The Official Panasonic DMP-BD30 Owner's Thread - Page 25 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #721 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 08:49 AM - Thread Starter
 
Robert George's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Trapped in time. Surrounded by evil. Low on gas.
Posts: 3,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
I have an MX-900 and plan to pick up the BD30 this weekend. Any chance you could share your device file for the BD30?

If you have updated your MX-900 editor software, you will find the codes for the BD10A. These work fine for the BD30. You can use the "eject" code from a recent model Panasonic DVD player/recorder for that code (I built my MX-950 prior to getting the player myself).
Robert George is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #722 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 09:09 AM
Newbie
 
highway1n9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

What movies are you using? Do they have DTS-HD or TrueHD sountracks on them? If so, have you selected them in the disc menu?

I just did that and checked Onkyo settings. But still the same PCM audio. The movies I have is Ghost Rider, 300 and Casino Royale (This one is Dobly Digital 5.1 only).

I will try resetting Onkyo.

BTW the PQ is little grainy on these movies. Is there another setting I have to adjust.

Thanks
highway1n9 is offline  
post #723 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 09:28 AM
Newbie
 
highway1n9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinca1 View Post

Try resetting the Onkyo its a pain but it should fix the problem. hit the power button and vcr/dvr button at same time you will need to reset a few things.but it should work.

Kevin/LRStevens421:

Thanks for the assistance. Resetting Onkyo couple of times did the trick. I cannot believe how good Ghost Rider is sounding with TRUE HD.

Have a happy thanksgivings
highway1n9 is offline  
post #724 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 09:30 AM
Newbie
 
highway1n9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by highway1n9 View Post

I just did that and checked Onkyo settings. But still the same PCM audio. The movies I have is Ghost Rider, 300 and Casino Royale (This one is Dobly Digital 5.1 only).

I will try resetting Onkyo.

BTW the PQ is little grainy on these movies. Is there another setting I have to adjust.

Thanks

Picture is fine now with adjustments with Panasonic plasma video settings.
Thanks
highway1n9 is offline  
post #725 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 09:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertc88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would someone please check if you can select 4:3 display type on this player while doing 1080i resoulution over component? I cannot do this on my PS3. I have a Tosh 50" RPTV display, no HDMI.

Thanks much!
robertc88 is offline  
post #726 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 09:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
kevinca1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: california
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad it worked.
kevinca1 is offline  
post #727 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 10:11 AM
Senior Member
 
reyalP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I'm very interested in this player since my Samsung Bd-p1400 dosen't work very well. If I understand this correctly then this player does not have ethernet but is 1.1 compliant. I thought 1.1 was supposed to bring internet mateial as well as extras to bluray. Is this true? What about firmware updates?

Thanks
reyalP is offline  
post #728 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 10:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
kevinca1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: california
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No it does not have ethernet

you download the firmware from pansonic or they send it to you, they already have issued a update.

1.1 brings pip you are thinking of bd live which is 2.0

I had the samsung and this player is better.
kevinca1 is offline  
post #729 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 10:21 AM
Advanced Member
 
mahdlokg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 503
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimP View Post

And what 10%?

I know of 3 10% off coupons available, last time I checked.

1. AAA members get 10% off @ CC
2. **************
3. e-bay. 10% coupons available for .99.
mahdlokg is offline  
post #730 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 10:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
lrstevens421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: The Big Apple
Posts: 3,653
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinca1 View Post


I had the samsung and this player is better.

I agree 110%, I had/have the Samsung as well. The BD30 is my 7th Bluray player .

Making the most out of what I got.
lrstevens421 is offline  
post #731 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 10:33 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by kevinca1 View Post


I had the samsung and this player is better.

I agree 120%. I had the 1400 as well, I am much happier with the BD30. No comparison inregard to load times and user ease IMO.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #732 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 11:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
BigPines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mahdlokg View Post

I know of 3 10% off coupons available, last time I checked.

1. AAA members get 10% off @ CC
2. **************
3. e-bay. 10% coupons available for .99.

Thanks! I just picked up a 10% off coupon on eBay and got my player shipped 3-day for $460.76. Cheaper than waiting for Amazon to get them in stock.

Oh, and I had the Samsung 1400 also and it was THE WORST Blu-ray player out of the three I have owned. I'm hoping the BD30 is going to be THE BEST!

