Low voltage conduit rough-in question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 03-08-2013, 03:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Tehrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am about 5 weeks out from doing the low voltage rough-in in my new house and had some questions for the gang here at AVS:

I'm going to be running 1" carlon orange conduit from all my LV boxes to a structured wiring panel. My wiring panel will chase to the attic where necessary and I was wondering what the best practice/code compliant method was for reducing my 1" conduit runs down to the chase. Will I need a junction box somewhere in the attic? Can I just leave the 1" conduits open ended somewhere near the chase(s)?
Tehrab is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 03-08-2013, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 79
The conduit can end in the attic without connecting to anything.

I suggest you install cables during construction, outside of the conduit, and also install empty conduit. The conduit is for future cables you forgot or aren't available yet, e.g. HDMI 2.0.

If you don't like leaving the conduit open to critters/bugs, you can use Duct Seal putty.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 03-08-2013, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 79
FYI, 1" is kind of small for HDMI connectors.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 03-08-2013, 04:18 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Tehrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Awesome, thanks for that info. Also, my HDMI runs are a separate concern altogether.
Tehrab is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 03-09-2013, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ctviggen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,894
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neurorad View Post

FYI, 1" is kind of small for HDMI connectors.

1 inch is way too small, especially to put cable through.

Bob
ctviggen is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 03-11-2013, 09:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mn_hokie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Minneapolis, MN
Posts: 2,535
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 27
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctviggen View Post

1 inch is way too small, especially to put cable through.

2 inch minimum, with 3-4 preferred.
mn_hokie is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 03-16-2013, 10:47 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Tehrab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 8
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My HDMI runs have dedicated framing. Framing which will also house my conduit.
Tehrab is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 03-16-2013, 11:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Neurorad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Give a monkey a brain...
Posts: 5,071
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 79
Your will have a tough time putting new HDMI cables through that conduit, in 10 years.

But, by then, we may just serve content from our home networks, so who knows if you'll ever need the conduit. If you are installing the conduit so you can run a new HDMI cable some day, use 1.5" at a minimum.

Believe nothing, no matter where you read it, or who said it, no matter if I have said it, unless it agrees with your own reason and your own common sense. -Buddha

Give a monkey a brain and he'll swear he's the center of the universe. -Fishbone
Neurorad is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off