Complete 130" Home Theater for under $2,000, If I can do it, so can you! - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 156 Old 05-21-2009, 09:49 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hanesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twin Citiesville, MN
Posts: 2,776
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeEnterprise View Post

we often get pretty animated when playing, and also one of the reasons I had my wife design the house to have the maximum ceiling height in the "theater" area of the basement.

Dude ... when you start planning your house around your gaming that's some serious gaming!!

Maybe I should give this gaming thing another look ...

Do you reckon the games have improved much since Asteroids and Pac Man?

The Un-Theater Un-Build
_________________________________
State Certified Alcohol Disposal Expert.

 

hanesian is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 156 Old 05-21-2009, 11:30 AM
Newbie
 
telugodu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks a lot for your detailed explanation.
My house is still in digging stage.. will keep you posted

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeEnterprise View Post

Oh, and another use for your rca video/stereo wires from your receiver to your seating area. Makes for a great place to hook up your old video game systems, with corded controllers. I can easily hook up my old nintendo 64, or playstation 2 and still sit in my theater seats and the cords reach fine. That coupled with a set of headphones, and you have a pretty cool gaming system.


Or just hook up your laptop and use mame... That works well too!

Did you know that n64 actually resizes to fit 16:9... I didn't either until I hooked it up. Mario kart is pretty cool on the huge screen! Course maybe its my onkyo 606 that is doing the conversion... I'm not sure...

telugodu is offline  
post #93 of 156 Old 05-21-2009, 09:58 PM
Member
 
auburnfan23's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 54
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome theater room and game room, mine still needs a lot of work..
auburnfan23 is offline  
post #94 of 156 Old 05-22-2009, 01:05 PM
Member
 
moprint's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 138
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice set up Free. I see you also enjoy marine aquariums, another costly hobby lol. Is that a 75 gallon or 90? I am in the planing stages for my basement and hope to have a 180 gallon in wall on one wall of my theater/game room. Cheers
moprint is offline  
post #95 of 156 Old 05-23-2009, 07:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hanesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twin Citiesville, MN
Posts: 2,776
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Free -

When you have a minute between Memorializing this Holiday weekend please check out what that duct product was you mentioned in my thread. I'm still curious to learn more about that.

Well, and also what an old flathead with tri-power is, but I'll settle for what the aluminum foil coated duct product is.

The Un-Theater Un-Build
_________________________________
State Certified Alcohol Disposal Expert.

 

hanesian is offline  
post #96 of 156 Old 05-24-2009, 04:50 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hanesian View Post

Free -

When you have a minute between Memorializing this Holiday weekend please check out what that duct product was you mentioned in my thread. I'm still curious to learn more about that.

Well, and also what an old flathead with tri-power is, but I'll settle for what the aluminum foil coated duct product is.

Thermopan

http://www.thermopan.com/products_thermopan.htm

See your thread for my free offer...
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #97 of 156 Old 05-24-2009, 04:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by moprint View Post

Very nice set up Free. I see you also enjoy marine aquariums, another costly hobby lol. Is that a 75 gallon or 90? I am in the planing stages for my basement and hope to have a 180 gallon in wall on one wall of my theater/game room. Cheers



Mine is only a 46 gallon... But, with my sump filter it has about 50 gallons total. I've been doing salt water since 95, and really enjoy it.

dr.fosters and smith is the best place I've found for my live aquaria needs.

I did my system over a long time to save costs.
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #98 of 156 Old 05-24-2009, 04:56 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by hanesian View Post

Dude ... when you start planning your house around your gaming that's some serious gaming!!

Maybe I should give this gaming thing another look ...

Do you reckon the games have improved much since Asteroids and Pac Man?

You really should go ahead and put in a wii at least. Great party games, and the controller is very easy to use, even for people that have never used it, unlike most of the other game systems, where you need to know a wierd combination of button presses just to get the guy on screen to move...

We have family bowling tournaments and play tennis a lot. (another reason for the large space... four player tennis can get scary!)
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #99 of 156 Old 05-24-2009, 06:44 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hanesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twin Citiesville, MN
Posts: 2,776
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeEnterprise View Post

Thermopan

http://www.thermopan.com/products_thermopan.htm

See your thread for my free offer...

