Is there a better option than the PS3? - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 213 Old 01-15-2008, 01:29 PM
Member
 
Rob9874's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shad0wz View Post

HAH!!!

Im in the exact same boat.. was about to pick up an 80 gig ps3 as a BLU player since Im an HD-DVD victim . However this BT remote crap just killed that idea.. wife would kill me if I took her 880 away from her. Complete deal breaker. No way I want an ugly dongle hangin with my AV equipment, the PS3 is UGLY enough as is...

I think that's silly. I'm an HD DVD convert, and was so excited the Harmony 550 worked everything in my system, including my Xbox 360 HD DVD player. Sure, I'm disappointed that I have to go back to a 2-remote household, but for me, it reduces my enjoyment from 100% to 95%. So I have to pick up a 2nd remote when watching movies, big deal. Not worth ditching the PS3 idea altogether, IMO.
Rob9874 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 213 Old 01-15-2008, 02:12 PM
Advanced Member
 
shabre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: minnesota
Posts: 757
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayMan007 View Post

Any specific version of Windows Media Player? I have version 10. What needs to be done at the PC end to put it out on the network?

I've ripped a few DVDs, used DVD Shrink.

I enjoy using Tversity for the media server...works flawlessly for audio and video shaing from the pc to the PS3
shabre is offline  
post #183 of 213 Old 01-15-2008, 03:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob9874 View Post

I think that's silly. I'm an HD DVD convert, and was so excited the Harmony 550 worked everything in my system, including my Xbox 360 HD DVD player. Sure, I'm disappointed that I have to go back to a 2-remote household, but for me, it reduces my enjoyment from 100% to 95%. So I have to pick up a 2nd remote when watching movies, big deal. Not worth ditching the PS3 idea altogether, IMO.

You should take a read in this thread.
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=946674
I have the PS3IRX1 and I am extremely happy with it. It blends into the PS3 perfectly and 99% of people won't even notice it is there.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #184 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 07:14 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Schauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Port Townsend WA
Posts: 2,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey! I see what you're trying to do. Being reasonable and all. It won't work. The PS3 is still the best.
Steve Schauer is offline  
post #185 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Steve Schauer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Port Townsend WA
Posts: 2,552
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So are you going to wait for the Panasonic BD50?
Steve Schauer is offline  
post #186 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 07:34 AM
Senior Member
 
bob_c_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
[quote=rod2467;12793996]
Quote:
Originally Posted by jmpage2 View Post


I guess by your statement, you're not a parent, and you completely missed the point.

I think he got the point, as did I, and it's still a parenting issue. My parents would never have tolerated me taking over the family room to play games back with the Atari 2600, let alone a device like the PS3. There are plenty of hours in the day where kids (with no jobs or serious social committments) can get their game time in, but only 2-3 hours where I can sit down and enjoy my home theater system (including games and BDs). Guess who wins this debate? The tax payer, not the burden to society.

The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what we share with someone else when we're uncool. -Lester Bangs
bob_c_b is offline  
post #187 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 11:40 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadbury8 View Post

i have a very stupid question... since the ps3 can surf the net and i can check my email with it, can the ps3 get a virus? what about pop-ups? spyware? mallware?

Someone would have to create a virus that specifically targeted the PS3. While possible, virus writers seem to like to attack the biggest user base (Windows users) the most.
jmpage2 is offline  
post #188 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 11:56 AM
Senior Member
 
bob_c_b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 275
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsmiddleton4 View Post

bob...

"My parents would never have tolerated me taking over the family room to play games..."

Not going to step into the whole thread but will say this. Us as "parents" today, well we are the ones who had the Atari's who wanted to take over the front room and couldn't. So when the carriers of 1/2 or genes want to today, we have a different context for that judgment. My parents would not have allowed it either. But my dad and mom didn't play games where-as I did. So I get it. My dad even later in his life, simply never got video games. So when my dtr's want to have a video game party and take over the entire living space in my home and force their parents into our bedrooms to be quiet and not disturb them, well I get it. And I'd rather them be in my front room having a blast than "out there" in what is happening in our society.

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,323052,00.html

http://www.foxnews.com/story/0,2933,322830,00.html

Ummm, just because your kids can't take over the living room doesn't mean...

1.) they are now entitled to roam the streets unsupervised.

2.) they are at risk for gangs, torture, prostitution and rape.

This mentality that children must be coddled and every whim catered too or they will be comsumed by a predator society that waits just outside their door is beyond disturbing.

Of course, if you want to engage (and fall prey to) the fear mongering that the media provides, rock on, but there isn't a horrible crime outside of every door and using that to rationalize doens't make it any more real.

Sorry, you don't "get it" and have not provided one solid reason why the PS3 is not an excellent solution as both a BD player and game system for any size family.

