Small apartment, beginner's home theater. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 44 Old 08-24-2010, 08:46 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After browsing through some of these home theater build threads I have to say I'm a bit intimidated, especially by the sheer size and scope of some of those builds. When I read http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showt...php?p=19087588 I wasn't even sure I could call this a home theater at all but I'll stick with that term because I don't know what else to call it.

As you can read in the title I am new to home theatre and quality audio. I live in a small apartment so my options are very limited but I would like to enjoy TV, games and films on a reasonable level anyway.

This is my apartment's living space:

And a newer picture:

On the pictures you can see my bed to the left, desk in the middle, my 29" Sony Trinitron to the right and my couch at the bottom.

My aim is to find a way to fit a ht in that small area. Since I am renting this apartment I am not planning on doing any (de)construction, just adding (non permanent) stuff.
I intend to replace that sd CRT TV with a high definition plasma TV. Because of the limited area size, the largest screen I can get is 42". I'm currently eyeing the Panasonic TX-P42V20 or G20.
I'm also adding an xbox360 and a PS3 to the mix for games and blu-ray.

My questions are:

* Does anyone know of a good way to get a 42" plasma in there? Seeing as I'm renting, I don't think I'm allowed to wall mount the TV in the far right corner. (As you might have noticed, the back wall is not on a 90° angle either).