PTAaron's Movie Room/Basement Bar and Game area - Page 3 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 169 Old 01-22-2012, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btcs41 View Post


Nice. They made mine small in our 28 yr old house...7 feet. Makes it tough to put any type of ceiling in and not feel cramped (I am 6'3"). Not having the cash to lower the basement, I went with re-doing the den.

Loving your set up though. Subscribed.

Thanks, I appreciate it

7 feet would be tough... When they finished ours they did a nice job of keeping the height. I just wish they hasn't put a whole wall full of mirrors in the room

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 169 Old 01-22-2012, 07:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Time for another post with too many pictures

Like I mentioned earlier - I kind of got "pushed" to do the lights in the movie room today... So much for my plan to just relax and watch movies all day! Regardless - my father in-law came by to help, which I'll never turn down! He does heating and cooling for a living and has a lot of electrical experience

We got it done quickly with no issues. I haven't taken out the fluorescent panels yet... Will do that some time this week.

Finishing up the switches...


MUCH better lighting!! It isn't blindingly bright anymore! ... watching Coolio cook on the cooking channel...


Chessie came down to check out the new lights:



The switch panel as it is now... I'm leaning towards just getting another Lutron switch instead of the x10 and calling it a day...



That would save me about $250 over changing over to Insteon... BUT I really want all black switches

Anyway... That's it for today.

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #63 of 169 Old 01-22-2012, 07:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 169 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTAaron View Post

BUT I really want all black switches

You might call Lutron and see if they offer a color change kit for those dimmers. They certainly do on the RadioRa (and above)...

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is online now  
post #64 of 169 Old 01-22-2012, 10:51 PM
Member
 
FroggyTaco's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So why did you choose the ERD-1 over the XRS-4.1?

Travis

 

XT32 rocks!

FroggyTaco is offline  
post #65 of 169 Old 01-23-2012, 05:19 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post


You might call Lutron and see if they offer a color change kit for those dimmers. They certainly do on the RadioRa (and above)...

Jeff

I will look into that, good suggestion.

Quote:
Originally Posted by FroggyTaco View Post

So why did you choose the ERD-1 over the XRS-4.1?

Number 1 reason would be because I knew about the ERD-1 and didn't know about the other one. I have had my eye on the ERD-1 since this time last year, so I didn't really look at other options.

After looking at the XRS-4.1 very briefly just now I can say that I like the ability to switch the ERD-1 from bipole to dipole mode, and I like the look of the ERD-1 better. Otherwise, I would have to get opinions from owners to know which is a better choice.

On a side note - an iPhone will try to turn the words "bipole" and "dipole" into the word "nipple" ... just an interesting piece of trivia.

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #66 of 169 Old 01-25-2012, 10:24 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My speaker wire, longer HDMI cable, wall plates, and other goodies needed to relocate my equipment to the built in shelves will be here Friday...

Of course I forgot to order the RF extender for my harmony 1100... Oops.
Looks like I should be able to use the IR extender feature of my AVR to get the job done in the meantime...

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #67 of 169 Old 01-27-2012, 11:20 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Goodies arrived!



We have:
100ft of 14g in wall speaker wire
50ft of RG6 for the subwoofer
25ft high speed rated HDMI cable
3 speaker terminals for the wall (for front speakers)
7.2 "surround sound wall plate"
RCA to "F" adapters
Passthrough plate for wall
...and a RCA keystone jack

All for under $100 shipped! Gotta love Monoprice!!

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #68 of 169 Old 01-27-2012, 11:36 AM
Member
 
btcs41's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 19
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Schweet! Monoprice shipments are the best.
btcs41 is offline  
post #69 of 169 Old 01-27-2012, 01:22 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheGoatLantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Curious what made you go with 14 AWG?
TheGoatLantern is offline  
post #70 of 169 Old 01-27-2012, 01:42 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by btcs41 View Post

Schweet! Monoprice shipments are the best.

Yeah, it is kind of like Christmas!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheGoatLantern View Post

Curious what made you go with 14 AWG?

I thought I had run 14 to my surrounds/rears when I originally wired the room - so I wanted my fronts/center to be the same. Turns out I did 16 to the rears/surrounds...
I figure I will have 25' runs for my fronts, so I wanted to make sure I had adequate gauge wire for 6 ohms and 25'.

