipment I have.

The display may have lots to do with it but I'm very curious about this player as I've read some posts here with comparisons versus the PS3 with folks really liking the Panny and the PQ!
robertc88 is offline  
post #653 of 12544 Old 11-21-2007, 07:07 AM
cam
Senior Member
 
cam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 360
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kroenen View Post

Hi Cam,

The download link is:

http://service.us.panasonic.com/OPER...MPBD30-MUL.PDF

Thanks very much. I think it will replace my PS3 soon.
cam is offline  
post #654 of 12544 Old 11-21-2007, 07:09 AM
Senior Member
 
CrossRoad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: DFW Texas
Posts: 386
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Finally got my player yesterday ad hooked it up last night. There is no question that the picture is better on the 30 than on the PS3. It may be slightly better than on the 10 after tweaking the user picture settings a bit. Th speed of the player is wonderful, not quite PS3 speed but plenty fast nonetheless. The huge plus for me on this player is the audio. DTS MA is absolutely stunning! If you have one of the new receivers and are sitting on the fence regarding this player, it is time to hop off. I can think of no good reason not to get this player at this point.
CrossRoad is offline  
post #655 of 12544 Old 11-21-2007, 07:35 AM
Senior Member
 
sahmen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 286
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm in the process of tweaking my unit and thought I should ask the forum for a few tips... 1. What's the best setting for Video pq (The choices are Normal, soft, Fine, Cinema, and User. I think choosing User enables one to do more customized settings of constrast, brightness, color etc)
2. What's the ideal setting for "Fl Display" (One is allowed to choose between Bright, Dim, and Auto)
3. Lastly how does one set "Black level control" when video is being output through the HDMI connection (The manual recommends "Lighter" for Video out and S-video out, and "Darker" for component video out, but does not mention HDMI at all)... Thanks.
sahmen is offline  
post #656 of 12544 Old 11-21-2007, 07:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertc88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Why did I start reading this thread?

I see that CC has $100 off on this player and it is available at a local store! Gotta stop reading through these forums. I really cannot use a second player but I know a friend is interested in a PS3 if the price is right!

BTW, I have an Onkyo SR605. Darn good for the money in my opinion.
robertc88 is offline  
post #657 of 12544 Old 11-21-2007, 09:41 AM
CHG
Advanced Member
 
CHG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 740
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertc88 View Post

Why did I start reading this thread?

I see that CC has $100 off on this player and it is available at a local store! Gotta stop reading through these forums. I really cannot use a second player but I know a friend is interested in a PS3 if the price is right!

BTW, I have an Onkyo SR605. Darn good for the money in my opinion.

Just be aware that Circuit City's $100 off price is the same as everybody's normal price. CC seems to have the wrong original price. P:icked this up at BB below CC "sale" price.
CHG is offline  
post #658 of 12544 Old 11-21-2007, 09:50 AM
Member
 
Tikkenator2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is it possible to turn off the front display? I have read the manual and can only find how to dim the display but not turn it off completely...
Tikkenator2 is offline  
post #659 of 12544 Old 11-21-2007, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
Samfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 472
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHG View Post

Just be aware that Circuit City's $100 off price is the same as everybody's normal price. CC seems to have the wrong original price. P:icked this up at BB below CC "sale" price.

If you don't have any RZ certificates for BB head to your nearest post office and pick-up the free mover's pack. Most include a 10% off coupon for BB that you can use towards the 30.

BTW, after swapping out multiple HD-DVD and BD players over the past year I am finally done and completely satisfied with DMP-30 for BD and the XA-2 w/FW 2.7. for HD-DVD. The next upgrade planned for 2008 is to move from my 720P projector to 1080P...
Samfield is offline  
post #660 of 12544 Old 11-21-2007, 10:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Terence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by CrossRoad View Post

Finally got my player yesterday ad hooked it up last night. There is no question that the picture is better on the 30 than on the PS3. It may be slightly better than on the 10 after tweaking the user picture settings a bit. Th speed of the player is wonderful, not quite PS3 speed but plenty fast nonetheless. The huge plus for me on this player is the audio. DTS MA is absolutely stunning! If you have one of the new receivers and are sitting on the fence regarding this player, it is time to hop off. I can think of no good reason not to get this player at this point.


I agree! When you see these light up in your new AVR/Pre/Pro, you will be in Hi-Def hevean people.




Tee

"Enjoy Movies & Music"

My Home Theater
Terence is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd30k 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off