Need some quick help please....Dish DVR and Receiver connection via HDMI - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
roadratx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am installing a new receiver (Onkyo 717). I hooked up the Dish VIP722 DVR to the Receiver via HDMI. I get NO display on the TV.

I then connected the old component cables and I get a display on the TV.

So I tried another HDMI cable and still nothing.

Then I tried hooking up a WD TV Live to the receiver (Onkyo 717) and here again, NO display.

Is there a setting on the DVR that I need to change? Or a setting on the Receiver?

Likewise with the WD, is there a setting to push out via HDMI instead of composite?
roadratx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 01:45 PM
 
gregzoll's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 2,524
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 32
Did you go through the set up on the receiver, and also make sure that you have the output on the av receiver connected to the tv, and the Input correct on the tv?
gregzoll is offline  
post #3 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 02:03 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
roadratx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Initial set up complete
Output to TV is done and verified by the fact that the dvr component connection works
Input on tv is correct also verified as above

I checked the onkyo manual and it does not indicate that there is automatic switching... Or not
roadratx is offline  
post #4 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 02:20 PM
Senior Member
 
macfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fenton, Michigan
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadratx View Post

Initial set up complete
Output to TV is done and verified by the fact that the dvr component connection works
Input on tv is correct also verified as above
I checked the onkyo manual and it does not indicate that there is automatic switching... Or not

Sounds like a HDMI handshake problem to me. If that is the problem there is not too much you can do about it until your satellite company updates their software. The problem is that this is a moving target as the copy protection is constantly changing. Hollywood is hung up on people "sharing" movies and has instituted all kinds of "safeguards" to keep that from happening now. All that does is piss off the general population even more and makes them more determined to "borrow" movies. Out of curiosity you might try hooking up your blu ray player via HDMI and see if that will work. If it does that will tell you it is an HDMI handshake problem and your DVR receiver software needs to be updated. I have Directv, and they have this problem too, but have greatly improved it with software updates. Directv still has some combinations that do not work well together and their current solution is to send the subscriber a set of component cables.
macfan is offline  
post #5 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
roadratx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do we explain the wd tv live issue then? It has the same problem.
roadratx is offline  
post #6 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 02:41 PM
Senior Member
 
macfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fenton, Michigan
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadratx View Post

How do we explain the wd tv live issue then? It has the same problem.

I am not familiar with how the WD Live thing works but still think it could be a HDMI handshake issue. If that WD Live thing downloads movies my guess is they have some kind of copy protection embedded in them. I could be wrong on where the software needs updated. It could be your AVR's software that needs updated and not your Dish receiver. Have you tried hooking up your Dish receiver directly and bypassing the AVR?
macfan is offline  
post #7 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 03:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadratx View Post

Initial set up complete
Output to TV is done and verified by the fact that the dvr component connection works
Input on tv is correct also verified as above

DVR component connection to the Onkyo? Component or HDMI out from the Onkyo to the TV? Component output from the Onkyo doesn't prove anything about the HDMI connections...

With the Onkyo connected to the TV with HDMI only, can you see the on-screen display / setup menu / digital streaming sources built into the Onkyo? Have you connected the HDMI cable to the main output (not the 'sub' output) on the Onkyo?

Did you connect the DVR via HDMI direct to the TV? Have you been using the DVR with component or HDMI previously? Same question for the WD TV. Use the same HDMI input for this testing.

What model of TV? Is this a recent unit or several years old?

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #8 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
roadratx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

DVR component connection to the Onkyo? Component or HDMI out from the Onkyo to the TV? Component output from the Onkyo doesn't prove anything about the HDMI connections...
With the Onkyo connected to the TV with HDMI only, can you see the on-screen display / setup menu / digital streaming sources built into the Onkyo? Have you connected the HDMI cable to the main output (not the 'sub' output) on the Onkyo?
Did you connect the DVR via HDMI direct to the TV? Have you been using the DVR with component or HDMI previously? Same question for the WD TV. Use the same HDMI input for this testing.
What model of TV? Is this a recent unit or several years old?


