Home Theater Pre-Wire Help - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 07-05-2012, 09:27 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So, I finally decided to take advantage of my home pre-wiring in the media room. While I'm no expert, I think something is really wrong with my wiring.

Background:
I have five wall plates (two side, two rear, and one for the subwoofer) and the main junction box.

Right Surround: I open the plate and see one 4-wire cable and one 2-wire cable. Okay, so I use the the 2-wire (red/black) for the speaker and tuck the 4-wire back not really knowing the purpose of it.
Left Surround: I see the 2-wire only and connect it up.
Rear Right Surround: I see the 2-wire only and connect it up.
Rear Left Surround: I see the 2-wire only and connect it up.

As I didn't plan to use the fifth (presumable) subwoofer plate, I left it alone. Now the weird part...I open the junction box and see one coaxial cable (assume it's for the fifth wall plate and two looped cables. This wasn't what I expected and the double looped cables seem thicker like the 4-wire. I make the assumption that they broke the room in two halves, left and right. They tied off one end of the cable at the right surround plate, ran it to the junction box, looped it through there, then ran it to the right rear surround plate so they didn't have to measure anything. Ditto for the left.

Okay, so I figure I just cut the loop and that's one cable for the right surround and one for the right rear surround. However, when I cut the cable, I see the 4-wire. I panic and think they ran everything (fearing stupidly) to the rear fifth plate. When I open that plate, I see the expected coaxial cable, but I see the ends of two 4-wire cables.

What...the...hell?! Where are the 2-wire cables going? They don't seem to be in the junction box.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 07-06-2012, 10:18 AM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 37 Post(s)
Liked: 100
Quote: