Noob Help - AVS Forum

AVS Forum > Home Entertainment & Theater Builder > General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms > Noob Help

General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

kagisan94's Avatar kagisan94
09:02 AM Liked: 10
post #1 of 8
04-21-2012 | Posts: 5
Greetings,

I am a total newbie to in-house stuff. I have just bought a home with built-in JVC speakers. There are two in-wall ports for the set-up. I am not sure which of them, or both work or not.

I have an old Sony 5.1 receiver that I have hooked up to each, but I can't get sound out anywhere. I am wondering if there is a better way to test the speakers. Maybe the receiver is just not pushing enough juice to get through.

I am including a pic of the wall port. They are identical.

Any suggestions on where to start would be greatly appreciated.
LL
Techphil's Avatar Techphil
09:41 AM Liked: 11
post #2 of 8
04-21-2012 | Posts: 175
those dont look like speaker jacks. the top looks like rca's for a video signal and the bottom looks like a f connector for cable of sattelite signal. you need to open them and see whats in there.
09:59 AM Liked: 10
post #3 of 8
Techphil,

I know. The previous owner left a switch box that has the standard pinch clamp input for speaker wire L/R, then it has pinch clamp out lines that terminate in male fittings for these inputs. These were labeled by the previous owner as "house speaker input"

Thanks! for the response. What would you do next in investigation?

kagisan
macfan's Avatar macfan
10:12 AM Liked: 29
post #4 of 8
04-21-2012 | Posts: 232
I can't get a good look at the jacks in the picture as it is not clear. Those kind of look like two sets of composite jacks to me. Best thing to do is take the plate over the top set of jacks off and see if anything looks like speaker wire to you. If you find anything that looks like speaker wire you can take an ordinary flashlight battery across the two leads and you should get a popping or scratchy sound through the speaker it is connected too.