component to hdmi convert support 3d? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-18-2013, 08:26 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ali Ahmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
hi guys

so i bought a house basement came with component hookups for projector. I thought lets have a home theater, i went out and got a bose speaker system with pioneer receiver and epson 3020 3d projector

at first i couldn't connect the 2 cuz receiver does not output component only hdmi. so from amazon i got a convert to convert hdmi in to component out... everything is hooked up and working amazingly.

one problem i cant watch 3d my projector is 3d. I was thinking if i place a 2nd box which will convert the component going to the projector to an hdmi 1,4 with 3d support will my 3d work?

anyone can help me...

i cannot rip the roof and walls to put in an HDMI

(please use dummy proof language im an idiot when it comes to electronics)


please help

much appretiated
Ali Ahmed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-18-2013, 10:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,070
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 367
You cannot run 3D over component video. Simply won't work.

So you have component video cables run to the projector? Anything else run to the projector?

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-19-2013, 07:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ali Ahmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
there is an s video cable but there is no s video input in the projector

if i was to convert the component back to hdmi using a converter on the projector end would i not get 3d or because theres component cables in the middle it wouldn't work...

something like this
http://www.amazon.ca/J-Tech-Digital-Registered-Trademark-Multi-Functional/dp/B008VWGLXO
Ali Ahmed is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-19-2013, 07:34 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,070
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 367
No, the ONLY way to get 3D support will be with a direct HDMI link. Period.

There are HDMI-over--cat5e and HDMI-over-coax devices (baluns / extenders) - since you have component video, you might have a decent-enough coax cable to use - but I'm not aware of any of the coax-based devices that support 3D, either.

It can be done with an HDBaseT repeater over a single cat5e.

The S-Video cable is useless - by chance can you pull on it and perhaps use it to bring a cat5e cable through? You say you "can't" open the wall/ceiling to run a new wire - why not? I understand not wanting to...

The other option is a wireless HDMI setup - you will need to do some research to see if these work as advertised. The IOGear unit is 3D-capable:

http://www.amazon.com/IOGEAR-GW3DHDKIT-Wireless-Digital-Channel/dp/B00630WKGI/ref=pd_sxp_grid_pt_0_0


Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-19-2013, 08:58 AM
AVS Special Member
 
NickTheGreat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 1,768
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 112 Post(s)
Liked: 94
I'm with jautor. Maybe the S-Video cable can be a pull string for you smile.gif
NickTheGreat is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-19-2013, 07:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Ali Ahmed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i already thought about that when i pull on the s video hes got it screw in and secured with cable hooks cuz it stops immediately and doesnt pull i have almost snapped the s video trying to put it so ya cant be a pull wire...

cant do fishing cuz my wife would kill me lol...

and after the money and time ive already spent on this she already thinks im crazy

and that link that u sent for wireless hdmi that sounds perfect... if that can be done it will save me a huge headache id love that.

now just gotta confirm that it works but reading up on it sounds like it would.... its only 200$ might aswell give it a try...

thx a lot for ur help....
Ali Ahmed is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-19-2013, 08:17 PM
Member
 
ntculenuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
You know for around the $200 range you could repair a few cuts made in the drywall and run an HDMI cable. Then there are no worries about the wireless. Making a few cuts in drywall and repair is not that hard and can be all done in a day, start to finish.

ntculenuf is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-19-2013, 09:44 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,070
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 239 Post(s)
Liked: 367
Quote:
Originally Posted by ntculenuf View Post

You know for around the $200 range you could repair a few cuts made in the drywall and run an HDMI cable. Then there are no worries about the wireless. Making a few cuts in drywall and repair is not that hard and can be all done in a day, start to finish.

Exactly, and while he's there, run a few cat6 cables to take care of whatever comes after HDMI. And we know it will work...

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-20-2013, 10:13 AM
Member
 
ntculenuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 101
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 6 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Exactly, and while he's there, run a few cat6 cables to take care of whatever comes after HDMI. And we know it will work...

very true, love cat5/6 it is the new universal cable biggrin.gif

ntculenuf is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 01-27-2014, 12:05 PM
Member
 
johnnyray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: WNC
Posts: 36
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm looking at this same problem with my own home theater I thought I future-proofed when I had the room built in 2002 with all the relevant cables going from the wall on the end of the room with the components up to and across the ceiling and to the place on the opposite wall where my ceiling-mounted Sanyo PLV-HT60 would hang. Now it is 2014 and the Sanyo has been left unused for a while due to an irritating misalignment in the red and green of the picture that I wasn't able to fix using the service menu, and I have just bought a new BenQ W1070 1080P 3D Home Theater Projector to replace it. However, the cables that were installed are: component, composite, VGA and BNC, to match what the Sanyo had at the time, needless to say there is NO HDMI.

I ordered a 25' HDMI cable, but don't relish the thought of trying to cut open the wall and ceiling (and I can't remember with way the studs and beams go, but they probably had to drill holes in them to get the wires through) to snake the new cable in. I may look at wireless HDMI or just hiding the external cable along the corners as much as I can (25' may not be enough for that option though.)
johnnyray is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

Tags
Epson V11h501020 Powerlite Home Cinema 3020 2d And 3d Home Theater Projector
Gear in this thread - V11h501020 by PriceGrabber.com

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off