Mounting Plasma- Unsure of Stud-Spacing, Strange In-Wall Setup? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 18 Old 06-15-2012, 04:30 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Superfluous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wasn't sure where to ask this question. I'm planning to mount my plasma in the bedroom in the same location that the previous home owners mounted theirs. Before the painters patched the holes in the wall, it looked like their old mount fixed into something in the wall that wasn't a stud. The painter said it was some common thing used if there isn't a stud to use or the spacing is off, but I'm not sure what it was. What is this likely to be? What can I do? If it is still in the wall, what do I do to work around it if I need to?
Superfluous is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 18 Old 06-15-2012, 11:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,912
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Was it wood? If so, it must have been a piece of "blocking". It's cut to fit between 2 studs, when you need to mount something between 2 studs. Usually it's a piece of 2X4 or 2X6 on edge.
Jim McC is offline  
post #3 of 18 Old 06-16-2012, 09:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Superfluous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It looked like two large metal screw holes at each of the 4 corners.
Superfluous is offline  
post #4 of 18 Old 06-17-2012, 12:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Probably a big piece of wood screwed to studs, for blocking.

If it was my house, I'd probably cut into the drywall above or below it, to figure out exactly what it is. Or, pull out the adjacent outlet or low-voltage plate to try and figure it out.

If the room was just painted, it will be super easy to repair the drywall and match the paint exactly. I would call the painter back, after cutting drywall (if needed).

Many 'pro' Installers would probably just hang the mount on it without checking to make sure it's well-constructed.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #5 of 18 Old 06-17-2012, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Superfluous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I kinda don't want to tear up the wall. Shouldn't there be at least 2-3 studs within a certain area? Can I not just find them and bolt it to them regardless of whether it's centered or not with the way the mounts are designed?
Superfluous is offline  
post #6 of 18 Old 06-17-2012, 06:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 81
Yes, use an electronic stud locator. Maybe you can determine why the probable 'blocking' was used.

My main concern with cutting drywall is matching paint. If matching paint is not a concern, then cutting drywall is easy, with cheap repair and painting, less than $50 with my drywall/paint guy.

How much of that area will be covered by the TV? Can you cut a single gang hole for exploration, install a low voltage ring, cover it with a blank plate, and have it hidden by the TV?

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #7 of 18 Old 06-17-2012, 06:56 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Superfluous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post

Yes, use an electronic stud locator. Maybe you can determine why the probable 'blocking' was used.
My main concern with cutting drywall is matching paint. If matching paint is not a concern, then cutting drywall is easy, with cheap repair and painting, less than $50 with my drywall/paint guy.
How much of that area will be covered by the TV? Can you cut a single gang hole for exploration, install a low voltage ring, cover it with a blank plate, and have it hidden by the TV?

Yeah, it's a 50 inch plasma so it will cover a decent amount. I just didn't want to open too much.
Superfluous is offline  
post #8 of 18 Old 06-19-2012, 04:25 PM
Member
 
frizbplaya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superfluous View Post

It looked like two large metal screw holes at each of the 4 corners.

Your description reminded me of these drywall anchors I've used:
http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-100234590/h_d2/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&keyword=screw+drywall+anchor&storeId=10051

They can only hold 50 lbs and that's the weigh going straight down, if you pull the TV out the force is different and they'll carry even less weight.

Regardless, I agree with Neurorad. Get a stud finder and screw right into your studs.
frizbplaya is offline  
post #9 of 18 Old 06-19-2012, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brad Horstkotte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Torrance, CA
Posts: 5,123
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 57
For the plasma in my bedroom, the studs weren't where I needed them to be too - so I mounted a 1/2" rectangle of plywood to the studs, painted it black, and then mounted the TV mount to the plywood.
Brad Horstkotte is offline  
post #10 of 18 Old 06-20-2012, 08:46 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,811
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 98
Yah you need to find where the studs are. In my living room, above the fireplace, the studs were at a weird spacing. So my mount couldn't get across two studs without being way off center. So I lagged it into the center stud and did two drywall anchors on each end of the mount. They weren't the anchors that frizb linked, but the normal ones. The lags in the center were more than enough weigh-wise, and the anchors kept her from rotating. smile.gif
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #11 of 18 Old 06-20-2012, 04:46 PM
Senior Member
 
dunnmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I have these on 2 32" 1 40" an 1 55" tv's in my house. I am 207 lbs and have hung on the installed mount using only 4 of them and the mount didn't even budge and no cracking drywall. They sell them at lowes and home depot here is a link to the companies website. You will have to buy separate washers to accommodate. I have studs that would have also made my tv off center and these fixed the whole problem.
http://www.toggler.com/products/snaptoggle/overview.php

dunnmike is offline  
post #12 of 18 Old 06-20-2012, 04:48 PM
Senior Member
 
dunnmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
And studs generally are 16" apart unless tied to an adjoining wall or near a bathroom.
dunnmike is offline  
post #13 of 18 Old 06-20-2012, 04:53 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Superfluous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnmike View Post

