Another "I need advice" thread - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 01-10-2013, 08:11 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,
AV newbie here. We've just agreed to buy our house off plan, and as such we have decisions to make about finishes and customization's. We've never had a house that has had the space for any HT stuff, so this is quite exciting. We have a meeting with the designer in a week, where we have to finalize the plan and any changes after that will cost $$$. So I'm looking for advice on how to lay out our bonus room and living room. What we should ask the builder to put into the walls - wiring wise, speaker wise. What would you do if you had the same layout. As part of it, I also need advice on hardware, as we just have a 51" Samsung telly. Apparently it is a "smart home", with some fandangled box in the master WIC. (The model home had the box locked so I've no idea what it is or what's inside)

We plan to use the living room as the main TV watching point and for the occasional movie. The bonus room is for movies, PC gaming, and the occasional TV. We don't intend on having theater seating (maybe in the future) just comfy couches. I have most of my movie collection stored on a PC. I would like to be able to "broadcast"(?) a movie to any of the TV's in the house, so what would I need for that?

Here is the plan of the house.

There is possibly going to be a door in the south wall of the bonus room.
There is no fireplace in the family room, but there will be a false wall there.
There are recessed lights in both rooms.
I have asked for cat5 network points wherever there is a TV point. (seemed like a good idea at the time)
The budget for toys is not fixed, but I would like to keep it at 10K.

Thanks for taking the time to read and providing any advice.

Regards
Chris
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 01-10-2013, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Quoted: 218 Post(s)