AVS Forum banner

Help getting around bad builder decisions

2K views 18 replies 4 participants last post by  Neurorad 
#1 ·
Hey guys, so I am planning on moving my TV from a TV stand on one wall in my living room to mounting it above my (false/electric) fireplace. Unfortunately this is way more complicated than it sounds and I'm looking for any input or insights from the experts
Let me start off by saying I'm not new at this by any means, I've wired the house for Ethernet and centralized the power supply and network interface for my DirecTV setup, and I work in IT/data center ops in my alternate life. I'm just kind of banging my head against the wall, so to speak, about how to do this particular job as cheaply but more importantly as cleanly as possible.

First, the equipment:

50" Samsung Plasma TV, about 4 years old, so it's not particularly thin. 75lbs, 4 HDMI inputs, optical only for audio output

Samsung bluray home theater in a box. Anynet+ between this and the TV, optical only for audio input.

Xbox 360

DirecTV Genie DVR (main box, not a client box)

Apple TV

Wii (with a Wii to HDMI adapter)

A stack of vintage video game systems (about 4 or 5 old RF, S-Video, or Composite sources)

I also already have a 4x2 HDMI matrix from Monoprice as well as a set of HDMI over Cat5 baluns (the set that require two cables and are powered at the receiving end) leftover from a previous since abandoned plan to distribute living room sources to my bedroom.

Next, the wall: