How to setup a media room - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 16 Old 01-08-2012, 01:20 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi:

I am very new at this. We are designing a custom home. In the basement there will be a media room. My contructor and I don't know much about home theater. I want to prewire the room so in the future when I need to put in some good equipment, I don't have to open up the wall and pull wires. There is a closet under the stair and that is where I want to put all of the networking, AV equipment in there. Right now, I don't have any AV equipment except for a TV.

Here is Sketchup of the room.

I have the following questions.

1. Where can I learn about home theater setup?

2. Given the room I have, can any expert recommend how should I wire the room? I am in the process of spec out the house. I want to tell the builder what wire to pull and connector or outlets to put in the wall.

I am not an audio/vidoe fanatic. I don't mind spend a few hundred dollars to wire the room for future use. But I am not the type that will spend a few hundreds dollars on a speaker. My future budget for a receiver and speaker is $1000.

Thank you for all of the help.

Crazy Monkey
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 16 Old 01-08-2012, 01:48 AM - Thread Starter

I forgot to mention. The room is 16' x 21'. It is in a daylight basement, so there is no window at all in that room.

Crazy Monkey
post #3 of 16 Old 01-08-2012, 11:31 AM

1. read a ton here and search for specific questions.
1.2 what were you mostly curious on? like what to buy? what looks good? projection vs LCD/Plasma? etc.

2. regarding what to wire... are you talking about types of cables? (HDMI, coax, speaker/5.1/7.1/2, etc?)
post #4 of 16 Old 01-08-2012, 04:03 PM - Thread Starter