Bang for Buck Line Conditioner or UPS - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 07-12-2012, 12:36 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
eaadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So I recently figured out that my Laser Printer in my office is causing my whole house to have a significant voltage drop. When I have the A/C on and the laser printer running my cable modem that is connected in my living room is failing and I am probably doing damage to my server and my tivo as they are not behind a UPS or line conditioner.

No I can't move the Laser to another circit. It has to stay in place.

I am very space limited and need something small.

I need to plug in 8 devices. I want to plug in my: TIVO, Cable Modem, Router, Denon CI AVR, TIVO hard drive, Home Server, Xbox, Network Switch

suggestions? I couldn't find anything easily in search, I might have the wrong search terms.



[edit: 8/13/12 - BUMP! it hit 115 here today and my home server had all red lights. I have to do SOMETHING!]

------------------------------------
eaadams is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 08-13-2012, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
eaadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11

------------------------------------
eaadams is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 08-13-2012, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Speedskater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 2,011
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
When I read symptoms like that, my first thought is it's a "lost neutral problem". A poor Neutral connection in your house or out to the power company's transformer can cause on leg/phase to go low and the other to go high under heavy load.

Kevin
Speedskater is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 08-13-2012, 05:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
eaadams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,419
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I don't spreken engineer. Sorry. Can you translate?

------------------------------------
eaadams is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 08-14-2012, 01:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
Scout's staff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 586
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I think he is saying you may have a bad line between your home and service
Scout's staff is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

Tags
Tivo , Denon , Denon Avr4310ci Receiver , Microsoft Xbox , Cables Interconnects
Gear in this thread

    Thread Tools
    Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
    Email this Page Email this Page


    Forum Jump: 

    Posting Rules  
    You may not post new threads
    You may not post replies
    You may not post attachments
    You may not edit your posts

    BB code is On
    Smilies are On
    [IMG] code is On
    HTML code is Off
    Trackbacks are Off
    Pingbacks are Off
    Refbacks are Off