Sony BDP-S300/301 Firmware Version 3.30 Poll - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


View Poll Results: did firmware 3.30 make your player better, worse or the same?
everything was fine before version 3.30 and everything is still fine. 28 63.64%
version 3.30 fixed all issues i had. 5 11.36%
version 3.30 fixed some issues i had, but not all issues. (please post details.) 2 4.55%
version 3.30 created new issues for me. (please post details.) 9 20.45%
Voters: 44. You may not vote on this poll

Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 11-20-2007, 03:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
how's it been working for you? did it solve and issues? did it create any issue?

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 11-21-2007, 08:21 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hmmmm... 3/4 votes say it only fixed some issues or actually creatd new issues. please post WHY since I am sure other owners woudl love to hear.

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 11-21-2007, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ignore ram021's vote, he said he voted in the wrong poll thinking i ws asking about th xbox add-on update.

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 11-21-2007, 10:16 PM
Senior Member
 
iserum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 369
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 14
after FW 3.3 when i skip any chapter the display still remains on the screen it won't go away, i tried playing different movies, also i have noticed previously when i use stop button i could resume movie, but now it starts from loading feature, very annoying. i don't how to i make resume finction on. it says on display resume off when i hit stop button.

BD movies played on PS3 do not go through this long loading process which is 2-3 minutes on BDPS300, I think PS3 is the best BD player out there, everything else is not even close, i don't know if PS3 could do it for $400 why the other BD players which cost more than PS3 have so many problems.

In comparison generation 1 HD DVD player Toshiba HD A1 plays all my new HD DVDs without any issues,
iserum is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 11-21-2007, 10:21 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by iserum View Post

after FW 3.3 when i skip any chapter the display still remains on the screen it won't go away, i tried playing different movies, also i have noticed previously when i use stop button i could resume movie, but now it starts from loading feature, very annoying. i don't how to i make resume finction on. it says on display resume off when i hit stop button.

BD movies played on PS3 do not go through this long loading process which is 2-3 minutes on BDPS300, I think PS3 is the best BD player out there, everything else is not even close, i don't know if PS3 could do it for $400 why the other BD players which cost more than PS3 have so many problems.

In comparison generation 1 HD DVD player Toshiba HD A1 plays all my new HD DVDs without any issues,

damn that would be annoying. thus far this deos not look like the best firmware sony has released. maybe they'll get it right on the next version. i did notice that 3.2 and 3.3 come out within 3 weeks of each other. i hope this means sony is rapidly trying to squash bug and get their player working like it should be.

i am going to upgrade to 3.3 and will report results.... update: installed it. running some movies now.

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 11-24-2007, 06:24 AM
Member
 
regs4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Pleasanton, Ca.
Posts: 143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The firmware update for BDP S300 and BDP S301 are different in appearance if you download both. My brother has the 300 and used the proper firmware update and cannot watch standard and Blu Ray discs after the update. He puts a disc in and the player says NO Disc. He could get to the Easy Setup and reset but that is it. I guess it is 1-800-222-SONY time?
regs4 is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 11-24-2007, 08:33 AM
Advanced Member
 
RJRSW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 678
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by regs4 View Post

The firmware update for BDP S300 and BDP S301 are different in appearance if you download both. My brother has the 300 and used the proper firmware update and cannot watch standard and Blu Ray discs after the update. He puts a disc in and the player says NO Disc. He could get to the Easy Setup and reset but that is it. I guess it is 1-800-222-SONY time?

I have both models and the only difference between the two is the 301 includes the HDMI cable and the 300 doesn't. I used the same 3.2 firmware version disc on both units. The only difference is the software's file name.
RJRSW is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 11-24-2007, 08:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 5,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 204
What another firmware already.... I thought the last one vastly improved playback..
Garman is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 11-24-2007, 07:56 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Garman View Post

What another firmware already.... I thought the last one vastly improved playback..

usually a really quick update like 3.2 to 3.3 means they found some major bug that needed to be squashed quickly.

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 11-24-2007, 08:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Garman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: The Moon
Posts: 5,482
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 611 Post(s)
Liked: 204
Quote:
Originally Posted by youknowryan View Post

usually a really quick update like 3.2 to 3.3 means they found some major bug that needed to be squashed quickly.

No bugs on my end.... still running smoothly....
Garman is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 11-25-2007, 06:08 AM
Member
 
kjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I get a "no dwnld 09" message when I tried twice on my 301. Any ideas??

I downloaded the 3.3 for the s1 as well and had no problems with that unit
kjenkins is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 11-25-2007, 08:13 AM
Member
 
Robert Franklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It actually didn't create any new issues that I had, but I voted for that one. Here's the reason: actually my problems began with 2.60. I only had one or two quirks. Mainly the game play on POTC discs wouldn't load right. I have my 300 hooked up to an old 4:3 TV and certain movies menus would not correspond to the TV setup. Actually, both the 300 and the S1 would do this, but I will concentrate on the 300 for this thread.

Anyway, here's how it stands: Meet the Robinson's shooting game and Chicken Little Invasion game are very slow resonding. Meet the Robinson's game is the worst. The screen resolution changes after you die. Hard to explain, you would just have to see it. Also, Chicken Little game play is almost the same, but it also has problems with onscreen selections. They are not complete. meaning that you can't see the whole button or word that is one the button. I forgot to mention the Surf's Up game doesn't play well with both machines either.

