Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 85 Old 11-02-2012, 06:07 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 27
EDIT - 11/28/2012

I've now decided to just make this my "build" log thread instead. Will update it with more information as it progresses smile.gif

ORIGINAL POST

My first projector (Panasonic AE8000) ever arrived yesterday and I started playing around with it. I wanted to get the projector first before the screen because I wanted to project onto the place where the screen will be, to see what would look good size wise. I did not want to go too big with the screen first so I went this route. Below are a few pics I took last night:

http://imgur.com/a/NFEJ4

The screen in that picture is probably around 126" and I'm going to be sitting about 13-14 feet back. I did have it sized to 120" and I think that size was a good size for what I like, so I'm probably going to go with that.

And before some of the next questions are addressed, I would like to mention that I do already have a Denon 4311ci and will be using that as the AVR powering everything.

Now I have a couple of questions in general...

#1.

I know it is recommended to have dark walls in the room you will be using the projector, however I did not realize just how much the white colored walls/ceiling/carpet would reflect light. The opening beach scene where it just shows the shore/beach before they show the boats coming in almost looked washed out because of the reflections, and this was in a pitch dark room.

So my wife is cool with me painting the wall and possibly the ceiling. I would prefer to not go black and just like a dark red or blue, if that would work. Is that something that would work? And if so, what finish is best?

Additionally, would putting down some sort of black carpet on the ground where the screen is be something that would help as well, or will painting the wall be good enough?