APC H15 Power Conditioner - review - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 298 Old 03-27-2009, 02:06 PM
Member
 
Nolan K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Richmond, B.C., CANADA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DoingOK & Layd Dly,

How did the painting turn out? Any final pics?
Nolan K is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 298 Old 03-27-2009, 05:03 PM
Senior Member
 
DoingOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Smithfield, Virginia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I'm masking the internals right now. It's been raining all day so I spent the time setting up my listening room after I had to empty it for repainting. Now I'm back to finishing off this H15.
DoingOK is offline  
post #93 of 298 Old 03-27-2009, 05:14 PM
Member
 
sbwoodside's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tilallr1 View Post

I also am looking to get a Power Conditioner with Battery Backup, but mostly because I have a front projector. The APC H series seem to simply clean the power for the each item plugged it, to a maximum wattage of power the wall plug can provide. But the APC J battery backup seems to only provide enough juice for 1 or 2 pieces of equipement. Unless you go to the S which provide the same power as the H series. Am I correct in assuming that if I go say get the APC J 600 watt Power Conditioner with Battery Backup, all I could plug in is items the sum up to 600 watt consumption?

Why do you want a battery backup. "simply clean the power" in the case of H15 means: guarantee voltage is within tolerance of 120V, remove noise from the AC (more like a proper sine wave), filter electromagnetic interference, and protect from surges up to and including lightning, also eliminate ground loops if you have them.

You only need a batter backup in the case where you want to continue operating when the power goes out completely ... You're going to pay a lot extra for that.

Anyway, as for the H15, the 15 = 1500W, which is the normal power consumption it can handle. You add up your wattage like you say. However they also note that some amps, e.g., don't really consume the wattage that they claim.
sbwoodside is offline  
post #94 of 298 Old 03-27-2009, 07:19 PM
Senior Member
 
DoingOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Smithfield, Virginia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Need to spray one more coat on the top cover and then it should be good to go:

DoingOK is offline  
post #95 of 298 Old 03-27-2009, 11:22 PM
Member
 
Nolan K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Richmond, B.C., CANADA
Posts: 58
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice job. Looks like I have another thing to add to my to do list.
Nolan K is offline  
post #96 of 298 Old 03-28-2009, 04:49 PM
Member
 
GOOCHY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What kind of paint did you end up using?
GOOCHY is offline  
post #97 of 298 Old 03-28-2009, 06:04 PM
Senior Member
 
DoingOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Smithfield, Virginia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Rustoleum fine texture satin black. Looks real good and like it came from the factory. The flash makes the finish not look consistent.....it actually came out very even.

DoingOK is offline  
post #98 of 298 Old 03-29-2009, 08:38 AM
Newbie
 
jscar1986's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just purchased this unit and was wondering whether it should be left on even when not using electronic equipment?

Thanks in advance....
jscar1986 is offline  
post #99 of 298 Old 03-29-2009, 09:45 AM
Member
 
steppinrazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: 61234
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
it shouldn't be an issue to leave it on...The unit doesn't really build up any heat, and the current draw w/ devices off should be minimal...
I know I haven't turned off mine since I hooked it up
steppinrazer is offline  
post #100 of 298 Old 04-03-2009, 03:22 PM
Member
 
GOOCHY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just picked one of these up today and will be painting it like DoingOK did. Thanks for the inspiration.

Did you have to tape off the APC logo and display panel?
GOOCHY is offline  
post #101 of 298 Old 04-04-2009, 03:07 PM
Member
 
briaetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 29
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just bought one. Had the rattle on the inside. Apc sent me a brand new one, got it a couple of days later. nice product.
briaetz is offline  
post #102 of 298 Old 04-06-2009, 05:24 AM
Member
 
Scawt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice work on the paint job! I'll eventually do the same thing to my cheapo silver H15
Scawt is offline  
post #103 of 298 Old 04-06-2009, 05:55 AM
Senior Member
 
tildawn10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys... I also just bought mind and thus far am impressed. I am in the middle of upgrading my entire system andI haven't yet bought a new sub but do any of you have any trouble blowing or tripping fuses as mentioned in the audioholics review when your sub is connected the APC?
tildawn10 is offline  
post #104 of 298 Old 04-06-2009, 05:56 AM
Senior Member
 
chpwaman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 364
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOOCHY View Post

I just picked one of these up today and will be painting it like DoingOK did. Thanks for the inspiration.

Did you have to tape off the APC logo and display panel?

Check out his pics on page 3...you'll see that the display panel doesn't need to be taped off once it is taken apart and you can see what he did with the APC logo (look closely at the towel).
chpwaman is offline  
post #105 of 298 Old 04-06-2009, 06:33 AM
Member
 
Scawt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 121
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tildawn10 View Post

do any of you have any trouble blowing or tripping fuses as mentioned in the audioholics review when your sub is connected the APC?

I haven't had any issues yet. I'm using mine with a Pioneer SC-07 and a Klipsch THX sub amp.
Scawt is offline  
post #106 of 298 Old 04-06-2009, 12:34 PM
Senior Member
 
DoingOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Smithfield, Virginia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I have a CD Player, Emotiva RPA-2, Emotiva RSP-2 and Epik Vanquish sub plugged in. Even at very loud levels, I rarely exceed 3.5 amps and haven't blown any fuses yet.
DoingOK is offline  
post #107 of 298 Old 04-08-2009, 12:34 PM
Member
 
Alkaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just ordered the H15 and wanted to paint it black. For those of you that painted it had a few questions since I've never done this before.