I have these on 2 32" 1 40" an 1 55" tv's in my house. I am 207 lbs and have hung on the installed mount using only 4 of them and the mount didn't even budge and no cracking drywall. They sell them at lowes and home depot here is a link to the companies website. You will have to buy separate washers to accommodate. I have studs that would have also made my tv off center and these fixed the whole problem.
http://www.toggler.com/products/snaptoggle/overview.php

Those look cool. Where do you buy them?
Superfluous is offline  
post #14 of 18 Old 06-20-2012, 10:10 PM
Senior Member
 
dunnmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superfluous View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnmike View Post

I have these on 2 32" 1 40" an 1 55" tv's in my house. I am 207 lbs and have hung on the installed mount using only 4 of them and the mount didn't even budge and no cracking drywall. They sell them at lowes and home depot here is a link to the companies website. You will have to buy separate washers to accommodate. I have studs that would have also made my tv off center and these fixed the whole problem.
http://www.toggler.com/products/snaptoggle/overview.php

Those look cool. Where do you buy them?
I got them at lowes. Easy quick install.
dunnmike is offline  
post #15 of 18 Old 06-21-2012, 07:54 AM
Member
 
JakeRobb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Okemos, MI
Posts: 103
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnmike View Post

I have these on 2 32" 1 40" an 1 55" tv's in my house. I am 207 lbs and have hung on the installed mount using only 4 of them and the mount didn't even budge and no cracking drywall. They sell them at lowes and home depot here is a link to the companies website. You will have to buy separate washers to accommodate. I have studs that would have also made my tv off center and these fixed the whole problem.
http://www.toggler.com/products/snaptoggle/overview.php
I love those. I've gotten them at Home Depot. They're more expensive than a regular toggle bolt, but much easier to use and stronger too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnmike View Post

And studs generally are 16" apart unless tied to an adjoining wall or near a bathroom.
Or near any other feature -- a doorway, a chimney, a window, etc. Of course, that only applies if the wall was built by someone who knew what they were doing. smile.gif

Living Room: Denon 2113ci + BIC V1020 + Panasonic BDT220 + AppleTV + uVerse DVR + Panasonic P42S2 plasma
Theater: Denon 2313ci + Klipsch RW12d + Panasonic BDT220 + Mac mini + uVerse wired receiver + Epson 8350 PJ + 100" screen
JakeRobb is offline  
post #16 of 18 Old 06-22-2012, 08:08 AM
Senior Member
 
dunnmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by JakeRobb View Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnmike View Post

I have these on 2 32" 1 40" an 1 55" tv's in my house. I am 207 lbs and have hung on the installed mount using only 4 of them and the mount didn't even budge and no cracking drywall. They sell them at lowes and home depot here is a link to the companies website. You will have to buy separate washers to accommodate. I have studs that would have also made my tv off center and these fixed the whole problem.
http://www.toggler.com/products/snaptoggle/overview.php
I love those. I've gotten them at Home Depot. They're more expensive than a regular toggle bolt, but much easier to use and stronger too.
Quote:
Originally Posted by dunnmike View Post

And studs generally are 16" apart unless tied to an adjoining wall or near a bathroom.
Or near any other feature -- a doorway, a chimney, a window, etc. Of course, that only applies if the wall was built by someone who knew what they were doing. smile.gif

True story!
dunnmike is offline  
post #17 of 18 Old 06-22-2012, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Superfluous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 174
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
It ended up working fine. He was able to find two studs, they just weren't centered but it didn't matter since the tv could slide on the mount. He did mention those same wall anchors.
Superfluous is offline  
post #18 of 18 Old 06-22-2012, 12:42 PM
Senior Member
 
dunnmike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Florida
Posts: 227
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I used them for everything now. Towel rack bars etc. it all started with off centered studs and an LCD. Lol.
dunnmike is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off