BD Player Audio Support Comparison - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 494 Old 02-14-2008, 10:12 AM
Member
 
NathanSheller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Hillsboro
Posts: 57
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Short version: these players incorrectly lower the LFE (sub) channel by -5db when playing titles that use LPCM or PCM audio tracks.

Long version: http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=983656
NathanSheller is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 494 Old 02-14-2008, 03:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jpco's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 1,960
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by NismoZ View Post

Read the long explaination. Even with full HDMI 1.3 components in bitstream, there is still the bug?

The bug is with uncompressed PCM tracks, which are on a lot of Fox and Disney titles. It is not present when bitstreaming any of the codecs for your AVR to process.
jpco is offline  
post #93 of 494 Old 02-14-2008, 03:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
NismoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 880
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpco View Post

The bug is with uncompressed PCM tracks, which are on a lot of Fox and Disney titles. It is not present when bitstreaming any of the codecs for your AVR to process.

So the issue is the players internal processing. And when passing bitstream, there is no player processing, it just passes the info?
NismoZ is offline  
post #94 of 494 Old 02-14-2008, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Donnie Eldridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Tucson, AZ
Posts: 3,946
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NismoZ View Post

So the issue is the players internal processing. And when passing bitstream, there is no player processing, it just passes the info?

Correct.
Donnie Eldridge is offline  
post #95 of 494 Old 02-16-2008, 02:05 PM
Member
 
peterfa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: los angeles
Posts: 18
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In the chart, does the blue streaming code mean that it is able to stream over optical digital audio or the RCA type digital audio connector, or only via an HDMI connection?
peterfa is offline  
post #96 of 494 Old 02-17-2008, 05:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
bgillyjcu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Cleveland Ohio
Posts: 3,018
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by strange_brew View Post

namechamps, maybe a column could be added to the chart that provides information on verified audio glitches (e.g., LFE bug)?



I like that idea.

I am just waiting for a player that can do it all without bugs...

Hopefully the Samsung 1500 that is due out in May for $399 will be the answer...

Twitter @ Clefoodandbrews
 

bgillyjcu is offline  
post #97 of 494 Old 02-18-2008, 11:16 AM
Member
 
jpsomner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Frisco, TX
Posts: 40
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by peeweep69 View Post

Panny 10a is 7.1 analog out and HDMI, upconverts DTS core to DTS-HD "enhanced" as of FW 2.1.
Thanks for taking time to make chart.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tenfingers Gene View Post

My BD-10 has 7.1 analog output. Thanks for this info, BTW, good work.

Panasonic DMP-BD10 has 7.1 analog outs.........not 5.1, thanks

and, as per: http://panasonic.net/pavc/blu-ray/dm.../features.html, the BD50 will only have 5.1 analog outputs.
jpsomner is offline  
post #98 of 494 Old 02-21-2008, 11:52 AM
Newbie
 
Deacon Crusher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How about adding a column for ethernet port?

Thanks
Deacon Crusher is offline  
post #99 of 494 Old 02-22-2008, 01:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Can the PS3 audio be output via Toslink/Optical into my receiver, for 5.1 (or even 7.1) decoding? I keep on reading HDMI, so want to make sure... my receiver does NOT have HDMI!

The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here, and here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #100 of 494 Old 02-22-2008, 02:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnolivos View Post

Can the PS3 audio be output via Toslink/Optical into my receiver, for 5.1 (or even 7.1) decoding? I keep on reading HDMI, so want to make sure... my receiver does NOT have HDMI!

You only get legacy DD/DTS 5.1 over optical and coax digital audio connections. The PS3 lacks multichannel analog outputs, meaning you need HDMI to get lossless audio.
BIslander is online now  
post #101 of 494 Old 02-23-2008, 09:50 PM
Member
 
bolmsted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The BD50 from Panasonic will have 5.1 analog audio, not 7.1 and the LFE bug will be fixed since the firmware update for the BD30 scheduled for next week is supposed to have a fix for this.
bolmsted is offline  
post #102 of 494 Old 02-23-2008, 09:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Thanks for the response. Do you know if (with the PS3) I can output the audio over Optical while outputting video over HDMI? My Toshiba A3 allows me to do that... need to make sure!

Quote:
Originally Posted by BIslander View Post

You only get legacy DD/DTS 5.1 over optical and coax digital audio connections. The PS3 lacks multichannel analog outputs, meaning you need HDMI to get lossless audio.