Component out from the Onkyo to the TV

older tv... no HDMI ....Mitsubishi WS55413 ...no onscreen display
roadratx is offline  
post #9 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 03:27 PM
Senior Member
 
macfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fenton, Michigan
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadratx View Post

Component out from the Onkyo to the TV
older tv... no HDMI ....Mitsubishi WS55413 ...no onscreen display

jautor just proved to you what I have been saying all along. You have a HDMI handshake issue with your new AVR. Unless you can download new firmware for it the only workaround for the time being is to use component cables.


I just remembered that when I set up my Onkyo you had to assign ports to the various options like s-video to Video 1. Have you done that?
macfan is offline  
post #10 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 03:38 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
roadratx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by macfan View Post

jautor just proved to you what I have been saying all along. You have a HDMI handshake issue with your new AVR. Unless you can download new firmware for it the only workaround for the time being is to use component cables.
I just remembered that when I set up my Onkyo you had to assign ports to the various options like s-video to Video 1. Have you done that?

I have not done that. The manual is pretty useless. Can you walk me thru it? Keep in mind I don't have on screen display.
roadratx is offline  
post #11 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 03:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadratx View Post

Component out from the Onkyo to the TV
older tv... no HDMI ....Mitsubishi WS55413 ...no onscreen display

Ok, there's your problem. There is NO conversion from HDMI to component on any receiver. You will need to run everything via component video. HDMI will NOT work for you.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #12 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
roadratx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Ok, there's your problem. There is NO conversion from HDMI to component on any receiver. You will need to run everything via component video. HDMI will NOT work for you.
Jeff

What do you make of Post #15....
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1428939/need-some-guidance-on-upgrading-my-home-theater-receiver#post_22410063

I was under the belief that upgrading to a receiver with HDMI inputs would allow me to run my WD TV Live (which is much like a Roku or Apple TV) through the theater system. Is Post 15 wrong?

There is no component outputs on the WD....only composite (yuck) or HDMI.

I am so freaking confused.
roadratx is offline  
post #13 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 04:29 PM
Senior Member
 
macfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Fenton, Michigan
Posts: 232
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadratx View Post

I have not done that. The manual is pretty useless. Can you walk me thru it? Keep in mind I don't have on screen display.

It has been some time since I have done that and my manual is buried away someplace in the basement. I do remember my manual was like a small telephone book though so I am surprised at you saying yours is useless. You might check online and see if there is a more complete manual for your AVR. So many ot these tech companies are cutting costs by just enclosing a quick start guide now days. I am confused at jautor's last post. On my Onkyo all ports are live all the time except that you need to assign them. The only display you will need is the one on the AVR. I remember when I first set mine up I had some questions and called the Onkyo tech line. It was about useless. I bought my AVR from a guy online so I couldn't get any help from him either. I got out my Yellow Pages and called an Onkyo dealer and they were very helpful even though I didn't buy my AVR from them. You might try that.


PS: One other thought I had. You might go on the AVR Forum part of AVS and ask your questions. This part of AVS is more focused on building and setting up a Home Theater.
macfan is offline  
post #14 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 05:04 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,782
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 115 Post(s)
Liked: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by roadratx View Post

What do you make of Post #15....
http://www.avsforum.com/t/1428939/need-some-guidance-on-upgrading-my-home-theater-receiver#post_22410063
I was under the belief that upgrading to a receiver with HDMI inputs would allow me to run my WD TV Live (which is much like a Roku or Apple TV) through the theater system. Is Post 15 wrong?

Different topic, really. Yes, many (most?) newer AVRs will upconvert just about anything *to* HDMI. But once the signal is HDMI, it will NOT convert it "down" to an analog signal like component video. While not a true copy protection scheme, it is prohibited by the HDMI group to supposedly prevent "easy" copying of material.
Quote:
There is no component outputs on the WD....only composite (yuck) or HDMI.

There are some external devices (HDFury, and monoprice has one) to convert HDMI to component video.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10114&cs_id=1011410&p_id=8125&seq=1&format=2

I would suggest trying that on the output of a single device (the WDTV), or ensuring that all HDMI devices in your setup are fixed at the same resolution - these converters work better when things don't change around them...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #15 of 15 Old 09-22-2012, 06:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
roadratx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
thanks for all your help, macfan and jautor.

I'm given up for now. AV stuff is above my pay grade

when my tv bites the dust, I'll hire a pro to fix me up with a new receiver and tv at the same time....along with whatever new goodies are out by then
roadratx is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off