Center speaker - add more juce - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 02-27-2013, 06:21 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
markgoldin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking for a way to make a center louder for better movie experience. I dont want to make it louder in an amplifier because that will affect everything including watching TV - it will be too loud. I am thinking to put a local mono amplifier between a main one and a center speaker. Is it in general a good idea?

Thanks
markgoldin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 02-27-2013, 09:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Your AVR should have adjustments for the individual speaker levels - increase the center by a few dB, and/or back off the L/R/Surround channels to make the center relatively louder than the others. Also check the placement of your center - make sure it's not creating reflections that produce muddy sound. Bring the speaker to the front edge of any TV/stand/cabinet that it's sitting on.

But adding a separate, outboard amp for one channel is going to be expensive and may not be possible if your AVR doesn't have pre-amp outputs.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 02-28-2013, 04:02 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
markgoldin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
But I thought I would connect center speaker output from main AVR into an input of a mono amplifier and connect its output to the center speaker. Will that work?
markgoldin is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 02-28-2013, 05:15 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by markgoldin View Post

But I thought I would connect center speaker output from main AVR into an input of a mono amplifier and connect its output to the center speaker. Will that work?

BOOM. eek.gif

No, can't do that - at least, not from the speaker-level output. If your AVR has "pre-amp" output jacks, those essentially bypass the internal amp so you can use an external one.

But even if it does, this is not likely to be a path that will solve your problem. Try adjusting the speaker levels. If your AVR doesn't allow that, it's almost certainly not going to have pre-amp outputs, either...

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 02-28-2013, 05:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jayn_j's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 1,238
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Well, there are pre-amps and amplifiers out there that have low impedance inputs, but they tend to either be costly or are very modest in power (e.g. iPod amplifiers)

If you head that way, it wouled probably be more cost effective to buy a new receiver. I second Jautor's suggestion (as usual) that you look over your receiver's manual. The only receiver I have ever seen that didn't allow independent level control was a cheapo RCA HTIB system.
jayn_j is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 02-28-2013, 08:18 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
markgoldin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I know that I can change level control for each speaker. But if I do that then the center speaker will be too loud for non surround sound sources: TV, music, etc. My idea was to have an additional amp just for the center and use it for 5.1 sound only. Simply turning it on when needed.
markgoldin is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 02-28-2013, 08:33 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by markgoldin View Post

I know that I can change level control for each speaker. But if I do that then the center speaker will be too loud for non surround sound sources: TV, music, etc. My idea was to have an additional amp just for the center and use it for 5.1 sound only. Simply turning it on when needed.

If it's "too loud" in other cases, you've got something else going on. Surround modes won't affect the volume level of the center channel directly. You may have your speaker levels unbalanced now. If the AVR has a test mode, use it. If not, use a test / demo disc (the THX stuff on many BDs should have this) to help set the levels of all the speakers correctly.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #8 of 11 Old 02-28-2013, 09:57 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
markgoldin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Directly or not, watching HD movies has a known problem. If a volume is set at a level to have a speech loud enough then all sound effects (flying bullets and s...t) are way too loud. Bringing it down makes a speech is harder to listen to.
markgoldin is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 02-28-2013, 02:09 PM
Advanced Member
 
rekbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somers, CT
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Most amps have a midnight mode that does just what you want, reduces the suround effects but makes the dialoge louder. What model amp do you have

Smart enough to know better, to old to care
rekbones is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 02-28-2013, 02:13 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
markgoldin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have pioneer elite vsx 21.
markgoldin is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 02-28-2013, 07:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
rekbones's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somers, CT
Posts: 531
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 48
Your reciever has the midnight option it's on the remote. look on page 34 of your manual

Smart enough to know better, to old to care
rekbones is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off