The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here, and here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #103 of 494 Old 02-23-2008, 10:03 PM
Member
 
bolmsted's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnolivos View Post

Thanks for the response. Do you know if (with the PS3) I can output the audio over Optical while outputting video over HDMI? My Toshiba A3 allows me to do that... need to make sure!

When I had the Samsung BD-UP5000 it would output 5.1 DD/DTS audio over the optical tos-link to my receiver while sending the video via HDMI-DVI cable that I have hooked up to my HDTV. It will not send the advanced audio-codecs over the toslink/coax connection (if it could since it couldn't decode all of them yet) as you have to either use HDMI or analog connections. I'm sure that this is the same for other players.

I'm waiting for the BD50 from Panasonic and then I'll likely invest in a new receiver.
bolmsted is offline  
post #104 of 494 Old 02-23-2008, 10:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnolivos View Post

Thanks for the response. Do you know if (with the PS3) I can output the audio over Optical while outputting video over HDMI? My Toshiba A3 allows me to do that... need to make sure!

I don't own a PS3. But, I can't imagine that would be a problem. The digital audio outputs are always active on every player I am familiar with. You don't have to do anything to enable them.
BIslander is online now  
post #105 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 08:20 AM
Member
 
jdgjohn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Binghamton, New York
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would you know if the Pasonic DMP BD-50 will have 7.1 channel analog connections? According to this chart it does. However with the Master Blu-ray player list the player has 5.1 analog connections. Which list is correct? I am hoping to have all High Def. formats through analog so as not to have to upgrade my receiver.

jdgjohn
jdgjohn is offline  
post #106 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 08:31 AM
Advanced Member
 
tvine2000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: vermont
Posts: 820
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanSheller View Post

And both the Panasonic BD30 and the Denon 2500 have the LFE issue, right?

your right on the panny bd30,but the bd 50 won't have that issue.
the denon ...no clue
tvine2000 is offline  
post #107 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 09:15 AM
Member
 
kaysonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
First of all, WOW! I really appreciate the effort you went to on this.

The other website (co.uk) shows the Panny BD50 as only having 5.1 analog outs and then 2 stereo outs. There was another thread on this that never came to a real conclusion. Have you been able to confirm it either way--this is the determining factor of which player I purchase because I can't afford to replace my existing AV receiver that is 7.1.

Also does anyone have a release date for the Panasonic BD50?
kaysonb is offline  
post #108 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 06:29 PM
Member
 
joelsfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
having a liitle difficulty understanding the matrix. am i reading this correctly when it states that the panny dmp bd50 when it comes out will internally decode and output hd audio codecs via analog?
joelsfla is offline  
post #109 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 07:04 PM
Member
 
fickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Around Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelsfla View Post

having a liitle difficulty understanding the matrix. am i reading this correctly when it states that the panny dmp bd50 when it comes out will internally decode and output hd audio codecs via analog?

correct me if i am wrong guys, but it will see the type of audio, push it to a device (normally reciever) and have that 'other device' do the decoding.

from what i can tell, its more expensive (based on that matrix) to buy a device that can decode onboard, than one that can stream / push
fickle is offline  
post #110 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 07:22 PM
Member
 
joelsfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
fickle

but it would allow me to get a little more life out or my receiver that does not have a decoder in it. trying to put off that upgrade as long as possible. also i dont like the fact you would have to run the receiver at all times to watch blurays. unless i want to add a switch as well. thats what im getting at
joelsfla is offline  
post #111 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 07:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BIslander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 8,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 92 Post(s)
Liked: 135
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelsfla View Post

having a liitle difficulty understanding the matrix. am i reading this correctly when it states that the panny dmp bd50 when it comes out will internally decode and output hd audio codecs via analog?

The BD50 will handle high bit rate audio all three ways - bitstream to an appropriate AVR, decode internally and output PCM over HDMI, or decode internally and output over multichannel analog.
BIslander is online now  
post #112 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 08:12 PM
Member
 
joelsfla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks B
If that is the case then it looks to be the best buy on the market to date. I will return the bd30 i purchased to buy this one when it comes out.
joelsfla is offline  
post #113 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 08:33 PM
Member
 
fickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Around Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joelsfla View Post

fickle

but it would allow me to get a little more life out or my receiver that does not have a decoder in it. trying to put off that upgrade as long as possible. also i dont like the fact you would have to run the receiver at all times to watch blurays. unless i want to add a switch as well. thats what im getting at

i guess its a matter of preference. for me, cost is a HUGE issue and finally bit the bullet and got me a Denon 3808CI reciever. this of course allows me to decode all / most of audio formats out there. but then, it allows me to purchase a device that will stream those formats, which drives the cost down for that particular appliance. if your BR player already have 7.1 output and you already own that many speakers and able to directly plug-in those speakers to your BR device, then you should be sorted. however, if you dont, then having that reciever that can do it maybe your only solution in the end.