I will say that I am not really interested in game play, but I thought that my 5 yr old would like to try them. It's funny because she actually doesn't care about them. But, if you put a game on the disc you should be able to play them without any problems such as these. Isn't that what the Panasonic Hollywood Lab is all about? Testing all of the discs on all available machines before they are mass produced and distributed. That's what I thought.

I will say that load times for POTC and Fox new titles have been quicker and they did resolve the issue with the displaying of the menus on POTC.
Robert Franklin is offline  
post #13 of 24 Old 11-25-2007, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjenkins5150 View Post

I get a "no dwnld 09" message when I tried twice on my 301. Any ideas??

I downloaded the 3.3 for the s1 as well and had no problems with that unit

reburn the iso oon a different media and see if that works.

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 11-25-2007, 01:57 PM
Member
 
kjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
sorry, I should have clarified that by twice I meant all steps were actually performed twice ... redownloaded, burned a new disc, etc. Seems like i had this problem on a previous update for the s1 but not sure how I got around it ... I did not the 09 message on sony's list so I thought maybe someone else had had a similar prob. I will try again.

Thanks
kjenkins is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 11-25-2007, 04:20 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjenkins5150 View Post

sorry, I should have clarified that by twice I meant all steps were actually performed twice ... redownloaded, burned a new disc, etc. Seems like i had this problem on a previous update for the s1 but not sure how I got around it ... I did not the 09 message on sony's list so I thought maybe someone else had had a similar prob. I will try again.

Thanks

sounds like you might want to get the player services or exchanged if you can

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 11-25-2007, 06:44 PM
Senior Member
 
JCR1960's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Boca Raton,Florida
Posts: 270
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only problem that I had was with the poor audio on playback which was corrected after I watched a BRD.

One thing I did notice was when trying to burn the F/W update to a DVD-R I got a corrupt message.I tried another one and that one worked but got rejected from the player.I took a chance and finally decided to burn a CD-R(oddly no mention on Sony's website only to use DVD's) and that went all the way through without a hitch and updated fine.

Jim
JCR1960 is offline  
post #17 of 24 Old 11-29-2007, 07:11 PM
Member
 
wallst32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 187
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked up an S301. It came with FW 2.0 out of box, so I immediately upgraded it to 3.3. Played Casino Royale and Xmen 3 without any issues. No Pixar Shorts Collection on the other hand, plays just fine after seemingly taking forever to load. But I have heard that his disc has been an issue.
wallst32 is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 12-02-2007, 11:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
youknowryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,342
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i've not watched many movies lately, but it SEEMS that the issues I was having (playback stutter and lock-ups) are now gone. my test movie (5th element bd) played just fine and i did not manage to get it to lock up like it used to when chapter skipping. of course, now that i posted some good new it'll start acting up .

USE THE SEARCH BUTTON BEFORE POSTING QUESTIONS.
youknowryan is offline  
post #19 of 24 Old 12-08-2007, 02:16 PM
Member
 
mkalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was running v. 2.0, and when I tried to play Live Free or Die Hard, the message appeared that I needed a firmware upgrade for the disk to play. I successfully upgraded to 3.30, but I still get the same message -- the disk won't play because the player needs a firmware upgrade. Any ideas?
mkalman is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 12-08-2007, 06:56 PM
Senior Member
 
ilovenola2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New Orleans, LA USA
Posts: 391
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by kjenkins5150 View Post

I get a "no dwnld 09" message when I tried twice on my 301. Any ideas??

I downloaded the 3.3 for the s1 as well and had no problems with that unit

Me too (for my BDP-S300). After two calls to Sony (they tried to be helpful) I simply asked them to send me the disc. I'll just wait a week.
ilovenola2 is offline  
post #21 of 24 Old 12-09-2007, 08:32 AM
Advanced Member
 
Snuffy101's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 514
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I downloaded the 3.3 update, burned a DVD, loaded it and it took over 30 minutes to update my S300. The update hung up after 10 minutes and just set there. Finally after, what seemed like forever, it started over and completed. My S300 now has 3.3 FW and I can't tell any difference at all. Load times are the same, slow as a snail. The good thing is that it didn’t make it any worse. My recommendation is; unless you are having problems wait for the next update.

Snuffy
Snuffy101 is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 12-09-2007, 10:00 AM
Senior Member
 
Apollo5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 215
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I started out with ver 2.1 and watched the entire movie Polar Express and also tested with Ghost Rider and Warriors of Heaven and Earth with no problems.

I updated to 3.3 and the process took less than 15-20 minutes.

I did not notice any differences after the update.
Apollo5 is offline  
post #23 of 24 Old 12-09-2007, 11:19 AM
Member
 
mkalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The poll is missing my choice. I had problems before the upgrade to 3.3, and have no improvement and no discernable change after the upgrade.
mkalman is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 12-28-2008, 05:22 PM
Newbie
 
brianppeterson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by regs4 View Post

The firmware update for BDP S300 and BDP S301 are different in appearance if you download both. My brother has the 300 and used the proper firmware update and cannot watch standard and Blu Ray discs after the update. He puts a disc in and the player says NO Disc. He could get to the Easy Setup and reset but that is it. I guess it is 1-800-222-SONY time?

Did you ever resolve this issue. I have a BDP-S301 that is exhibiting the same behavior. It seems more like a sensor issue because it was sporatic but the firmware was recently updated as well.
brianppeterson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off