OFFICIAL "HELP ME CHOOSE A PLAYER" THREAD: Can't decide? Start HERE. - Page 560 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #16771 of 17007 Old 06-24-2014, 11:02 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,803
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
Which htpc have and plays everything without any stucks?

Full bluray 3d or 2d with menu e.t.c.?
You know if you didn't insist on playing iso's, and just encode some other way, you'd have a lot more cheap options available to you. So instead of needing a $400 Dune HD Base 3D, you'd only need a $60 WD TV Live.

If I were you I'd research better ways to rip and encode your discs. ISO isn't the only option.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by mdavej; 06-24-2014 at 11:09 AM.
mdavej is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #16772 of 17007 Old 06-24-2014, 10:06 PM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Need a 3D bluray for my parents

Hi there savy people

My parents got a 3D LG TV at their place and they need a 3D capable blu ray player.

They don't really need anything special like Netflix or other things as their TV already have all of that and they don't use any of it :P, just to be able to play 3D movies.


I don't really want to pay over 200$ for it.

I'm in Canada so that limits things a bit, but still I'm sure you can come to my help to better the life of my Parents

Thank you for your help
comeau3 is offline  
post #16773 of 17007 Old 06-25-2014, 04:28 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,291
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Welcome to AVSForum.

Scan the last few pages of this thread for current recommendations: OFFICIAL "HELP ME CHOOSE A PLAYER" THREAD: Can't decide? Start HERE.. Ask there if you are not finding what you want.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #16774 of 17007 Old 06-25-2014, 06:25 AM
 
Apostate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 930
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 100 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Quote:
Originally Posted by comeau3 View Post
Hi there savy people

My parents got a 3D LG TV at their place and they need a 3D capable blu ray player.

They don't really need anything special like Netflix or other things as their TV already have all of that and they don't use any of it :P, just to be able to play 3D movies.

I don't really want to pay over 200$ for it.
Just to be able to play 3D movies? Then get the cheapest 3D-capable BD player from any major brand. They are all pretty much same in terms of BD picture quality.
Apostate is offline  
post #16775 of 17007 Old 06-25-2014, 07:35 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Panasonic and Sony tend to be the most popular and most reliable around here.

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #16776 of 17007 Old 06-25-2014, 10:52 PM
Member
 
fits79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
My HTPC was $50 on ebay, far cheaper than any media player or BD player I've ever found.
As you see here even without software at all there ISN'T cheap hdpc until 200$ that it can play full bluray movies menu so....
fits79 is offline  
post #16777 of 17007 Old 06-25-2014, 11:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,803
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Why must you have full menus?
mdavej is offline  
post #16778 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 02:29 AM
Member
 
fits79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 10
YOU tell me here
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
You guys just can't find deals like I can ;-)

But seriously, my $50 system won't do 3D and does not include software costs.

If you don't insist on ISO, can't you get by with a lot less?
that i can find a cheap htpc that it can play even 2d/3d files/folders with full support of menu.

But finally as i see you CAN'T find any htpc even until 200$ that support full menu support so......

Last edited by fits79; 06-26-2014 at 06:08 AM.
fits79 is offline  
post #16779 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 05:59 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,803
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Why? You don't need a drive or ripping software, just a CPU and GPU. I still think it can be done.
mdavej is offline  
post #16780 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 06:10 AM
Member
 
fits79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe you don't answer to my question because NEVER ask what i need to rip a full bluray movie i only ask what i need to can play a full ripped bluray movie with full menus.

I simply want to can see the extra of each movie and NOT ONLY THE MOVIE and no i don't want to extract all the extra for each movie so i can see the extra.
fits79 is offline  
post #16781 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 07:31 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,803
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
I believe you don't answer to my question because NEVER ask what i need to rip a full bluray movie i only ask what i need to can play a full ripped bluray movie with full menus.

I simply want to can see the extra of each movie and NOT ONLY THE MOVIE and no i don't want to extract all the extra for each movie so i can see the extra.
Ok, you don't want to rip the extras. I understand. My $50 machine plays MKV, not full rips. I don't care about the menus or extras. But I still think your goal can be met very cheaply, especially if you use some Linux based solution.

You are ripping on something today. Why not simply do a few hardware/software upgrades to that existing box to achieve your goal of a cheap ISO player?

In any case, let's continue in your other thread, not this BD player thread.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #16782 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 08:08 AM
Member
 
fits79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Wrong one more time.
NEVER tallied i don't want to rip the full bluray.
PLEASE DON'T PUT WORDS IN MY MOUTH I AM NEVER TALLIED.

simply i tallied i know how i completely rip a full bluray disc(Anydvd)

How in your opinion is the cheapest way to can play full bluray ripped files with MENU?

