HT in a Barn - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 01-04-2012, 09:03 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well, not quite. I have been remodeling my old listening room for several months, to include some new decor and some new equipment. This is part of a larger basement room and the listening area is basically 12' X 14", front to back. It's decorated in old barn siding and definitely has a rustic/primitive feel. I added some new pictures/posters, mostly of classic films, early audio hardware and old theaters. Mixed in are a few old tools and firearms.

I haven't used this room for several years because my youngest son lived down here for a couple years and left it looking like a WWI trench. I had an old Sony 41" rear projection TV that finally went Bye-bye.

I just upgraded to a new LG 55LW5600HDTV and a PanasonicDMP-BD210 Blu-Ray player. Also added a new equipment stand/rack.

So, now I've got it pretty much the way I want it. Needed a 30' HDMI cable run from my bedroom Dish DVR (no problems with the long run) and numerous other hardware tweaks, but it all works. I know it isn't a home theater in the purest sense, but I enjoy the contrast between the old, rustic stuff and the new technology; shows how far we've come in audio and video reproduction. And it sounds great!

Marantz SR 7300
Def Tech BP-2002 (L/C/R)
Def TEch BP-8 (rears)

Jim
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 01-04-2012, 10:07 AM

Nice job. I am surprised I like the rustic look you did. I usually don't go for that type of stuff but you pulled it off. Nice job on the cabling for the rack - very tidy. Nothing drives me more crazy than cables everywhere.

The only thing I don't like is the cd rack at the front of the room. Try to put that somewhere out of sight if you can. I think it is a major eyesore on an otherwise nice setup.
post #3 of 6 Old 02-18-2012, 12:27 PM

Liked: 10