ARGH! HDMI, optical, speaker wire, I have no idea - HELP!!! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 06-29-2013, 02:11 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
statona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I hope that got some of the experts attention (thank you for reading). I'm pulling a bunch of equipment out of my home theater (built in 2005) to the living room and going to repurpose most of it. See equipment list below.

Equipment:
Marantz 7001 Receiver (HDMI 1.2, no 3D capability)
Future XBox owner
LG 55LA7400 (spanking brand new) HD, 3D, smart TV
2 fronts, 4 rears, 1 Center, 2 subs
In the rest of the house, 3 rooms, 2 speakers in each room.
Small amp to run the rest of the house
A box that handles 4 rooms of speakers via dials.
Equipment is about 40 feet from the TV/theater speakers.
Comcast cable box

Cables I think I need (I believe that because my receiver only handles HDMI 1.2 (No 3d), I need to run a separate hdmi from the cable box to the TV, and a optical line to the receiver. If this is wrong, your guidance and expertise would be appreciated.

2 40ft. redmere hi res HDMI cables (cable to tv, xbox to receiver, or xbox to tv)
250 feet of speaker wire (but I don't know what guage)
2 Optical cables (from the cable box to the receiver, and from xbox to receiver)
?? - Do I need to buy some type of cable from my tv to the receiver to play audio of the apps (Pandora, netflix, etc)?


Harmon Ultimate Remote

Concerns/Issues

To 3d or not to 3d. Because my receiver does not handle 3d, I'm have read on here there may be issues in regard to splitting the audio and video signal in two directions from the cable box, because they may not sync appropriately.

Any and all help would be really appreciated in regard to this.
statona is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 06-29-2013, 02:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,938
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 186 Post(s)
Liked: 360
Quote:
Originally Posted by statona View Post

To 3d or not to 3d.

Not.

smile.gif

Unless you've got a 3D-capable BD player, what 3D content do you expect to use?

Honestly, unless you really want 3D, skipping it means you can just wire up everything "normally" to the AVR and one HDMI to the display. If you want to use apps within the TV, you'll need to run a digital audio cable from the TV back to the AVR as a source.

For speaker wire, Monoprice 14AWG is fine. You said 250 feet - if you're running this in the walls, get the in-wall CL2/CL3 rated Monorprice stuff.


Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

Tags
Lg 55la7400 55 Inch Cinema 3d Led Smarttv
Gear in this thread

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off