Tell me ONLY THE HARDWARE not the software.
fits79 is offline  
post #16783 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 08:13 AM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,291
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
Wrong one more time.
NEVER tallied i don't want to rip the full bluray.
PLEASE DON'T PUT WORDS IN MY MOUTH I AM NEVER TALLIED.

simply i tallied i know how i completely rip a full bluray disc(Anydvd)

How in your opinion is the cheapest way to can play full bluray ripped files with MENU?

Tell me ONLY THE HARDWARE not the software.
As we've explained, there is no Blu-ray player that does what you want. This is a Blu-ray player thread and you are off topic. Pursue this in the HTCP or Media Server threads but please stop posting here.

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #16784 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 10:48 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Pardon the interruption,

Please take all HTPC topics to the HTPC forum. This is the BD Player forum.

Thanks,

S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #16785 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 02:18 PM
Member
 
fits79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The pioneer bdp 150 or 160 doesn't play full bluray menus????
fits79 is offline  
post #16786 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 02:29 PM
Advanced Member
 
HockeyoAJB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 680
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 174 Post(s)
Liked: 221
Quote:
Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
The pioneer bdp 150 or 160 doesn't play full bluray menus????
From a blu-ray disc, yes. AFAIK, no reasonably new Blu-Ray player can play ISO files unless you install some kind of hacked firmware. As mentioned above, if playing ISO's is your goal, I would try the HTPC or Media Player forums. Not every AVS member reads every forum, so your question is more likely to get an answer there. Personally, I don't have any ISO files so have never had a need to play one.
HockeyoAJB is offline  
post #16787 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 02:55 PM
Member
 
fits79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 99
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So if i buy the pioneer bdp-150 and install a hacked firmware then it can play everything with menu?

Is there any chance that pioneer bdp-150 has custom or hacked firmware that is do exactly that because the bdp-150 it is at my money limit and i can buy it.


But if i install it a custom/hacked firmware can if i want to return to it's original fw?
fits79 is offline  
post #16788 of 17007 Old 06-26-2014, 03:33 PM
One-Man Content Creator
 
wmcclain's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 17,291
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 398 Post(s)
Liked: 347
Quote:
Originally Posted by fits79 View Post
So if i buy the pioneer bdp-150 and install a hacked firmware then it can play everything with menu?

Is there any chance that pioneer bdp-150 has custom or hacked firmware that is do exactly that because the bdp-150 it is at my money limit and i can buy it.


But if i install it a custom/hacked firmware can if i want to return to it's original fw?
Try asking in the thread for that player: The Pioneer BDP-62FD/150/450 2012 Blu-ray Player Thread

-Bill


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Unofficial OPPO FAQS:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
|
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

 

 

wmcclain is online now  
post #16789 of 17007 Old 07-02-2014, 05:46 AM
Newbie
 
Jsmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Hi ppl!

Time to pick a blu ray player for my living room, I'm looking for best PQ and sound, i don't care too much about streaming services and apps since my 2012 LG tv have built in Plex support.

Talking Sony, last year 4100 and 5100 have great reviews been the 5100 the one with best PQ and sound and i know this year 6200 it's top of the line but what about 4200 and 5200 compare with the 4100? Another option are Sumsung's f6500 and f5500 or this year h6500 and h5500 or even Pioneer's 160 and 170.

Any advice will be appreciated including other brands, like i said the priority here is PQ and sound if also supports plex cool but that is already cover by de Tv set or my WD TV Live.


-Jsmc.
Jsmc is offline  
post #16790 of 17007 Old 07-02-2014, 08:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,803
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsmc View Post
Hi ppl!

Time to pick a blu ray player for my living room, I'm looking for best PQ and sound, i don't care too much about streaming services and apps since my 2012 LG tv have built in Plex support.

Talking Sony, last year 4100 and 5100 have great reviews been the 5100 the one with best PQ and sound and i know this year 6200 it's top of the line but what about 4200 and 5200 compare with the 4100? Another option are Sumsung's f6500 and f5500 or this year h6500 and h5500 or even Pioneer's 160 and 170.

Any advice will be appreciated including other brands, like i said the priority here is PQ and sound if also supports plex cool but that is already cover by de Tv set or my WD TV Live.


-Jsmc.
How important is DVD PQ, and must it be the best possible or just average? How about 3D or 4k? And can your AVR decode HD audio? Older players can do the decoding, but newer players can't. And lastly, is a front display on the player important to you?


