To UPS or not to UPS (combine a UPS with an APC H15 power conditioner) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 08-30-2010, 09:38 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mikieboyblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi folks,

I'm new here and I just retired the 1980 cathode television and need some help regarding power conditioning and battery backup.

I replaced the TV with a Panasonic TC-P50VT25 plasma and Panasonic DMP-BDT300 BluRay player. In addition to those components, I have an older Pioneer receiver/stereo driving two floor standing Klipsch speakers and a 10 in subwoofer. There is a Wii, Cisco HD DVR cable box, a cable modem, Cisco router, and D-link wireless router. On the same circuit (15A), I have tower PC with dual monitors.

Here's my question...

I own an APC H15 power conditioner and that covers the AV equipment. I also have an APC 1500 VA UPS powering the networking equipment and computer. Would there be any advantage (added protection for my equipment) if I put an APC 1500 VA UPS inline just before the power conditioner?

Here's the diagram now:
Code:
                        > APC UPS > computer, networking
wall > APC surge arrest |
                        > APC H15 > TV, BluRay, Wii, DVR, Receiver, Sub
Is there benefit to the following diagram:

Code:
                        > APC UPS > computer, networking
wall > APC surge arrest |
                        > APC UPS > ACP H15 > TV, BluRay, Wii, DVR, ...
The first APC surge arrest just lets me split the single wall outlet as the bottom outlet is wired to a switch and the nearest additional outlet is poorly placed. (I cannot change this as I do not own the townhouse and am only renting.) There is the possibility that I might be able to rearrange things so the computer is on a separate outlet (same circuit) and I can then remove that APC surge arrest to have the following:

Code:
wall > APC UPS > computer, networking
wall > ACP H15 > TV, BluRay, Wii, DVR, ...
or

Code:
wall > APC UPS > computer, networking
wall > APC UPS > ACP H15 > TV, BluRay, Wii, DVR, ...
All suggestions are welcome and feel free to tell me if I am out in left field...

Thanks,
Mike
mikieboyblue is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-02-2010, 04:33 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,040
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 20
The only units that benefit from a UPS (more likely it's a BPS) are your STB that takes a long time to restart after even a short power outage and maybe a TV with a recycle timer.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-03-2010, 08:42 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mikieboyblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Stb?
mikieboyblue is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-03-2010, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
JChin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Mesquite Tx
Posts: 8,583
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 109 Post(s)
Liked: 138
Quote:
Originally Posted by mikieboyblue View Post

Stb?

STB = Set Top Box or cable box
JChin is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 09-04-2010, 09:15 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mikieboyblue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by JChin View Post

STB = Set Top Box or cable box

Thanks :-)
mikieboyblue is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off