Suggestions needed for running my wires for wall mounted TV please. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 06:33 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tbird2340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Just got a new house and want to mount my LCD on the wall.. The room I'm mounting it has attic access directly above it. The wall is an exterior wall..

I have run power and put an outlet in the attic area so I can run the power cable up the wall and into the attic for the TV.. I was also going to drop coax down from the attic antenna I'm putting up there as well..

My main problem is trying to drill a hole through the plate.. The roof is meeting the attic floor (room ceiling) where I need to drill and I can't get my drill to drill a hole.. I've tried a right angle drill but when I add the spade bit it makes it just as long as a normal drill!

Any tips for getting this done?

Thanks!
tbird2340 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 06:41 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Do NOT run the TV power cable through the wall. It is NOT in-wall rated. Run the power down the wall from the attic. you can install an old work box and add an outlet in the wall. I would turn that outlet in the attic into a junction box to run the power down the wall. You can remove the oulet or leave if you need to plug in a light up there.

I don't see why you can't angle the hole if you can't get the drill straight up and down.

Good luck!

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 06:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tbird2340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the reply..

1. What would happen if I ran the wire up the wall (the TV power wire)? Noise?

2. Because the spade bit won't "grab" at an angle.. Plus, I have to go through (2) 2x4's so I wouldn't think that would work (going at an angle).
tbird2340 is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 07:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
More likely, the possibility of heat buildup. Which leads to the possibility of fire.

Have you tried one of these?

[URL=http://http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-202214103/h_d2/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&keyword=irwin&storeId=10051#.UDOX0Br5Cfk]IRwin Speedbor[/URL]

Believe me, it WILL grab! AND go through 2 2x4s.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tbird2340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlogan6797 View Post

Have you tried one of theses? Believe me, it WILL grab.
[URL=http://anywhere from around $70 to $90 as a guess per sqft]http://anywhere from around $70 to $90 as a guess per sqft[/URL]

Huh?
tbird2340 is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 07:29 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RTROSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Central Indiana
Posts: 6,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 46
If you did not want to hassle with going through the wall you could always just go straight up to the attic and then cover the wires with a decorative cover like what I did. It is easier and not permanent. Here is an example.



Obviously it does not need to be this big (I was incorporating a speaker stand too) but gives you another idea that is different than trying to drill holes though the wall and such.

Food for thought.

Regards,

RTROSE

My (slower than molasses) HT build here.
Now a Certified Carpet Counselor and Plumbing Counselor (Self given titles - pay no attention).
Enjoying my "almost done" theater.
RTROSE is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Fixed....and the insert link doesn't seem to be working the way it used.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 07:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tbird2340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlogan6797 View Post

More likely, the possibility of heat buildup. Which leads to the possibility of fire.
Have you tried one of these?
[URL=http://http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-202214103/h_d2/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&keyword=irwin&storeId=10051#.UDOX0Br5Cfk]IRwin Speedbor[/URL]
Believe me, it WILL grab! AND go through 2 2x4s.

Woh.. That thing looks badass.. No, I haven't tried one of those, YET!! smile.gif

Thanks!
tbird2340 is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 08:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
You've got to hold on tight to your drill because that thing WILL torque the drill. The tight spiral on the tip will dig in fast and as soon as the big blades hit the wood the drill will want to spin. Make sure there's nothing in the way that your hands will hit as the drill spins, because it will surprise the crap out you. I'd recommend practice drilling in a couple of scrap 2x4s first to get the feel for it. I'm just sayin'. I know from experience. I learned that I only use it in my hammer drill (the cheap Harbor Freight one I bought) becasue it has the second handle and MAN, it goes through ANYTHING. When I was running my electric, it would run through the narrow side of 2x4 in about 3 or 4 seconds. I could bore all the holes in an entire wall of studs in about 5 minutes.

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 09:12 AM
Senior Member
 
macfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fenton, Michigan
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlogan6797 View Post

More likely, the possibility of heat buildup. Which leads to the possibility of fire.
Have you tried one of these?
[URL=http://http://www.homedepot.com/h_d1/N-5yc1v/R-202214103/h_d2/ProductDisplay?catalogId=10053&langId=-1&keyword=irwin&storeId=10051#.UDOX0Br5Cfk]IRwin Speedbor[/URL]
Believe me, it WILL grab! AND go through 2 2x4s.

Tom is correct on this. I got rid of all of my spade bits. The Irwin Speedbor bits are all I use now. They grab and cut much more cleanly than a spade bit and my Ryobi cordless drill has plenty of juice to power them. I got a set of them at Menard's far cheaper than Home Depot. They often are on sale at Menard's as well. You might want to pick up the Irwin extension for them as it will come in handy when you want to go through multiple 2xs at a time or drill a hole on a angle. To add to Tom's advice in his other post be sure and wear gloves when using these. The grab and torque is unbelieveable and will slam your hands into anything nearby, so you will want to protect them. My cordless Ryobi drill has two gear ratios and changing gear ratios helps with dealing with the the torque. One more caution. If you are up on a ladder using these be sure you have good balance and footing or these bits will send you flying across the room.
macfan is offline  
post #11 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 09:28 AM
AVS Special Member
 
RTROSE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: South Central Indiana
Posts: 6,157
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 46
^^^I second or is it third the speedbore bits. They are monsters when it comes to boring lots of clean holes. They will surprise you in the torque department as Tom said, I banged more than a knuckle or two in the learning process. They will also go through nails and thin metal plates and Romex already run (don't ask). redface.gif Just know what is on the other side (or in the way) before you drill. DUH!

Regards,

RTROSE

My (slower than molasses) HT build here.
Now a Certified Carpet Counselor and Plumbing Counselor (Self given titles - pay no attention).
Enjoying my "almost done" theater.
RTROSE is offline  
post #12 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 09:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,068
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 78
I'd also run category cable for LAN.

Arlington offers some nice junction boxes, for behind the TV, for a mix of LV and outlets.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #13 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tbird2340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies guys..

Yea, if I'm going to run the electric down the wall instead of just putting the cord up the wall I guess I'll need two boxes.. One for an outlet, and then another for HDMI and coax..

I'd love to run ethernet but my switch is no where near the attic area..
tbird2340 is offline  
post #14 of 16 Old 08-21-2012, 06:24 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tbird2340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well I got through! Drilled a hole in two different locations for my runs.. Just ran some pull wires for now..

Test mounted the TV and a have a few issues..

1. I thought my wall mount gave the ability to adjust vertically.. Found that not to be the case and I will have to friggin lower it..

2. My manual says to have 11" clearance on the top and 4" on the bottom.. Well I have 8" total to work with.. I'm thinking of just putting it in the center and having 4" on both top and bottom and just hoping I don't have an issue.. Thoughts on this?

3. There is like no effin room behind this thing!!! How do people plug things in!?!? I guess I'll definitely have to go recessed.. I wanted to get an outlet that had surge protection in it but I'm not sure they have those in recessed (or is that just the box that does that).. Same with coax and HDMI. Do they have recessed for that?

Thanks!



tbird2340 is offline  
post #15 of 16 Old 08-22-2012, 05:22 AM
AVS Special Member
 
tlogan6797's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Northern VA
Posts: 4,834
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 36
Quote:
Well I got through! Drilled a hole in two different locations for my runs.. Just ran some pull wires for now..

Glad to hear it! Did you use the Speedbor bit?

Sorry, I can't really comment on the mount issue as I haven't mounted any TVs.
Quote:
There is like no effin room behind this thing!!! How do people plug things in!?!?
Although I have seen these....maybe they would help you out....they're called port savers....

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10419&cs_id=1041913&p_id=7702&seq=1&format=2

Tom Logan
Everytime I reply the thread ends
Need motivation? Get LOGANED
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1014847

An as-yet un-named theater designed by Big-WarrenP-BritInVA
tlogan6797 is offline  
post #16 of 16 Old 08-22-2012, 05:58 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tbird2340's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Poland, OH
Posts: 160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tlogan6797 View Post

Glad to hear it! Did you use the Speedbor bit?
Sorry, I can't really comment on the mount issue as I haven't mounted any TVs.

Actually no.. I just used a short 1.5" spade bit with my driver (a lot shorter than my drill and even my angle drill)..
tbird2340 is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off