Mike
BigPines is offline  
post #733 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 11:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigPines View Post

Thanks! I just picked up a 10% off coupon on eBay and got my player shipped 3-day for $460.76. Cheaper than waiting for Amazon to get them in stock.

Oh, and I had the Samsung 1400 also and it was THE WORST Blu-ray player out of the three I have owned. I'm hoping the BD30 is going to be THE BEST!

Mike


Mike,

Who did you order from? CC has the BD30 on its site for $469.99. If you go with CC it figures out to be about $423.00 when using a 10% coupon. And to think I have kidded my sister for years about her coupon deals.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #734 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 12:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
BigPines's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 749
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Mac View Post

Mike,

Who did you order from? CC has the BD30 on its site for $469.99. If you go with CC it figures out to be about $423.00 when using a 10% coupon. And to think I have kidded my sister for years about her coupon deals.

Bill

Yes, I went with CC but I have to pay tax here. So with Tax and $5 shipping, the price was a bit higher. It was still the best deal I could find anywhere on this player so I am happy.

Mike
BigPines is offline  
post #735 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 12:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
metalsaber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Western, Pennsylvania
Posts: 3,528
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 42 Post(s)
Liked: 91
Updated my player to 1.2 without issue.
metalsaber is offline  
post #736 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 03:52 PM
Member
 
mixxxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When a player is this good - and actually does what it says it will - it sure makes for a boring owners thread!

mixxxer is offline  
post #737 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 04:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
A/Vspec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Eastern PA
Posts: 1,225
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone have Ratatouille they can spin up on this player? On the BH100 we are getting a camera symbol flashing up in the upper right hand corner from time to time. Also happens on a few other discs.

-Mark AKA A/Vspec
ISF certified Audio/Video Specialist

Home of the ISF and Audyssey Pro calibrated Medieval Knight Theater:
http://www.digitalvortex.com
A/Vspec is offline  
post #738 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 04:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Terence's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 1,219
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mixxxer View Post

When a player is this good - and actually does what it says it will - it sure makes for a boring owners thread!


I find it refreshing that they delivered what they said they would, and that is big in todays A/V world. What's sad is we are surprised, instead of expecting a product do just what it was intended to do.

Tee

"Enjoy Movies & Music"

My Home Theater
Terence is offline  
post #739 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 05:21 PM
Member
 
RAE 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 87
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh Z View Post

This article may help:

Blu-ray and HD DVD Audio Explained

Thanks for the link -- very informative.

Question: What is the difference between a track coded as 5.1 PCM and a Dolby Digital track output as 5.1 PCM? (Difference meaning what comes out of the speakers.) I've heard elsewhere that DD output as PCM should be identical to a PCM coded track, and, to my uneducated brain, it doesn't seem logical: If you start with something "lossy", how can you convert it into something "lossless"?
RAE 1 is offline  
post #740 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 05:22 PM
Toe
AVS Addicted Member
 
Toe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 13,000
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 61 Post(s)
Liked: 418
Quote:
Originally Posted by A/Vspec View Post

Anyone have Ratatouille they can spin up on this player? On the BH100 we are getting a camera symbol flashing up in the upper right hand corner from time to time. Also happens on a few other discs.


Just watched the first half of Rat on the 30 and did not see anything like this. Looks phenominal!

JVC 3D: Been there, done that, bought a DLP
Toe is online now  
post #741 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 05:49 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Bill Mac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 11,467
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 426
Quote:
Originally Posted by A/Vspec View Post

Anyone have Ratatouille they can spin up on this player? On the BH100 we are getting a camera symbol flashing up in the upper right hand corner from time to time. Also happens on a few other discs.

I got the camera icon when watching Meet the Robinsons on the 1400 I had. Very annoying as I could not find a way to stop it. It did it like every 15 minutes and would stay on the screen for about 5-10 seconds. Only BR disc I saw do this, have not seen it on the BD30 yet. But MtR was a Netflix disc so I can not try it on the BD30.

Bill

My SACD collection, watch it grow and my wallet shrink ;-).

 

Denon 4311 (in preamp mode), Parasound 2100, Boston Acoustics A7200 amp, Oppo BDP-103, Consonance CD120, Panasonic TC-P60GT50 plasma, Panamax 5100EX, Salk Song Towers, Song Center, ADS 300C (surrounds) and two Rythmik F12SEs.
Bill Mac is offline  
post #742 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 05:56 PM
 
townofturley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 1,035
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RAE 1 View Post

If you start with something "lossy", how can you convert it into something "lossless"?