I think someone suggested this product.
http://www.rustoleum.com/Product.asp...t_id=541&SBL=5

1. Is the face panel metal or plastic? Can can this be used on plastic as well?
2. Do you have to sand both the metal and plastic before applying?
3. How many coats do I need? No priming required?
Alkaar is offline  
post #108 of 298 Old 04-08-2009, 12:38 PM
Member
 
GOOCHY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine just showed up today and I'm painting tonight. The face plate is metal and I don't think I'm going to need to sand it at all. I'm just going to wipe down with some alcohol.
GOOCHY is offline  
post #109 of 298 Old 04-08-2009, 01:59 PM
Senior Member
 
DoingOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Smithfield, Virginia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alkaar View Post

Just ordered the H15 and wanted to paint it black. For those of you that painted it had a few questions since I've never done this before.

I think someone suggested this product.
http://www.rustoleum.com/Product.asp...t_id=541&SBL=5

1. Is the face panel metal or plastic? Can can this be used on plastic as well?
2. Do you have to sand both the metal and plastic before applying?
3. How many coats do I need? No priming required?

I used the Rustoleum fine texture black paint and it looks very nice. Nice high-end finish to it.
http://www.flecto.com/product.asp?fr...ct_id=20&SBL=1

I just cleaned the parts real good and sprayed two even coats. No primer required.
DoingOK is offline  
post #110 of 298 Old 04-08-2009, 02:27 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoingOK View Post

I used the Rustoleum fine texture black paint and it looks very nice. Nice high-end finish to it.
http://www.flecto.com/product.asp?fr...ct_id=20&SBL=1

I just cleaned the parts real good and sprayed two even coats. No primer required.

that's a nice job... i think i have my next "rainy weekend project" planned out...

probably do the front in gloss though to mimic the rest of my components though... well, other than the stupid silver fios box...

edit: how much of a pita was it to tape off the internals?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #111 of 298 Old 04-08-2009, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
DoingOK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Smithfield, Virginia
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccotenj View Post

that's a nice job... i think i have my next "rainy weekend project" planned out...

probably do the front in gloss though to mimic the rest of my components though... well, other than the stupid silver fios box...

edit: how much of a pita was it to tape off the internals?

Not too bad. Tricky to get the tape past components to cover the vented sides.
DoingOK is offline  
post #112 of 298 Old 04-08-2009, 02:38 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoingOK View Post

Not too bad. Tricky to get the tape past components to cover the vented sides.

ok cool... my wife has small fingers, i'll press her into service to get into the tight places...

what size/type tape? i was thinking the blue painters tape would work ok to cover the vents.

any other little things to look for or be extra careful with along the way?

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #113 of 298 Old 04-08-2009, 02:55 PM
Member
 
Alkaar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Syosset, NY
Posts: 109
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I read in another forum someone made a custom piece of cardboard to bend around to block the components. Not sure how feasible that is as I haven't got the H15 yet.
Alkaar is offline  
post #114 of 298 Old 04-08-2009, 03:13 PM
AVS Addicted Member
 
ccotenj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the toxic waste dumps of new jersey
Posts: 21,915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 90
i'm thinking i can just cover the top (carefully) with any kind of covering that the paint won't soak through and seal off the edges real well... it shouldn't be taking a direct hit from the can anyway... assuming i don't have an "oops" moment along the way which is not always a safe assumption...

- chris

 

my build thread - updated 8-20-12 - new seating installed and projector isolation solution

 

http://www.avsforum.com/t/1332917/ccotenj-finally-gets-a-projector

ccotenj is offline  
post #115 of 298 Old 04-08-2009, 07:43 PM
Member
 
GOOCHY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alkaar View Post

I read in another forum someone made a custom piece of cardboard to bend around to block the components. Not sure how feasible that is as I haven't got the H15 yet.

I just painted my this evening and that's how I did it. I just custom cut some cardboard pieces to fit in between the side of the unit and the motherboard. The pieces then folded over to cover the board from being exposed to paint or any other particles. I taped it down with some painters tape and I was off and running.

I used a satin finish paint and it has come out very evenly. Looks great...

I'll post pictures when I re-assemble tomorrow evening after work.
GOOCHY is offline  
post #116 of 298 Old 04-10-2009, 06:12 AM
Member
 
GOOCHY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I got it painted and re-assembled. Looks like it came from the factory this way.

Oh, and the MFW-15 showed up today too! Temp. placement pending my longer cable showing up...
LL
LL
LL
GOOCHY is offline  
post #117 of 298 Old 04-10-2009, 06:39 AM
Senior Member
 
tildawn10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GOOCHY View Post

I got it painted and re-assembled. Looks like it came from the factory this way.

Oh, and the MFW-15 showed up today too! Temp. placement pending my longer cable showing up...

Looks great I am going to do the same. Very nice theater as well. What is the brand/model of your equipment rack?
tildawn10 is offline  
post #118 of 298 Old 04-10-2009, 08:57 AM
Member
 
GOOCHY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Iowa
Posts: 154
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tildawn10 View Post

Looks great I am going to do the same. Very nice theater as well. What is the brand/model of your equipment rack?

Lovan Affiniti -

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000OOLBW8
GOOCHY is offline  
post #119 of 298 Old 04-10-2009, 11:06 AM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,546
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 134
Question for the APC owners, does this void the warranty by painting it?
JChin is offline  
post #120 of 298 Old 04-10-2009, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
tildawn10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Central Jersey
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

Question for the APC owners, does this void the warranty by painting it?

Without reading it...my guess is it would void it. If nothing else there is probably a risk that if not taped off properly you could damage some of the inner components.
tildawn10 is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off