Thanks, man. I'll look into it and get back to you! Appreciate it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeEnterprise View Post

You really should go ahead and put in a wii at least. Great party games, and the controller is very easy to use, even for people that have never used it, unlike most of the other game systems, where you need to know a wierd combination of button presses just to get the guy on screen to move...

We have family bowling tournaments and play tennis a lot. (another reason for the large space... four player tennis can get scary!)

Yeah, the wii is on my radar screen once I finish the HT, if by some miracle all of my kids are not grown and out of the house by the time I finish!!

The Un-Theater Un-Build
_________________________________
State Certified Alcohol Disposal Expert.

 

hanesian is offline  
post #100 of 156 Old 06-24-2009, 09:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I hope you all have a hookup for your pc to your theater...


gymkhana two is out on youtube in HD...



http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HQ7R_buZPSo
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #101 of 156 Old 06-24-2009, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
jewing1043's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: CT, USA
Posts: 726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
is it me or does the image on the screen look stretched????

Just wish more people could see and play in True HD

Console and Format Nuetral

psn - jimmyz
jewing1043 is offline  
post #102 of 156 Old 06-25-2009, 12:44 PM
Newbie
 
telugodu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Free,
Thanks for your great advice.

I would like to bother you with few more questions

1. Your link to screen vendor is not working. Can you please provide me with correct link?

2. Is your projector mount attached to drywall or it it attached to joist?

Have a great day,
Thanks,
T
telugodu is offline  
post #103 of 156 Old 06-26-2009, 05:40 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I got my screen from "shoppingdeals" (ebay user name)

He made mine custom to the exact size I wanted, I waited to order it until I had my projector mounted and then I measured the maximum size and ordered it that way...

I put a board between my ceiling rafters to mount the projector mount too. But, it has drywall covering it. You can mount to drywall with the proper hardware, I just wanted mine to be very stable.
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #104 of 156 Old 07-13-2009, 04:23 PM
Newbie
 
telugodu's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for the prompt reply as always...

My house is in pre-drywall stage now.. getting ready to run the wires...

planning a 7.1 channel HT... already bought in-wall speakers

14 guage speaker wire from monoprice ...
and 50 ft hdmi cable from mono price too...


Did you use ties or some kind of clips to install the speaker wires in the frame?

Thanks,
T

did
telugodu is offline  
post #105 of 156 Old 07-16-2009, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Naa, I ran them loose behind the wall studs (through the studs in some areas to keep them from hitting stuff).

I put in boxes at each speaker location that I took back out when I cut the holes for the speakers, as I didn't have my speakers when I wired it all up.

Just make sure it is secure, the last thing you want is for your wire to fall down the wall, after the drywall is installed... DOH! I put a screw in and tied my wire to that.
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #106 of 156 Old 12-28-2009, 06:49 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well... My five remotes are starting to get on my nerves.

I use my onkyo remote to control my direct tv for channel changing, ect.

But, I still have to use the mitsi projector remote to turn on the projector, and then my vhs/dvd remote to watch media.

And it is a pain. I'm looking at the harmony 700 remote, but $150 seems a bit steep as I am sure I will end up dropping it at some point...

Anyone have any ideas on inexpensive remote controls that will run this system?
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #107 of 156 Old 12-28-2009, 10:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
nexus99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 544
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have seen the Harmony One for sale at 99 bucks. That is the one I use and it works very well.
nexus99 is offline  
post #108 of 156 Old 12-28-2009, 01:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
kezug's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: NW Indiana
Posts: 2,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by nexus99 View Post

I have seen the Harmony One for sale at 99 bucks. That is the one I use and it works very well.

What? When and where?
kezug is offline  
post #109 of 156 Old 12-29-2009, 06:37 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Yeah, I would love one of those for that price. The cheapest I have found is the 890 refurbed on Amazon for $119...
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #110 of 156 Old 12-29-2009, 08:16 PM
Newbie
 
banderson16's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by FreeEnterprise View Post

You really should go ahead and put in a wii at least. Great party games, and the controller is very easy to use, even for people that have never used it, unlike most of the other game systems, where you need to know a wierd combination of button presses just to get the guy on screen to move...