You can't.
townofturley is offline  
post #743 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 07:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
phansson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: usa
Posts: 2,853
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mixxxer View Post

When a player is this good - and actually does what it says it will - it sure makes for a boring owners thread!


That is pretty funny, this is by far and away the most solid Blu Ray stand alone on the market. First Panasonic product I have ever owned and I am thrilled with it.
phansson is offline  
post #744 of 12544 Old 11-22-2007, 10:06 PM
Member
 
mixxxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 132
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have just noticed something on the player...

If you put in a SONY Blu Ray movie disc - and try to enter code 7669 when at the menu for their Optimizer they put on all their discs - the Panny will only accept three digit codes... So you cannot use this program on any of the Sony movie discs...
mixxxer is offline  
post #745 of 12544 Old 11-23-2007, 05:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
robertc88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Central NJ
Posts: 3,639
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Guess I'll try inquiring again. Can you select a display type of 4:3 on this player? I do not have a 16:9 display.
robertc88 is offline  
post #746 of 12544 Old 11-23-2007, 05:46 AM
Senior Member
 
barend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Brummen near Arnhem (NL)
Posts: 466
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would like to buy a BD30 from the States, but I am unsure whether there'll be any pitfalls...
115V power should not be a problem, got stepup transformers.
NTSC only should also be no problem, as my scaler accepts PAL and NTSC, and so does my plasma.
Anything else I'm forgetting?
barend is offline  
post #747 of 12544 Old 11-23-2007, 06:14 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
kevinca1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: california
Posts: 3,902
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertc88 View Post

Guess I'll try inquiring again. Can you select a display type of 4:3 on this player? I do not have a 16:9 display.

Yes it has a option for 4x3 display in the set up menu
kevinca1 is offline  
post #748 of 12544 Old 11-23-2007, 06:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 3,308
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by robertc88 View Post

Guess I'll try inquiring again. Can you select a display type of 4:3 on this player? I do not have a 16:9 display.

Yes. Under "TV/Display" in the player's setup menu, there is an option for "TV Aspect" that allows for 4:3 or 16:9 displays. Options include "4:3 Pan & Scan", "4:3 Letterbox", "16:9" (the default), and "16:9 Full".

gonk
Beta tester: BDP-83 / BDP-80
gonk is offline  
post #749 of 12544 Old 11-23-2007, 07:53 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,039
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by lrstevens421 View Post

Very good article Josh. The only thing is that no players currently convert DTS-HD MA to PCM, unless you're talking about the DTS core.

From the article:

"At the time of this writing, only one Blu-ray disc player (the Samsung BD-P1400) supports the transmission of a DTS-HD Master Audio bitstream over HDMI 1.3. No current Blu-ray disc players will yet decode the DTS-HD MA track to PCM internally. All other players are limited to extraction of the standard DTS core. This situation is expected to change in the near future as more player models are released, and manufacturers issue firmware updates to existing players."

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
post #750 of 12544 Old 11-23-2007, 07:58 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Josh Z's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Planet Boston, source of the spice, Melange.
Posts: 20,039
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 253 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie Tango View Post

Well, when I ran the HD HQV Benchmark test disc for blu-ray, it passed using the benchmark scorecard as the standard. With movies I've found the PQ to be excellent. So, guess I'll say; in my opinion it passed all the test and I'm completely happy with the BD30's performance.

I think you must be using the scorecard incorrectly. The player does not pass any deinterlacing test on that disc.

For example, on the pattern with the straight bar rotating inside the circle, the bar develops jaggies while still in the Red section of the circle. That's a clear fail.

On the DVD version, there's a section for "Mixed Media" which has printed text scrolling along the bottom of the screen while video plays above. The text is a combing nightmare.

Josh Z
Writer/Editor, High-Def Digest (Blog updated daily!)
Curator, Laserdisc Forever

My opinions are my own, and do not necessarily reflect those of my employers.

Josh Z is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Panasonic , Panasonic Dmp Bd30k 1080p Blu Ray Disc Player , Blu Ray Players
Gear in this thread - 1080p by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off