AVS Forum banner
3M views 20K replies 5K participants last post by  cullam 
#1 · (Edited by Moderator)
[mod note] If you start a new thread asking for advice on buying a new BD player and the thread is merged into this thread, go to the end of thread and your original post should be there, maybe back a few posts. And you may already have some input. [/mod note]

I need help. Which bluray player is the best regardless of price thats not a major concern for me i just want the best bluray player in you opinion. Thank you i really need help with this one cause i have no knowledge of this subject

#13,041 ·

Quote:
Originally Posted by soccerman58 /forum/post/21659768

Hi

Please, I am going blind from reading Blu-Ray reviews, specs, manuals, jumbles of letters and numbers, the opinions of little old ladies who shop exclusively at Wal-Mart, ad nauseam.

Here's what I want; just tell me what to get, up to about $150 U.S. I don't really want a $59.99 no-name, but if it does what I want...

FWIW I have a Vizio 42" LCD and I'll be upgrading my AVR to something like a Mid-Price DENON or Onkyo with HDMI input/output.

Blu-Ray player with

MOST IMPORTANT: will play 95 percent of all the DVDs I backed up from my computer using the AVI format. This needs to be as a result of your personal experience coz I found a Samsung I liked that seemed to have all the specs, then I read the manual and it said - very carefully and deliberately - that Xvid/Divx disks needed to be made and finalized in a DVD recorder, which I take to mean nothing pirated and burned in my tatty hard drive with freeware.

I don't feel inclined to spend a week ripping a couple hundred movies and re-burning them using MPEG4 or MKV format.