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #16791 of 17007 Old 07-02-2014, 01:10 PM
Newbie
 
Jsmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
How important is DVD PQ, and must it be the best possible or just average? How about 3D or 4k? And can your AVR decode HD audio? Older players can do the decoding, but newer players can't. And lastly, is a front display on the player important to you?
Well I'm not a collector only have like 10 movies on DVD but after buying the BD player i will buy some of my favorite movies. I have to stick to a tight budget so price must be 150€ tops (same amount in USD) 3D will be a must and 4k i don't really care because if i buy a new TV with 4k support it's gonna have better 4k upscaling than any BD player AFAIK. My AVR it's yamaha's RX-V475 5.1 channels and supports processing Dolby TrueHD Dolby Digital Plus and DTS-HD Master Audio and i don't really care if it has front display or not same for the remote I'm not a picky guy any remote that works it's ok. DLNA support it's a must have too.

-Jsmc

LG 50PM6800
Yamaha RX-V475
Quadral Quintas 5000II 5.0
Jsmc is offline  
post #16792 of 17007 Old 07-02-2014, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,803
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jsmc View Post
Well I'm not a collector only have like 10 movies on DVD but after buying the BD player i will buy some of my favorite movies. I have to stick to a tight budget so price must be 150€ tops (same amount in USD) 3D will be a must and 4k i don't really care because if i buy a new TV with 4k support it's gonna have better 4k upscaling than any BD player AFAIK. My AVR it's yamaha's RX-V475 5.1 channels and supports processing Dolby TrueHD Dolby Digital Plus and DTS-HD Master Audio and i don't really care if it has front display or not same for the remote I'm not a picky guy any remote that works it's ok. DLNA support it's a must have too.

-Jsmc
I'd go for a 4200 then. Sonys don't change much from year to year. They just get a bit smaller, faster and lose a few more features in order to keep costs low. DLNA works pretty well with Sony, especially if you use Serviio.

Pio also makes good players, but I don't know much about them.

Samsung BD players have a reputation for being unreliable.

Remote is always a non-issue for me as well since I never use it. I prefer universal remotes.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #16793 of 17007 Old 07-03-2014, 05:05 AM
Newbie
 
Jsmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
I'd go for a 4200 then. Sonys don't change much from year to year. They just get a bit smaller, faster and lose a few more features in order to keep costs low. DLNA works pretty well with Sony, especially if you use Serviio.

Pio also makes good players, but I don't know much about them.

Samsung BD players have a reputation for being unreliable.

Remote is always a non-issue for me as well since I never use it. I prefer universal remotes.
Thx Mdavej, current deals here on amazon are:
s4100 73€
s4200 84.99€
s5200 89.99€
and s6200 169€

Is there any difference besides WiFi support between the 4200 and the 5200 (witch i don't really use since all my devices are hard wired) i mean PQ and sound or faster processor? because as you can see both cost arround the same. How about performace between the 4100 and 4200 is it worth it to grab this year model?

-Jsmc.

LG 50PM6800
Yamaha RX-V475
Quadral Quintas 5000II 5.0
Jsmc is offline  
post #16794 of 17007 Old 07-03-2014, 06:52 AM
Senior Member
 
bobby2478's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Question TOSLINK/Optical Audio Phased Out of entry blu-ray players?

I bought a Samsung BD-F5900 last year, and it had TOSLINK Optical audio output. I was looking recently at replacing another older blu-ray player and I see now that on the new Samsung BD-H5900 they replaced the TOSLINK with Coaxial digital audio. I looked at ALL of the entry level blu-ray players (regular price $99-$130) and NONE of them appear to have TOSLINK Optical audio any longer. You have to step up to the 4k upscaling ones that are in the $150-$200 range.

Has anyone else noticed this too? Considering through last year EVERYONE had TOSLINK on their entry-mid range offerings, it's pretty dumb that all the sudden they stopped including it as an option. It's not like the cost of a TOSLINK port would be much different than a Coaxial port.

Are there any $99-$130 blu ray players that still offer TOSLINK/Optical?
bobby2478 is offline  
post #16795 of 17007 Old 07-03-2014, 06:52 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,803
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 352
Players below the 6xxx and 7xx perform the same. The only difference is features. Hard to say what the performance difference between x100 and x200 is. Some say there is a huge speed difference. Others claim only a small difference. My x100 players boot in about 2 sec with quick start on. BD load times vary. You'll just have to read more reviews and make your own judgement. I'm skeptical of the speed claims. A modest speed increase makes the most logical sense. Whether a few seconds faster loading is worth 10€ or so is your call.

