LG BH4120s - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-04-2012, 04:24 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
thepete1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Everyone
I bought a cheap HTIB on black friday for $100
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16882005116&nm_mc=KNC-GoogleAdwords&cm_mmc=KNC-GoogleAdwords-_-pla-_-NA-_-NA

I know it is not the greatest but for the money the sound is actually great.
What I want to do is connect the speakers to my Sony receiver as the receiver it came with does not have an optical input It only has an RCA L/R input which I understand will not give me true surround sound.

The problem is this: The subwoofer uses only regular speaker wire to connect as it does not have a bulit in amplifier. I know this will not allow me to connect to a receiver that only has a single RCA out but my receiver has 2 RCA outs for the sub.
The receiver is a STR-DE635
I found a picture of the back here
http://greencitizen.dreamhosters.com/ebay/BG1211082151/005.JPG

Is there anyway I can connect my sub to this?
If not I have a Bose PC speaker system that has a powered sub. Can I connect that to the receiver? It also harnesses the controls for the bose set but I only want to use the sub if needed.

Thnaks for the help!
thepete1 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-04-2012, 09:38 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,308
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by thepete1 View Post

What I want to do is connect the speakers to my Sony receiver as the receiver it came with does not have an optical input It only has an RCA L/R input which I understand will not give me true surround sound.

Why did you buy an HTiB system if you already had a receiver? eek.gif

In general, the "cheapest" part of most HTiB systems are the speakers. And that's all you'd be using out of the pack...
Quote:
The problem is this: The subwoofer uses only regular speaker wire to connect as it does not have a bulit in amplifier. I know this will not allow me to connect to a receiver that only has a single RCA out but my receiver has 2 RCA outs for the sub.

Is there anyway I can connect my sub to this?

No.

The sub is unpowered (it's just a speaker). "RCA outputs" are line-level, un-amplified outputs from the receiver. As the market moved to self-contained "powered" subwoofers, AV receivers responded with a line-level output, leaving amplification to the sub itself.
Quote:
If not I have a Bose PC speaker system that has a powered sub. Can I connect that to the receiver? It also harnesses the controls for the bose set but I only want to use the sub if needed.

Hard to say, but knowing Bose, probably not.

Sorry.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off