Numinus Star Panels - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 05-15-2008, 08:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ksharp4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I ordered some numinus star panels and I am waiting for them to be made. I don't believe they are dimmable so wondering what people would suggest using for on/off switch. I would like to use my MX3000 remote to turn on/off but cannot find any non dimmable switch that works off of IR. Any suggestions? Can I use a IR dimmer switch and just not use the dimmer part?

I don't want to damage the panels so your suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks
ksharp4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 05-15-2008, 09:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You can also get an IR appliance switch. They don't do the dimming that might be a problem. On the other hand, I don't know much about the Numinus panel, but if it is just a LED to some fibers, you could try the dimming. It might work. If there is a circuit involved though, it might be a problem.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 05-16-2008, 12:17 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ksharp4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cameron View Post

You can also get an IR appliance switch. They don't do the dimming that might be a problem. On the other hand, I don't know much about the Numinus panel, but if it is just a LED to some fibers, you could try the dimming. It might work. If there is a circuit involved though, it might be a problem.

Thanks!! Do you know a good place to get one of these IR appliance switches?
ksharp4 is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 05-19-2008, 12:41 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Lisalynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Encinitas, CA
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you using a lighting control system?

Lisa Lynn
Star Girl
Lisalynn is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 05-19-2008, 03:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
http://www.next.gr/shop/shop.php?c=2..._Remote_Switch

That is a cheap DIY solution.

You can also get something that converts IR to whatever you are using. For example, you can get an IR to Insteon converter with an Insteon appliance module.

You can check some of this stuff out at www.smarthome.com

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 05-19-2008, 08:21 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ksharp4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisalynn View Post

Are you using a lighting control system?

Lisa--I do have a grafik eye but would be difficult to wire the star panels to that.
ksharp4 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 05-19-2008, 09:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Lisalynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Encinitas, CA
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you can... you can set the zone to an on/off setting (first on/last off) that will control the 120 volt outlet that the StarTiles plug into...

Lisa Lynn
Star Girl
Lisalynn is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 05-21-2008, 10:57 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ksharp4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lisalynn View Post

If you can... you can set the zone to an on/off setting (first on/last off) that will control the 120 volt outlet that the StarTiles plug into...

Sorry my Grafik eye is fully subsribed and quite frankly too far away from the panels so it is out. Do you have any other suggstions Lisalynn?

Thanks
ksharp4 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 05-22-2008, 05:37 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Lisalynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Encinitas, CA
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Numinus is coming out with remote control startiles this summer... they have on/off control as well as twinkle speed, brightness, amplitude of twinkle.... you could be the first...

Lisa Lynn
Star Girl
Lisalynn is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 05-29-2008, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ksharp4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Lisalynn--I already ordered my panel so if you can hold off I would prefer the bells and whistles you are talking about.
ksharp4 is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 05-30-2008, 10:15 AM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
ksharp4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Leesburg, VA
Posts: 402
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Thanks Lisalynn. It is great that you guys are soooo flexible and are adding this upgrade to my order. It is much appreciated.
ksharp4 is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 05-30-2008, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Cameron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kaysville, UT
Posts: 2,954
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hopefully they do that for you.

-- Well I have really blown my budget now. --
Cameron is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 06-03-2008, 10:28 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Lisalynn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Encinitas, CA
Posts: 258
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No problem Ken!

Lisa Lynn
Star Girl
Lisalynn is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 06-03-2008, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
chinadog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 5,479
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
So let me chime in that I have the panels from Numinus and love them. I converted an existing set of ceiling cans to a switch outlet and ran the panels from there. Worked great. I used a X10 dimmer for mine and just use it in on/off mode (Lisa, it does turn all the way off. I assume the existing voltage on the line just isn't high enough to drive the LEDs - dunno).

Anyway, if yoo go X10, you can also use am IR543 from smarthome (product number 4040 - around 20.00) and that will convert IR on/off signals to X10 and that will work with your remote.

Pictures in my thread and albums in my sig. Panels are on the last page or two (index not updated - been busy).

Bud
chinadog is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off