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #71 of 169 Old 01-27-2012, 01:56 PM
Advanced Member
 
TheGoatLantern's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 539
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ah makes sense. I saw that you posted in the DIY cable thread, am I to assume that you have plans on creating some nice looking cables for your speakers ?
TheGoatLantern is offline  
post #72 of 169 Old 01-27-2012, 02:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah - I am going to do some blue Techflex with Emotiva banana plugs for the front 3 since they will be visible once I finish re-wiring.
I will be running in wall to a plate - then plugging into the plate for the front 3.
I'm probably also going to do a matching subwoofer cable to go from a the wall plate to the sub, and a "nice looking" power cord for the sub

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #73 of 169 Old 01-28-2012, 10:37 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
...and a trip to Home Depot then Lowes this morning got me a big pile of stuff...
4 double gang low voltage rings
3 double gang decora wall plates
1 single gang low voltage ring
2 keystone wall plates (decora style centers come out)
1 "brush" wall plate (forgot to order 2 pass though plates from monoprice)
1 RCA to "F" keystone connector
...and another maestro IR dimmer switch!



Annoying part is that I could have saved money if I remembered the other plate from monoprice - and also if I had realized Lowes carried the plug I wanted. I usually just go to Home Depot since it is half a mile closer...
Oh well!

I will probably be doing the rewiring/relocating tomorrow... We have company coming tonight and they haven't seen the house yet - so I want the room to be functional when they see it.

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #74 of 169 Old 01-28-2012, 10:50 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I just unpacked the HDMI cable to test it before moving equipment... This thing is MASSIVE!
22AWG CL2 High Speed cable from Monoprice with a piece of RG6 for comparison...

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #75 of 169 Old 01-28-2012, 12:07 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Before I had to get into house cleaning mode I decided (to my wife's displeasure) to install the switch, because I wanted things to look better when the company came over - realtor friend has a eye for detail ... Even though most people wouldn't even notice...

Final product:

Note: also straightened out the box behind the blank plate above the switches so it doesn't look like crap (as much) anymore. It will be behind a poster when the room is done.

I also decided to make use of the blank plate covering the old room light switch box:


Used some Velcro to attach a lutron remote outside the room ... just so when the wife wants to get to the cedar closet or storage area she can have light in the room before going in.

I just need to take some time to review the "advanced settings" on these switches again and figure out how to set them to always come on at full or 75% bright instead of remembering the previous setting... It looks simple on the website so we'll see!

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #76 of 169 Old 01-28-2012, 01:35 PM
 
qx56's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 176
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I was also shocked when i got my 22g hdmi. rooms lookin good.
qx56 is offline  
post #77 of 169 Old 01-28-2012, 01:49 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by qx56 View Post

I was also shocked when i got my 22g hdmi. rooms lookin good.

Thanks a lot!

It is too bad that cable will be mostly hidden inside a wall... it is impressive

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #78 of 169 Old 01-29-2012, 10:43 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Working on relocation/rewiring right now... Thought I would put up some more pictures:

TV looks like it got smaller!


Speakers just hanging out...


Test fitting components before I cut any holes...

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #79 of 169 Old 01-29-2012, 10:55 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I spy... Wine making buckets!


Single gang hole where the "passthrough" for HDMI and digital cable will go...

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #80 of 169 Old 01-29-2012, 09:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'll spare you the excessive photolog...
Finished for the day:


Wires look like a gigantic rats nest... I had planned to carefully lay everything out so it wouldn't look like crap - but wife's cousin stopped by and took us out to dinner while I was laying things out. I ended up just rushing through just to make sure everything works...
It does.
I still have to clean up the room and move the sub... and recalibrate...

I picked up a nasty ground loop hum...

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #81 of 169 Old 01-30-2012, 06:53 AM
Member
 
Hunted Duck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 22
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Looks good so far. A lot of good ideas in this thread as I move forward with my basement finishing.
Hunted Duck is offline  
post #82 of 169 Old 01-30-2012, 07:23 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hunted Duck View Post

Looks good so far. A lot of good ideas in this thread as I move forward with my basement finishing.

Thanks!