We have family bowling tournaments and play tennis a lot. (another reason for the large space... four player tennis can get scary!)

We love our Wii! Question. We do not have our Wii hooked up downstairs in the media room now that it is ceiling mounted. Before it was mounted, we just plugged it right into the projector. Now that we have the projector mounted on the ceiling, I honestly have no idea how to get the Wii hooked up through it. Our receiver is an older Denon, and I know we need to upgrade (will be doing that in Feb). Not sure how to trouble shoot, as I am not the most tech savy when it comes to audio/video equipment. I really want to play it on the 92" screen!
banderson16 is offline  
post #111 of 156 Old 12-31-2009, 06:58 AM
Newbie
 
habibihany's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
yea i highly recommend a harmony remote. they are completely worth every penny. you don't really need to spend the money for a one or 900. but you can get a 670 for like $77. honestly the harmony has the same software for all the remotes but they change them for anesthetic reasons and easier buttons and newer technology. i've got a harmony for almost every room... worth every penny. if you want a used one i can prolly sell you one of mine... just PM me...


BTW: ive been lookin for a while but i this is my first post!!!
habibihany is offline  
post #112 of 156 Old 01-04-2010, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by banderson16 View Post

We love our Wii! Question. We do not have our Wii hooked up downstairs in the media room now that it is ceiling mounted. Before it was mounted, we just plugged it right into the projector. Now that we have the projector mounted on the ceiling, I honestly have no idea how to get the Wii hooked up through it. Our receiver is an older Denon, and I know we need to upgrade (will be doing that in Feb). Not sure how to trouble shoot, as I am not the most tech savy when it comes to audio/video equipment. I really want to play it on the 92" screen!

How do you get video to your projector now?

If you are just using the video out of your vcr/dvd player then run your wii into the extra input (if it has one) and pick that input on your vcr/dvd and presto.

If you don't have any inputs then you need a receiver that has video capablities. You can see the one I use on page one, it has 4 HDMI inputs and I run my wii into the component input and my receiver upconverts the signal to 1080, which looks a lot better than the standard wii signal, but it underscales a bit...
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #113 of 156 Old 01-04-2010, 11:36 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Oh, and I broke my record...

We went to see Avatar over the holiday... (in 3d at least). It was pretty cool, but now I have been to the "real" theater once since I put in mine.


We had a Harry Potter marathon over the holiday and watched in order all of the films. It was very fun, and the new one is very good. (The thunder sounded so real!)
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #114 of 156 Old 01-25-2010, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
Youg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice place. And you got a veray nice place for the cash put.

How big is you basement? Seems huge from the pic.

Loves it!
Youg is offline  
post #115 of 156 Old 02-09-2010, 08:36 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hanesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twin Citiesville, MN
Posts: 2,776
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Free,

Can't let this thread fall too far into oblivion while you're busy playing and such instead of posting, so here's a question for you:

It sounds like you're happy with your screen for the money it cost, and it sure looks good. Have you had any issues with younger kids poking it or getting it dirty with their grubby little hands?

The Un-Theater Un-Build
_________________________________
State Certified Alcohol Disposal Expert.

 

hanesian is offline  
post #116 of 156 Old 02-09-2010, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Naa, no issues at all. But, I put that cabinet in front of it to keep the kids off the screen. So far, no one (cept a batty old uncle) have put their grubby hands on it.

It works great, and the picture is amazing. I even flew a r/c helicopter into it a few times, when I was learning to fly a few months back. It is a tough screen!

We had a super bowl party and I was playing pinball when the who started playing pinball wizard at halftime... I thought it was funny, till my daughter beat me...




youg. My basement is pretty big, I finished around 2,000 square feet.
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #117 of 156 Old 05-03-2010, 09:05 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well...

You know how everything is going all hunky dory and all of a sudden you realize your Jethro Bodine ciphering was a bit off...

Last week, my wife said. (don't tell hanesian)

"I smell mold"...



NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!




So I carefully removed the boards around the door and peeked around...

everything was dry...

But the grout around my tile in front of the closed door was wet...

