AVS Forum banner

Davy D's Family / Media Room

19K views 94 replies 16 participants last post by  davekeith 
#1 ·
First step in any theater build:

Asbestos abatement!

Just revised my thread to eliminate small pictures and fix a bunch of broken links.

See less See more
#2 ·
Got a PM about the floor, so I figured I'd share its construction. Very happy with the results:

I did an obscene amount of research on the floor, and here's what I came up with:

This was a bare concrete floor in the basement. I put down Platon (same as Delta FL) and was concerned with the audible clicking some people have mentioned (particularly on the Mike Holmes message boards). So . . . first thing I put down was landscape fabric, then the Platon (taped the seams with Tyvek tape to make a good moisture barrier), then laid the t&g on top. I used Tapcons to fasten the plywood to the concrete. I actually bought a powder actuated fastener, but the concrete in my floor is so hard, the nails wouldn't go all the way in even with the most powerful charges. (some people worry that the fasteners penetrate the moisture barrier - my room is very dry, so I didn't bother, but you can put caulking on the fasteners to seal the holes). The floor feels incredible solid and doesn't make a bit off noise. And, it is very warm.

I'll post a picture of the Platon in case you've not seen it.

#3 ·
Insulation for the ceiling was supposed to arrive today. Checked Lowes.com and the order now says expected on Sunday.

Framed out the rack cabinet wall yesterday and placed and wired my side sconces today.

#4 ·
Welcome to the madness! Just a thought: if you want feedback on your thread, you'll have much more luck if you imbed the photos full size directly in your thread. Those postage stamp sized things are too small to see, and most folks won't bother clicking to enlarge them, especially with the other 17 gazillion threads calling out to be read!

Good luck!

Reactions: davekeith
#5 ·