I hope to actually make some progress on the bar "rebuild" next month - we have the money set aside and we have plans sketched up, can't wait to get going on it!
I planned to do it this month, but I just got tired of the way the media room looked and had to fix that first - even though it wasn't in the budget

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #83 of 169 Old 01-30-2012, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just wanted to add that the "ironman" scene on the home theater demo disc v2.0 is a lot less impressive when you forget to plug your subwoofer in!

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #84 of 169 Old 01-30-2012, 11:05 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The RF extender I ordered for my Harmony 1100 showed up today... VERY easy to set up - had it up and running in no time... also added some buttons for the Lutron lights to the remote.


Quick screenshot of the 1100 in "watch blu-ray" mode:


The column of buttons on the left are for the Lutron lights. From top to bottom the commands are: All On, All Off, "Favorite", and Dim. In the "Favorite" setting the front 2 sets of lights are off and the rear set is at about 20%. I also have the "Channel + and -" buttons set to be "Bright" and "Dim".
Oh yeah... "Record" and "Slow" are actually there to allow me to turn off the Harman Kardon neon sign I have in the room... one switches the X10 IR receiver to the right channel, the other sends the "off" command - once I spend some time and map both commands to one button life will be easier.

Only concern, aside from the ground loop hum that I have managed to decrease by about 80% by adding a ground to one of my cable splitters, is that the AVR is pretty warm up on that shelf. I am going to cut a hole and put in some computer fans to pull hot air away in the future.

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #85 of 169 Old 01-31-2012, 02:43 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
mak99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: seattle/renton, wa
Posts: 1,460
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by PTAaron View Post

...and a trip to Home Depot then Lowes this morning got me a big pile of stuff...
...and another maestro IR dimmer switch!

Too late for your current work, but I ordered my dimmers (multi-location ones) from here, as they were a few $$ less than HD/Lowes...

But maybe for your next upgrade, if you can wait a few days!

Nice space for movie watching, BTW - subscribed! And thanks again for the cool H1100 background...

still one of my favorite bumper stickers of all time...

FREE TIBET! *
* with purchase of equal or lesser Tibet
mak99 is offline  
post #86 of 169 Old 01-31-2012, 02:57 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mak99 View Post

Too late for your current work, but I ordered my dimmers (multi-location ones) from here, as they were a few $$ less than HD/Lowes...

But maybe for your next upgrade, if you can wait a few days!

Nice space for movie watching, BTW - subscribed! And thanks again for the cool H1100 background...

Nice thanks!
I already had 2 of the switches from my old house... and HD had them for $39 so it wasn't too bad to pick up one more
I now have 3 of the remotes though...

No problem on the background, happy to help!

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #87 of 169 Old 02-01-2012, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I spent 3 hours last night sitting on the floor going through my "box 'o' cables" and untangling dozens of pieces of RG6, cell phone chargers, wall warts, audio cables, video cables, and speaker wire - managed to get everything taped into coils and packed into a box that I put away in the storage room... instead of the large box that was taking up a shelf in the "equipment rack".
Still have a lot more crap to go through from unpacking those shelves - I think I need to make one more shelf actually. I have a lot of stuff to store!

Oh yeah... over the weekend I pulled down one of the fluorescent fixtures and replaced it with tiles - still have to get the one in the front of the room down, then the room will look better.

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #88 of 169 Old 02-01-2012, 11:42 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Anyone that's following along: Do you have any suggestions for silent fans that could be installed in the back of my cabinet (venting to the room behind) that could be powered from my AVR's switched power plug?

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #89 of 169 Old 02-01-2012, 12:02 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm thinking this may be an option - will be putting it in the side wall of the shelves, and they went overboard with studs there so a 2 fan setup may not fit between the studs.

http://www.coolerguys.com/840556087939.html

or the smaller option:
http://www.coolerguys.com/840556087915.html

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
post #90 of 169 Old 02-03-2012, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
PTAaron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: SE Michigan
Posts: 1,105
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updated shot of the front of the room:


Missing a crossbar for the drop ceiling in the position where the fluorescent panel used to be - but otherwise I think it looks a whole lot better!

Deciding on a color for the front wall still. I was originally thinking dark grey, but my wife - in a strange twist - suggested painting it black. I wanted to do black from the start - but she was always against making the room "too dark".

I'm thinking "mouse ears" in an eggshell finish would probably be the best option.

-Aaron

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
- actually doing stuff now... please comment!
PTAaron is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

Tags
Basement Bar

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off