The only true currency in this bankrupt world is what we share with someone else when we're uncool. -Lester Bangs
bob_c_b is offline  
post #189 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 12:41 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jim01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Picked up my new 40G PS3 at lunch today

Here's the deal of the century I ended up with from CC:
- I bought the Sharp 46" 1080p LCD 2 days before Black Friday
- pricematched on BF to the $1299 price
- last weekend took receipt and ad in and walked out with Sharp Blu-Ray player for free
- walked in to different CC today and walked out with 40G PS3 and $108 in store credit in exchange for the Sharp Blu-Ray player

Good times!
Jim01 is offline  
post #190 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 01:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
mrcoop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 635
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I find the negative comments about ps 3 too funny and I use to be somewhat anti sony.

I am not a sony fan and never was, did like the ps2 tho. After the ps 2 I bought the xbox 360 and have the wii as well.

Quite simply, the value of the ps3 is unreal compared to other blueray and gaming consoles. I don't even have to explain why, the unit speaks for itself. I loved the xbox 360 and was getting ready to drop some coin for the hd dvd clunky adapter until the news. Not buy the ps3 because of a remote...lol...there are ways around this.
mrcoop is offline  
post #191 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 02:08 PM
Senior Member
 
Cipro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Knoxville TN
Posts: 328
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
what are the ways around the remote? Im getting ready to pull the trigger....and my wife wont deal with multiple remotes.....her WAF factor is bery bery high on the purchase reqs

XboxLive Gamertag : FocusHealth
Cipro is offline  
post #192 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lwien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Arcadia, Calif
Posts: 2,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JonW747 View Post

Bottom line... if you want the best possible audio you need one of the following:

1) A player that can decode lossless formats and output them as LPCM to an HDMI compatible receiver.

2) A player that can output lossless formats as-is and bitstream them to an HDMI 1.3 compatible receiver.

3) A player that can decode lossless formats and output them to 5.1/7/1 analog outputs that you can wire via RCA cables to any 5.1/7.1 receiver that supports multi-channel inputs.

Uh, what player can do #3 ??
lwien is offline  
post #193 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 04:36 PM
Newbie
 
LAZIO1974's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hello there, just got my ps3 and works great only gripe is that i store it in a wall unit cabinet with restricted ventilation {horizzontal} so i ear the fan working pretty hard, is that normal, should i moove it and will the fan stop if i do . thanks in advance
LAZIO1974 is offline  
post #194 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 05:39 PM
Member
 
Jamiroquai's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 84
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The fan being loud seems to be a unit to unit thing, some peoples are audible and some people claim they have to put their ear next to the PS3 to hear it. I played the return game (both a 80g and two 40g) looking for a super quiet one, but in my room I can always hear the fan. I don't think it's too loud (quieter than a PC). You have to realize the PS3 is closer to a computer than DVD player so it will produce some heat and the fan has to keep things cool. I just decided that some fan noise is acceptable for what the PS3 can do.
Jamiroquai is offline  
post #195 of 213 Old 01-16-2008, 06:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpmst3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Davidsville, PA
Posts: 8,115
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 186
Quote:
Originally Posted by LAZIO1974 View Post

hello there, just got my ps3 and works great only gripe is that i store it in a wall unit cabinet with restricted ventilation {horizzontal} so i ear the fan working pretty hard, is that normal, should i moove it and will the fan stop if i do . thanks in advance

Of course it is better to have more ventilation if possible. If it is not shutting down it is not too hot.

Contrary to popular belief and urban legend on this forum, the hotter the unit the harder the fan works. The 20/40G units do run cooler because they consume less power due to lack on backward compatibility. The others all run the same, more power, equals more heat, equals louder. It is simple reasoning. Each person's threshold for noise and environment are different.

Let's avoid the baseless, serial number, quality control, chipset crap and just stick to common logic.

Heat = fan = noise

jpmst3 is offline  
post #196 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 08:00 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jim01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok, I got my PS3 but now have a problem. I now have three optical sources (HD Cable box, Xbox360, PS3) but my receiver only has two optical inputs. Anybody know if they make cheap optical switches or something to solve this problem so I can have two outputs going into one and don't have to manually change cables?
Jim01 is offline  
post #197 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 08:56 AM
Member
 
Rob9874's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadbury8 View Post

all this talk about children and parents. Well im not a parent but i did have two. growing up i got the tv after school until basically dinner time. after that it belonged to dad so he could watch the news.

Same here. And my parents were pretty young (55 now). When I was 12, they were as old as I am now. But I see myself as MUCH younger. My dad was all about the news! He didn't play video games, watch cartoons, or reruns of his favorite childhood shows on Nick at Nite. What's wrong with our generation? Do we have an inability to grow up, or did our parents have an inability to stay young?

