X10 problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 12-15-2000, 02:19 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
minpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I was sick of climbing on my couch to turn on my Boxlight CD-455M (InFocus 340) projector so I decided to invest in a X10 IR receiver. I plugged the projector into the X10 control plug and programmed my Pronto to turn the projector on and off. Turning it on seems to work just fine. There is a problem turning it off though. When I push the "off" button, the projector does turn off but then one or two seconds later it turns back on. I hit the "off" button again, the projector turns off, then right back on again. It sometimes does this 3 or 4 times. Sometimes it turns off the first time and stays off.

Anyone else seen this type of behavior? I was already upset that the manufacturer didn't include a power button on the remote (why, why?!) and I have about $60 invested into this solution now. I would work great, if only the projector would stay off...

Good..... Bad..... I'm the guy with the gun.
"Theater in the Thicket" dedicated build thread
minpin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 12-15-2000, 02:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian Hampton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 6,687
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 45 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Hi,

I'm sorry I don't know the answer but I bet-

www.remotecentral.com

-would be a great place to look.

Good Luck,

Brian
Brian Hampton is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 12-15-2000, 07:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Maryland
Posts: 1,033
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The problem is caused by the fact that the projector apparently draws a small amount of current even when it is "off", and you are using a control plug that has the local control feature. This feature is mainly intended for use with lamps, where the lamp is plugged into the X10 module; by manipulating the on/off switch of the lamp, you can turn the lamp on without using the X10 controller.
What you need to do is modify the X10 plug to deactivate the local control feature, or buy a new on that does not have this feature. Such units are made by Leviton and ACT. The modification is very simple; just cut one wire (if I remember). I don't know where the instructions are now, but do a search on deja.com for "x10 mod" and you'll find it.
steve
steve is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 12-16-2000, 05:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
simonsez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Mt Holly, NC
Posts: 896
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I also think x-10 makes modules that are designed to be used with appliances that continue to draw current even when turned off. Check at: http://www.smarthome.com/
simonsez is offline  
post #5 of 11 Old 12-16-2000, 05:44 PM
Lex
Senior Member
 
Lex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The X10 wall plug transceiver also doubles as an appliance module. You do get an annoying click when you turn it on and off, but that could help.

The next thing is, if the projector is plugged into any surge protection. If it is, the electronics in the surge protector can give you problems controlling your projector through them. That's what I have heard anyway. That's controlling any "appliance" through them. Not just projectors.

Lex

------------------
Lexmans.Theater
htguide
35mmGuide
Lex is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 12-16-2000, 09:16 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
minpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I do have all of my equipment plugged into surge protectors. I wouldn't want all that money plugged directly into an unprotected outlet! Seems like there would be a way around this problem. I can't imagine just plugging everything into the wall just to make it convenient. Does everyone who uses X10 just hope to not get a surge that will destroy the thousands of dollars worth of equipment?

Good..... Bad..... I'm the guy with the gun.
"Theater in the Thicket" dedicated build thread
minpin is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 12-16-2000, 09:32 PM
Lex
Senior Member
 
Lex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Knoxville, TN
Posts: 244
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The other thing I forgot to mention is, if you put a transciever on the same power strip (surge protector), once the RF device is on that line, you may indeed gain better control of it. Alternately, sometimes just moving your transciever, or adding an additional one. Of course, I know where I would add it.

Perhaps that idea will help you.

Lex

------------------
Lexmans.Theater
htguide
35mmGuide
Lex is offline  
post #8 of 11 Old 12-19-2000, 09:36 PM
Member
 
Rick Ho's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: London, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 69
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
DON'T USE X-10 TO CONTROL YOUR PROJECTOR!

LCD projectors require a cool-down period with the fan running after they are powered down. If you kill the power to the unit by using a X-10 module the fan will not run and you will reduce the life of the lamp.

Rick Ho is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 12-20-2000, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
minpin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Kirkland, WA
Posts: 313
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My projector has a "standby" mode that I always leave it in for about 15-20 minutes before turning off. It's just amazing to me that this piece of equipment doesn't have a power button on the remote. I am controlling everything through my pronto, and only the power is controlled through X10. It's working great, except for the fact that the projector randomly turns back on a few seconds after I turn it off...

Good..... Bad..... I'm the guy with the gun.
"Theater in the Thicket" dedicated build thread
minpin is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 12-21-2000, 03:50 PM
AVS Special Member
 
boykster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 2,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here's the modification you need to make to turn off "local control" for an appliance module. This should fix your problem.
http://www.x10ideas.com/installation/localcontrol.htm

Basically, your projector must be drawing a small current, and the appliance module thinks you are turning it on locally....this mod will take care of that.

Rich
boykster is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 12-21-2000, 03:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
boykster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Seattle, WA, USA
Posts: 2,131
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Or...

you might need this link

http://www3.edgenet.net/lingling/x10-mod3.html


depending on what type of module you have....

Rich
boykster is offline  
Closed Thread General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off