Block light from AV equipment, but not IR signal - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02-10-2013, 12:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adoniram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
So I'm going to have a media center/console in the front of my media room to hold the goods (PS3, receiver, etc) and I want to block the light from these devices, but not the IR signal from the remote. I was thinking of putting cabinet doors on with speaker mesh, rather than solid wood or glass. I've seen someone else do this and it appears to work well enough, but I wanted to get some other opinions. I know there's some stands with tinted glass but those don't seem to block much...

Any opinions or examples would be great appreciated!
Adoniram is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 02-10-2013, 12:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Jim McC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oconomowoc, WI.
Posts: 5,924
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 33
Some devices allow you to dim the lights in the menu. Have you checked into that? And some people put a small piece of black tape over the lights.
Jim McC is online now  
Old 02-10-2013, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,880
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 140
This stuff works nice and very inexpensive.
They have silver and black. Once installed it cuts the light nice.
http://www.lightdims.com/
airscapes is online now  
Old 02-10-2013, 02:25 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adoniram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I hadn't thought of checking the menus, that's a good idea. And those light dims are actually nice looking! The website was so flashy I was expecting extortionist pricing, but it's very reasonable! I might not need the cabinet doors after all... I'll just watch one or two movies and see how it goes. Thanks for the tips!
Adoniram is offline  
Old 02-11-2013, 09:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 117
I've used the Lightdims and they work well. I had my first shipment get lost in the mail, and they sent me the replacements fast. cool.gif
NickTheGreat is online now  
Old 02-11-2013, 10:16 AM
Advanced Member
 
tezster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Mississauga, Canada
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 76
This looks like a great idea. While the main display area for most equipment may be dimmable, the power indicators aren't. Lightdims looks like a cost-effective solution.
tezster is online now  
Old 02-13-2013, 07:43 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctviggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,953
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 19
This is why I put my location for equipment behind me -- so I wouldn't be bothered by all the lights. It does require an RF remote, though, for the best experience.

Bob
ctviggen is offline  
Old 02-13-2013, 01:31 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Adoniram's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Posts: 55
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Unfortunately, the game room is immediately behind the back wall of the media room. I would have to build into that room in order to create some shelving there. I suppose it's an option for the future, but not something I'm wanting to get into right now.
Adoniram is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off