AVS Forum banner
3M views 20K replies 5K participants last post by  cullam 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
[mod note] If you start a new thread asking for advice on buying a new BD player and the thread is merged into this thread, go to the end of thread and your original post should be there, maybe back a few posts. And you may already have some input. [/mod note]

I need help. Which bluray player is the best regardless of price thats not a major concern for me i just want the best bluray player in you opinion. Thank you i really need help with this one cause i have no knowledge of this subject

#12,861 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by audio/videoman /forum/post/21513985

Thanks, what is the flaw in sony upconversion?

Slightly softer image and more jaggies than other players.

Composite will look much worse. Component might look better assuming your receiver can upconvert from those inputs and does a better job than sony. But your player doesn't have component outputs, so that's not an option.

Keep in mind these upconversion differences are very small, and there's only so much you can do to improve a 480 image. It sounds like you expect a dramatic improvement from a new player. That simply isn't going to happen, even if you get an Oppo. It will look a little better, but not night and day. So save the money you would have spent on a player and buy/rent more blu-ray discs instead.

#12,863 ·
I know the performance differences of these but what I'm looking for is a problem free player. I've read praising reviews of the Sony and bad reviews of the LG, for having all kinds of problems.

These have been at stores and months ago, so I don't know if I can trust them.

What's everyone's opinion.

I like the Sony for SACD but like the LG for it's proprietary functions with my LG TV along with CD recording to a flash drive.