Gaps between rigid foam and floor - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 Old 02-06-2013, 11:27 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kamleshg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So i've got 1 room framed/insulated, but still am questioning my mold proofing techniques.
So my walls are bit over 8' by like 1-2", so the 4x8' sheets of rigid foam dont quite cover floor to ceiling.
I have my framing up 4" from the insulation, so i can visually see the gap between the floor and insulation, is that ok?

Or do i get a couple of big-gap great stuff cans and fill them up?
kamleshg is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 02-06-2013, 12:20 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 111
No point in putting any insulation on the wall if you leave a hole where the cold can come in. Rigid foam can be cut with little effort..
airscapes is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 02-06-2013, 01:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kamleshg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Agree, but the joint where walls meet the floor is not straight, and I've already framed around it.
Would Great Stuff be sufficient, that big-gap stuff expands to fit 1-2" gaps
kamleshg is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 02-06-2013, 01:35 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 111
They don't call it Great Stuff for nutin.. If it expands out, let it dry for a day or 3 then cut it flush with the rigid foam.
airscapes is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 02-06-2013, 02:49 PM
Advanced Member
 
weaselfest's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Home of the Hawkeyes
Posts: 502
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 32
an old steak knife is the tool of choice here

underachiever extraordinaire
weaselfest is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 02-07-2013, 08:47 AM
Member
 
bepperb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Great stuff might have a hard time with a 2" gap, I do see they have a "big gaps" version of it, though. You might consider some pipe insulation to push in there instead, or both.

I'm not quite understanding, though, why the bottom 1" of the wall must be insulated but the 4" of concrete floor is fine? Is the floor poured on top of foamboard or ??? I did platon (think drycore) right up to the foamboard and taped that seam.
bepperb is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 02-07-2013, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
kamleshg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I guess i didt give enough details, the 2x4's outter edge is 4" from the insulation, in other words theres a gap between my insulation and framing.
It varies from nothing to almost 1/2" in some places, the concrete walls arent plumb.
kamleshg is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 02-07-2013, 10:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,617
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 111
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamleshg View Post

I guess i didt give enough details, the 2x4's outter edge is 4" from the insulation, in other words theres a gap between my insulation and framing.
It varies from nothing to almost 1/2" in some places, the concrete walls arent plumb.

Hey, how about a picture or 2?
airscapes is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 02-07-2013, 01:16 PM
Member
 
bepperb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 118
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by kamleshg View Post

I guess i didt give enough details, the 2x4's outter edge is 4" from the insulation, in other words theres a gap between my insulation and framing.
It varies from nothing to almost 1/2" in some places, the concrete walls arent plumb.

That makes sense. I assume when you can "see" the gap that means it's over 1-1/2" high. Yeah, that needs to be filled in with something. I'd stuff the pipe insulation and then great stuff it in, or cut foam scraps and GS them in.
bepperb is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off