AVS Forum banner

The .406 Club

14K views 70 replies 18 participants last post by  ewills7771 
#1 ·
We purchased a new home last Spring. It was a new construction though not a home that we had built for us. We were looking for a home with a large unfinished basement and this house was more than we could have hoped for. Originally I wanted to finish the basement as a game room and place to hang out and watch games with friends. Then I found this forum and all my plans changed. Over the past several months I have planned out the basement and completed the bar. I am now ready to move onto the rest of the projects and need advice and help.

I am a high school teacher and basketball coach so the winter is a very busy time, but as the season winds down I will be working a lot more on the basement. I am working on a budget, using only money I earn from working camps or other "extra" money opportunities, so as I get more money I do the next project- that is why I completed the bar first. With it finished I can hang out there and enjoy with friends until I get more cash flow. I am building the home theatre part on a budget and want to get good quality at a reasonable price.

We love to watch movies and sports and I hope that it is an area where my daughter and her friends can hang out as she gets older. We have a bar even though neither my wife or I drink, just a great place to hang out.

Equipment I plan on purchasing

Projector- Epson 8350- interested in the Visual Apex package with the VAPEXZ screen (any opinions on this are welcome)

Reciever- Onkyo TX 608

Blue Ray- will purchase new with wifi

Center Speaker- already own a DCM

Front speakers- looking for advice

Rear speakers and bar area speakers- have 2 sets of Monoprice in ceiling speakers