Grade my wiring before I button it up - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
SmokenAshes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
I routed all my speaker wires underneath the dry walls. I took off the base boards and cut out some dry wall and routed all my speaker wire around my room to the closet where AV equipment is. Let me know what you think before I install the base boards.
LL
LL
LL
SmokenAshes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 04:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
SmokenAshes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Some more photos...
LL
LL
LL
SmokenAshes is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 05:21 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Well done! I think we can point to your photos when folks say they "can't run wires"... That's how you do it!

While you've got your channel open, I'd run ~2-3 cat5e/cat6 lines from your rack to the front of the room, and perhaps an RG6 "just in case". It could come in handy for game sensors, IR repeaters, the 2016 model year 100" flatscreen that you got on sale for $599... Oh, or Ethernet, too.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RTROSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Central Indiana
Posts: 6,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 46
I'd give it an "F" for sure. "F" for fantastic that is. Well done! Very unique solution to getting the cables run. Just be very careful when you put the baseboard back up that you don't nail into those pretty wires. I'm with Jeff, you always should run a few more wires than you will think you need at the time for those "just in case" moments.

What speakers and equipment are you running? I really like the component rack. Looks sharp.

Regards,

RTROSE

My (slower than molasses) HT build here.
Now a Certified Carpet Counselor and Plumbing Counselor (Self given titles - pay no attention).
Enjoying my "almost done" theater.
RTROSE is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 05:51 PM
Senior Member
 
Bacon13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 39
Looks good. I'm in the middle of doing this right now. Are you patching the drywall before you put the baseboards back on or are you not going to worry about it since the wires are behind the baseboards?
Bacon13 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 06:11 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
SmokenAshes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bacon13 View Post

Looks good. I'm in the middle of doing this right now. Are you patching the drywall before you put the baseboards back on or are you not going to worry about it since the wires are behind the baseboards?

Not going to worry about it. I got bigger base boards than the originals so I can nail them in and not worry about hitting the wires. I think the originals were 3" and my new ones are 5 and a quarter. Oh and I did run cat5 from a phone jack from the far side to the equipment closet, as you should be able to see in the pics. So my dsl modem is now in the closet. Also ran coax to the equipment closet for Directv. Thank you for the comments,
SmokenAshes is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 06:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
SmokenAshes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTROSE View Post

I'd give it an "F" for sure. "F" for fantastic that is. Well done! Very unique solution to getting the cables run. Just be very careful when you put the baseboard back up that you don't nail into those pretty wires. I'm with Jeff, you always should run a few more wires than you will think you need at the time for those "just in case" moments.

What speakers and equipment are you running? I really like the component rack. Looks sharp.

Regards,

RTROSE

Thank you! Equipment is as follows.

Speakers:
Front L/R - ARX A3
Center - ARX A2
Surround L/R - ARX A1
Sub - HSU VTF3 MK4
250' 12gauge speaker wire from Monoprice
Banana plugs and banana plug faceplates
Speaker pants
Techflex

Screen - 120" Visual Apex Tension Electric
Projector - Epson 8350
Reciever - Yamaha RX-A810
PS3
DirecTV

Acoustic panels x6 made from OC703 and speaker fabric.
SmokenAshes is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 06:46 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 110 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokenAshes View Post

Oh and I did run cat5 from a phone jack from the far side to the equipment closet, as you should be able to see in the pics. So my dsl modem is now in the closet. Also ran coax to the equipment closet for Directv.

I'm thinking about future devices you may have in the front of the theater in the future, which would get their "signals" from sources in your rack. Hence the 2-3 cat5e's and additional coax. Coax could also be used for a powered sub in the future as well.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 06:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
RTROSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Central Indiana
Posts: 6,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Awesome,

Thanks for sharing. I have a Yammie 1010 and love it, I also have the 8350 and love it too! Nice system you have, I don't know much about the ARX speakers, how do you like them?

Regards,

RTROSE

My (slower than molasses) HT build here.
Now a Certified Carpet Counselor and Plumbing Counselor (Self given titles - pay no attention).
Enjoying my "almost done" theater.
RTROSE is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 07:00 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
SmokenAshes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by RTROSE View Post

Awesome,

Thanks for sharing. I have a Yammie 1010 and love it, I also have the 8350 and love it too! Nice system you have, I don't know much about the ARX speakers, how do you like them?

Regards,

RTROSE

I love them. Although they don't go as loud as I thought they would. But it could be just me because I don't want to push them yet cuz they are still new. They are from the audio insider website. But they sound so crystal clear. Close your eyes and its like the instruments are infront of you. Watching movies, the sound engulfs you, its amazing, as if the sounds was 3D.
SmokenAshes is offline  
post #11 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 07:12 PM
Member
 
sgmccool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Metro Atlanta
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nicely done, I wouldn't worry to much about future proofing because all you have to do us cut the caulk with a razor pull the trim back, add the new wire, reset the trim and re-caulk and boom your back up and running.

Again nice job and great idea. Not only do you solve a wiring problem you get great new 5" molding. Be careful next thing you know you will be crown molding the ceiling and adding judges paneling everywhere
sgmccool is offline  
post #12 of 12 Old 03-07-2012, 07:18 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
SmokenAshes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 775
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by sgmccool View Post

Nicely done, I wouldn't worry to much about future proofing because all you have to do us cut the caulk with a razor pull the trim back, add the new wire, reset the trim and re-caulk and boom your back up and running.

Again nice job and great idea. Not only do you solve a wiring problem you get great new 5" molding. Be careful next thing you know you will be crown molding the ceiling and adding judges paneling everywhere

Ummmm..... I actually did buy crown molding LOL.... Gonna practice with the base boards first though before I tackle crown molding.
SmokenAshes is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off