Making Concrete Bar Tops - Page 7 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #181 of 191 Old 03-14-2013, 11:29 AM
Member
 
Steelkilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
good luck with your tops. By far this thread and the videos posted on www.concreteexchange.com helped me the most. These two resources alone have everything you need to know to take a really good first shot.
Steelkilt is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #182 of 191 Old 03-25-2013, 07:28 AM
Member
 
Steelkilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well, tops are done. I had to grind/polish last weekend, when temps were sitting at 32-34 and windy...so that kind of sucked. In the end, I looked like a big, frozen trash bag, since I made my own makeshift poncho out of leftover black poly - and the mist from the waterfeed coated everything in a thin layer of ice. The whole time I was miserable; cold, wet...thinking to myself this isn't going to work. Well, the wife and I couldn't be happier how our first tops came out!. I still need to put a final urethane sealer/polish coat, but other than that these things are complete. To reiterate what others have said before me, you'll be very surprised at how much mess you can make, how heavy these things truly are - and how much you will appreciate all of that in the end when you have a hand/self-made, beautiful countertop in your home.

Thanks again to all those that have contributed to this thread before me.



Sorry, crappy camera phone photo. I'll try and get some better quality shots up soon.
Steelkilt is offline  
post #183 of 191 Old 03-25-2013, 08:15 AM
Member
 
PaulFSemicolen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Central, Indiana
Posts: 45
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
These are Fantastic! Maybe a new project of mine when I redo our kitchen ^_^
PaulFSemicolen is offline  
post #184 of 191 Old 03-25-2013, 07:08 PM
Newbie
 
disco pablo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Your counter tops look great. What kind of cabinets are those, they are great too.
disco pablo is offline  
post #185 of 191 Old 03-27-2013, 06:43 AM
Member
 
Steelkilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks - The cabinets are Ikea boxes with birch veneer opton, and the doors are the new Sofielund Walnut/Light Gray . Pulls are ikea as well.
Steelkilt is offline  
post #186 of 191 Old 03-27-2013, 12:18 PM
Member
 
dRwOOD73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Southeast PA
Posts: 134
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
This thread is so freakin full of awesome.. I'm subscribing just so I can give it a shot someday soon.. maybe this spring/summer(if it ever gets here), the kitchen has some sad ass laminates that I (or the wifey) would not miss.

Thanks for sharing all the info./experiences.. I gotta go back and check out all the links and such..

dRwOOD73 is offline  
post #187 of 191 Old 03-27-2013, 02:17 PM
Newbie
 
Vanderloop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ok to you guys that are doing your kitchens what did you do to reinforce the current cabinets? I am really worried that I will have a problem after everything is all done with them not supporting the extra 500+ pounds.
Vanderloop is offline  
post #188 of 191 Old 03-29-2013, 07:06 AM
Member
 
Steelkilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 50
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I don't think you'll need to reinforce your cabs. Just keep the top thickness reasonable (2" or so) to keep the weight down.

But I supposed all that can depend on the quality of the cabinet. Best to talk with the person/manuf. that will provide your cabs.
Steelkilt is offline  
post #189 of 191 Old 03-29-2013, 01:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Colm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 4,652
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 87
The whole top doesn't need to be 2" to get the look. There was a segment on Ask This Old House recently where they made concrete counter tops. Only the outer 3" of the top were 2" thick. The rest of the top was 1" thick. It was done by placing a 1" thick sheet of foam insulation after the first 1" of concrete was in the form and filling around the edges. Sure makes it easier to move the tops into place and works fine with existing cabinets.
Colm is offline  
post #190 of 191 Old 06-06-2014, 01:14 PM
Member
 
Oregon Chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 52
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Best video I've found re: Polishing Concrete:

 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VbUi05wD16I

Oregon Chris is offline  
post #191 of 191 Old 06-07-2014, 04:03 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctviggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,879
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Colm View Post

The whole top doesn't need to be 2" to get the look. There was a segment on Ask This Old House recently where they made concrete counter tops. Only the outer 3" of the top were 2" thick. The rest of the top was 1" thick. It was done by placing a 1" thick sheet of foam insulation after the first 1" of concrete was in the form and filling around the edges. Sure makes it easier to move the tops into place and works fine with existing cabinets.

I watched this (you can get it on their website). I thought it was interesting, but my problem with This Old House is that much of what they do isn't explained well enough for a home owner to do, or you need special tools. For instance, they used one type of concrete they sprayed into the form. Where on earth do you get a concrete sprayer? What's the exact concrete they used (It had additives to make it stronger)? Then, the second type of concrete had glass fibers in it. What's the ratio of glass fibers to concrete mix? They also used a slurry without sand (as the last step, to get rid of air bubbles on the top), so I assume that's the concrete mix without sand? Perhaps one can rent the water grinder they used. That would help a lot.

They do provide a link to a place to get supplies:

Fishstone

But you're basically on your own to figure everything out.

Bob
ctviggen is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off