I think that's why we're going to do things differently than our parents did with us. We're different than they were. The same way our parents didn't raise us like they were raised. I've heard horror stories! Our grandparents' generation were slave drivers!
Rob9874 is offline  
post #198 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 09:02 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim01 View Post

Ok, I got my PS3 but now have a problem. I now have three optical sources (HD Cable box, Xbox360, PS3) but my receiver only has two optical inputs. Anybody know if they make cheap optical switches or something to solve this problem so I can have two outputs going into one and don't have to manually change cables?

Yes, there are many solutions, this is one of the cheapest routes but doesn't have IR/automatic control of the input selection;

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...seq=1&format=2
jmpage2 is offline  
post #199 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 09:17 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Doesn't your cable box have a coaxial output too? I know mine does. I would think you could use it and use your 3 optical ports for your other items.

Also, how are you doing on component video inputs? If you are running low on those too there is the Pelican pl-957 without IR remote, the Pelican S-1037 with remote (I have had trouble passing hi def video through it though), and the Psyclone PSC-01BK with remote (I just bought one and it is working with hi def sources).
Beerstalker is offline  
post #200 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 09:30 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jim01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here is how I plan to set it up:

Cable box:
Video - HDMI - straight to TV
Audio - Optical - to receiver

XBox 360
Video - VGA - straight to TV
Audio - Optical - to receiver

Playstation 3
Video - HDMI - straight to TV
Audio - Optical - to receiver

My receiver is kind of old (2001 or so) and doesn't take in HDMI at all. Just two optical inputs.
Jim01 is offline  
post #201 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 12:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
If you can post the part numbers of your TV, cable box, and reciever that would help.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #202 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jim01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't remember my receiver model # off the bat since I am at work.

TV = Sharp AQUOS 46" LC-46D64U
Cable box = Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD DVR
Jim01 is offline  
post #203 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 12:17 PM
Member
 
Rob9874's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 125
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim01 View Post

I don't remember my receiver model # off the bat since I am at work.

TV = Sharp AQUOS 46" LC-46D64U
Cable box = Scientific Atlanta Explorer 8300HD DVR

I plug my Scientific Atlanta cable box into my receiver via digital coax, since I have 1 optical and 1 coax input.
Rob9874 is offline  
post #204 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 12:43 PM
Advanced Member
 
Steve Burke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 571
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob9874 View Post

I think that's why we're going to do things differently than our parents did with us. We're different than they were. The same way our parents didn't raise us like they were raised. I've heard horror stories! Our grandparents' generation were slave drivers!

I agree, my generation and my kids generation are very similiar, especially when compared to my parents. Mostly for the better, but not always.

There are so many healthy things that our kids could be doing instead of playing games. I look at other kids and they are addicted, almost in a daze on these consoles, and they are just sitting still for hours. I also wonder how long it will take before they get carpal tunnel syndrome.

We decided that there will be no gaming in the house, whether on consoles or on the PC. When we bought the PS3 we made it very clear that it was for movies only.
Steve Burke is offline  
post #205 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 12:56 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Jim01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 253
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob9874 View Post

I plug my Scientific Atlanta cable box into my receiver via digital coax, since I have 1 optical and 1 coax input.

Thanks. Now a newb question. Is digital coax different from just a regular coax cable?
Jim01 is offline  
post #206 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 01:06 PM
Member
 
Labonte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
usually the orage cord
Labonte is offline  
post #207 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 01:06 PM
Member
 
Labonte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 175
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
orange
Labonte is offline  
post #208 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 01:10 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim01 View Post

Thanks. Now a newb question. Is digital coax different from just a regular coax cable?

Any RCA connection coax cable should work fine for the transmission of digital audio... assuming that your reciever has a digital coax audio input.

I had the same dilemma as you, old receiver and too many new HD toys to hook up.

Answer, new receiver, thanks to an understanding wife!
jmpage2 is offline  
post #209 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Beerstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Peoria, IL
Posts: 1,978
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim01 View Post

Thanks. Now a newb question. Is digital coax different from just a regular coax cable?


Kind of. What most people refer to as coaxial cable is really usually RF coaxial cable (or RG5/ RG6 cable). It is what your cable TV or antenna is run through. It is the cable with the wire in the middle and the part on the outside that screws on (or in some cases simply pushes on). Like this.


When we are talking about strictly an audio signal, digital coax is different. It looks like a normal RCA cable but it usually has an orange or black colored end instead of the normal red/white/yellow. Like This.


According to page 3 of the manual for your cable box the Digital coax output is right under the stereo audio outputs. It is labeled as Digital Audio Out (#4) on page three here.
http://www.scientificatlanta.com/pro...fs/4003986.pdf

Without your reciever model number I can't tell you how to hook it up. Either post the model number here for help, or look for a similar Digital Audio Input in the manual for it.
Beerstalker is offline  
post #210 of 213 Old 01-17-2008, 07:21 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
jmpage2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 10,053
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 77
I'm not aware of electrical specification differences between "digital" audio coaxial cable and regular audio coaxial cables.
jmpage2 is offline  
Reply Blu-ray Players

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off