Everything I've read says only the 4100 lacks wifi, not the 4200.
mdavej is offline  
post #16796 of 17007 Old 07-03-2014, 07:38 AM
Super Moderator
 
teachsac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 4,312
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 53 Post(s)
Liked: 131
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby2478 View Post
I bought a Samsung BD-F5900 last year, and it had TOSLINK Optical audio output. I was looking recently at replacing another older blu-ray player and I see now that on the new Samsung BD-H5900 they replaced the TOSLINK with Coaxial digital audio. I looked at ALL of the entry level blu-ray players (regular price $99-$130) and NONE of them appear to have TOSLINK Optical audio any longer. You have to step up to the 4k upscaling ones that are in the $150-$200 range.

Has anyone else noticed this too? Considering through last year EVERYONE had TOSLINK on their entry-mid range offerings, it's pretty dumb that all the sudden they stopped including it as an option. It's not like the cost of a TOSLINK port would be much different than a Coaxial port.

Are there any $99-$130 blu ray players that still offer TOSLINK/Optical?
Panasonic still offers optical connections.


S~

Please use the report post button to alert staff to problematic posts. Never quote or respond to them yourself
teachsac is online now  
post #16797 of 17007 Old 07-03-2014, 08:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mdavej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 9,803
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 338 Post(s)
Liked: 352
^^^
You can also get a coax/optical converter box for about $12.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
,
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
mdavej is offline  
post #16798 of 17007 Old 07-03-2014, 12:09 PM
Senior Member
 
bobby2478's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 230
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
^^^
You can also get a coax/optical converter box for about $12.
Right, but if I want to avoid a converter (the more adapters and converters the more risk of noise and/or distortion) it would appear that Samsung and Sony are no longer in the picture unless you want to bump up to their "Elite" level players that run about $200.

Just seems stupid that all the sudden this year everyone is replacing TOSLINK with Coaxial digital audio. Is there any difference in quality of sound between TOSLINK and Coax? I've always used TOSLINK for all my equipment.
bobby2478 is offline  
post #16799 of 17007 Old 07-03-2014, 12:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,804
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 237 Post(s)
Liked: 385
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobby2478 View Post
Right, but if I want to avoid a converter (the more adapters and converters the more risk of noise and/or distortion) it would appear that Samsung and Sony are no longer in the picture unless you want to bump up to their "Elite" level players that run about $200.

Just seems stupid that all the sudden this year everyone is replacing TOSLINK with Coaxial digital audio. Is there any difference in quality of sound between TOSLINK and Coax? I've always used TOSLINK for all my equipment.
There's not supposed to be any difference: both are transporting the same bits, although some people claim that the secondary effects (like jitter) are worse with optical. Optical connections do provide ground isolation, potentially reducing ground loops and hum. One reason for optical outputs for TVs is no longer applicable: you don't have to worry about getting zapped by a defective high voltage power supply in the CRT. The ground isolation that optical connections provide might be appropriate for some cable TV decoders. Coax obviously is very slightly cheaper since no electrical-to-optical conversion is needed. I'm sure that's why they're dropping optical. Sony in particular has serious financial problems.

Selden
Selden Ball is offline  
post #16800 of 17007 Old 07-04-2014, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
Jsmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Spain
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by mdavej View Post
Players below the 6xxx and 7xx perform the same. The only difference is features. Hard to say what the performance difference between x100 and x200 is. Some say there is a huge speed difference. Others claim only a small difference. My x100 players boot in about 2 sec with quick start on. BD load times vary. You'll just have to read more reviews and make your own judgement. I'm skeptical of the speed claims. A modest speed increase makes the most logical sense. Whether a few seconds faster loading is worth 10€ or so is your call.

Everything I've read says only the 4100 lacks wifi, not the 4200.
Thx again Mdavej looks like my questions are moving to sony's owners thread

LG 50PM6800
Yamaha RX-V475
Quadral Quintas 5000II 5.0
Jsmc is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

Tags
Blu Ray Players , blu-ray dvd hardware player mp4 usb playback , blu-ray players , Lg Bd 390 Network Blu Ray Disc Player , Oppo Bdp 103 3d Blu Ray Player , Oppo Bdp 93 Blu Ray Player , Pioneer Elite Bdp 62fd , Pioneer Pdp 5080 Hd , Plasma Hdtv , quality , S390 , Sony Bdp S5100 3d Blu Ray Disc Player With Wi Fi , Sony Blu Ray Disc Player Bdp S790 , Toshiba , video quality
Gear in this thread - S790 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off