yes, having the reciever on all the time just to watch your desired format at its best is a cost which you have to be willing to partake.

in my case, i have a xb360 / foxtel iQ (cable box) / dvd player all hooked up to my reciver and my reciever HAS to be on for me to play any of those devices. having said that, i find (personal preference) that the look and feel of watching a movie or listening to music sounds better going through my reciever.

its a tough call. just justify the pro's & conn's i guess

HTH
fickle is offline  
post #114 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 08:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
What are you guys talking about? No matter what audio decoding method you choose to use from your Player, you will NEED a receiver. Sometimes needed to decode, but ALWAYS needed to amplify. NO?

The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here, and here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #115 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 08:39 PM
Member
 
fickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Around Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fickle View Post

correct me if i am wrong guys, but it will see the type of audio, push it to a device (normally reciever) and have that 'other device' do the decoding.

from what i can tell, its more expensive (based on that matrix) to buy a device that can decode onboard, than one that can stream / push

sorry guys, i thought i was looking at the 50 when in fact i was looking at the 30. appologize for the miss communication i may have caused
fickle is offline  
post #116 of 494 Old 02-24-2008, 08:44 PM
Member
 
fickle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Around Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gnolivos View Post

What are you guys talking about? No matter what audio decoding method you choose to use from your Player, you will NEED a receiver. Sometimes needed to decode, but ALWAYS needed to amplify. NO?

i would think that is matter of preference as well. if some are happy with their current setup, then so be-it. some will have BR devices hooked up directly to the TV which have no amplification (or at least a minor one)
fickle is offline  
post #117 of 494 Old 02-26-2008, 02:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
eric.exe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 2,344
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 15
eric.exe is offline  
post #118 of 494 Old 02-26-2008, 05:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
gnolivos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: OHIO, USA
Posts: 1,750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Oh, I see... sorry, I was thinking about a Projector setup like mine

Quote:
Originally Posted by fickle View Post

i would think that is matter of preference as well. if some are happy with their current setup, then so be-it. some will have BR devices hooked up directly to the TV which have no amplification (or at least a minor one)


The Moderno Theatre! Slideshow (here, and here!)
Pixar screenplay slideshows here!
gnolivos is offline  
post #119 of 494 Old 02-26-2008, 06:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
FrancescoP's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 1,174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Key features of the Sony BDP-S350:

Supports BonusView, which means it is Profile 1.1 compliant
BD-Live ready, which means it can gain BD-Live capability with a firmware update
Ethernet port for firmware upgrades
Supports 1080p output at both 24 and 60 frames per second
Onboard decoding for Dolby Digital Plus and Dolby TrueHD
Bitstream output for Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio
About $400 list price, scheduled to come out this summer

Step-up features on the BDP-S550

Onboard decoding for DTS-HD High Resolution and DTS-HD Master Audio
7.1 analog outputs
1GB local storage
Profile 2.0 compliant
About $500 list price, scheduled to come out in the fall

http://www.news.com/8301-10784_3-9877956-7.html
FrancescoP is offline  
post #120 of 494 Old 02-26-2008, 09:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tleavit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Vancouver, Wa
Posts: 1,476
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 34
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrancescoP View Post

Key features of the Sony BDP-S350:

Supports BonusView, which means it is Profile 1.1 compliant
BD-Live ready, which means it can gain BD-Live capability with a firmware update
Ethernet port for firmware upgrades
Supports 1080p output at both 24 and 60 frames per second
Onboard decoding for Dolby Digital Plus and Dolby TrueHD
Bitstream output for Dolby TrueHD and DTS-HD Master Audio
About $400 list price, scheduled to come out this summer

Step-up features on the BDP-S550

Onboard decoding for DTS-HD High Resolution and DTS-HD Master Audio
7.1 analog outputs
1GB local storage
Profile 2.0 compliant
About $500 list price, scheduled to come out in the fall

http://www.news.com/8301-10784_3-9877956-7.html


Wow nice, maybe this will replace my PS3!

"Any sufficiently advanced technology is indistinguishable from magic" -Arthur C. Clarke
tleavit is offline  
Closed Thread Blu-ray Players

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off