I had already partially removed the door back in January to get caulk under the door... But, I couldn't get the door all the way out to caulk the inside.

And it was definitely moldy. I bleached it, and was getting ready to bust it out, when my wife said I should "Call Daddy, he would know what to do".

She is so cute.

So I went over to his house and borrowed his hand held tile saw and cut in front of the door.

When I first installed the tile, I realized that the door wasn't caulked and using my ciphering ability, I figured that if I just filled it full of grout, it would seal it up when it dried. (it works in showers I figured...)...


Yeah, uh. No...

It didn't work. Water under your tile is bad. It will mold.

Plus, when my house was built, they cut across the concrete with the saw for expansion joints, and they put one right under the door... Which wasn't sealed in any way. And it actually runs downhill back INSIDE the house...

I'm pretty sure the Clampetts did my concrete work too...



So, I caulked it really well, and cleaned out the cut hole, and caulked that as well...

It seems to be fine because it poured all weekend and no more water came inside.

I poured some bleach on the grout and let it sink underneath the hole in the grout that I made to get it underneath, and that seems to have worked. I also used some spray that is suppost to keep mold from coming back.

but, do you guys have any other tips?...

I almost feel like just busting up the tile to be sure... As it is a small area and wouldn't be that hard to replace.

As it is now, I can just put a piece of wood over the area that I cut out easily.
FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #118 of 156 Old 05-03-2010, 10:42 AM
AVS Special Member
 
hanesian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Twin Citiesville, MN
Posts: 2,776
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 22


Sorry ... I still tend to react like that anytime I hear the "M" word.



You know what I'm going to say, as I'm the guy who just about rebuilt half his bloody house to eradicate mold: I wouldn't take any shortcuts with known mold, especially when it seems to be localized with a known (and fixable) cause. I'd do what I needed to do to remove the tile & perhaps the door frame until I could clearly see exactly how far the mold extends.

Until you do that you are really just guessing - and hoping - that it was all limited to the small area you now see. Otherwise the mold is likely to become active and grow as and when conditions are right - which could be frequent unless you are sure you've got that whole area properly sealed off. Then you may need to replace some of the tile or subfloor or other material if the mold is established. Contrary to popular opinion, bleach alone is not a cure for mold ... although it can mask it and temporarily reduce the odor. But it doesn't eliminate it.

Sucks, I know, but at least you seem to be only dealing with a very localized area so maybe it won't be too bad. Hopefully. Fingers crossed.

Count your blessings ... you're not me!

The Un-Theater Un-Build
_________________________________
State Certified Alcohol Disposal Expert.

 

hanesian is offline  
post #119 of 156 Old 11-17-2010, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, I tore up the tile months back, and since I just made a huge mess in my basement installing a shower... I figured I might as well put in the tile since I was in the worker mode.

I put in grout last night so I am almost done!

I can't believe how much dust one of these saws creates!



After about 4 hours of cut, wait till you can breath in room again, cut, wait, cut, wait, ect.



Then I installed the shower base, and walls, and cut the hole for the plumbing. (nice circle cutting tool for my dremel, helped a ton)



Here is the tile almost done.



And installed

FreeEnterprise is offline  
post #120 of 156 Old 12-29-2010, 07:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
FreeEnterprise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 197
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Made some minor changes so I figured it was time for an update...

For Christmas Santa brought me a credit card bill, and a new playstation 3 with Gran Turismo 5 with a logitec wireless steering wheel with shock.

Truly Amazing, I now realize I should have gotten a blueray player sooner... The picture is amazing, and the 7.1 surround is even better.

My GT5 user name is "FASTRMASTR" if you want to add me to your list of online players.



Playing on a 130 inch screen often tricks you into thinking you are really driving the car... Only bad thing is I keep trying to jump curbs on my way to work. (course I used to dodge banana peels, but that is a different story)

I moved my seats up closer to the screen to make room for my racing track which I get out at Christmas time, and it still has enough room for wii tennis, so I think we will end up leaving it in this position.



and I picked up a few new cars for Christmas, as radio shack is blowing them out again... (Sadly they didn't make Xmods this year...)



yes, I can run all 9 at the same time... And it is a blast.
FreeEnterprise is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off