Should i plug the Sub to UPS? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 02-13-2011, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
motoharu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
When there is a shortage or spike on the electricity my old Definitive Tech sub was making a "Boom" sound which is really disturbing and probably harmful to sub.
And after a few years it started making a loud hum.

So, in my new setup i am thinking of plugging the sub (Focal SW800) to a UPS, to avoid that boom sound and possible harm it can do.

Do you think its safe and/or useful to do so?

On my setup, what else should i use with UPS?
Have total of 8 outlets from two 1000VA APCs.

Marantz SR7005 AVR
Marantz UD5005 BDP
Samsung 55C8000 LED/LCD
Epson 8500 Projector
Onkyo DVD
Satellite Box
Focal SW800 Sub
WD TV Live
2TB x 2 WD Elements External HD

Thanx
motoharu is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 02-13-2011, 05:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
holt7153's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: City of Angels
Posts: 3,201
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by motoharu View Post

When there is a shortage or spike on the electricity my old Definitive Tech sub was making a "Boom" sound which is really disturbing and probably harmful to sub.
And after a few years it started making a loud hum.

So, in my new setup i am thinking of plugging the sub (Focal SW800) to a UPS, to avoid that boom sound and possible harm it can do.

Do you think its safe and/or useful to do so?

On my setup, what else should i use with UPS?
Have total of 8 outlets from two 1000VA APCs.

Marantz SR7005 AVR
Marantz UD5005 BDP
Samsung 55C8000 LED/LCD
Epson 8500 Projector
Onkyo DVD
Satellite Box
Focal SW800 Sub
WD TV Live
2TB x 2 WD Elements External HD

Thanx

Don't most sub companies tell you to plug directly into the wall and NOT into plug into power strips/conditioners, UPS, etc?

******************

I want to die peacefully in my sleep like my grandfather, except not while driving a school bus.
holt7153 is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 02-14-2011, 12:04 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
motoharu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 27
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Have no idea, that's why i'm asking
motoharu is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 02-14-2011, 08:33 AM
Member
 
gregzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Two 1000VA are a couple of pretty big, beefy UPS units. Most folks don't have stuff this size. These are usually relagated to small company, server systems...or home users that tend to know their stuff.
So if you have these...I would tend to think you probably know your stuff...
Like any UPS installs...just add up your wattage usage and plug in what you can. Most 1000VA UPS units will run 600 watts comfortably each. Check you max usage of your components and plug 'em in and relax and enjoy. The circuitry on a UPS is far superior to any power strip or surge suppressor. They will run any electronics with relative. As you know, amps can max much higher than typical draw...you don't want the breaker on the UPS to trip on you...so use max current draw of each piece.
Good Luck.
gregzo is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-14-2011, 05:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,016
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by holt7153 View Post

Don't most sub companies tell you to plug directly into the wall and NOT into plug into power strips/conditioners, UPS, etc?

This is the correct answer!

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off