My first home theater - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 08-01-2012, 10:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all!

I'm new here, and new to the concept of home theaters in general.

I'm 16 years old, and have always been really interested in the idea. My dad, who is the IT manager of a company, has managed to get me a projector that they won't be using anymore. It's not the best quality, more suited to business and presentations than movies and gaming. But it's my first projector, and it's working fine for me.

I've got a little bit of money for my budget, up to about $100 dollars here to start with. This is a gradual project.

Basically, I've cleaned out a shed in our back yard (It appears to have been a workshop at some point), and am getting ready to set up a man cave/game room in there. The layout I've got planned out is like so:

(The dimensions of the shed are roughly 12X24)

This is final layout of course. It will probably start off with just the projector and a couch. Now, as far as painting the walls to use as a screen goes- What's the best way to go about that? I've been using this article as a reference point. Because I don't feel like spending $80 of my budget on paint, I've decided to go with the Valspar suggestions in the first couple paragraphs.

So, 1st question: Any suggestions on paint?

Next, I've got the issue of light control. As you can see in the diagram (made crappily in paint), there are 4 windows in the shed. At night, no light comes through and they won't be a problem. In the day, they will. One of them will be more difficult to block than the rest due to the AC unit. What is the best way to go about blocking off the windows, but still being able to see out of them? I know about the tin foil trick, but that looks tacky, and I want that to be a last resort.

So my second question: What do I do about light control?