PC with HDMI output question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 Old 09-26-2013, 02:36 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Barqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello everyone,

I have a PC in a conference room, 2 graphics cards one with HDMI and one with VGA or DVI output. HDMI is going into an 80" sharp LCD. The VGA is currently going into a projector in the ceiling. The 80" LCD is running at 1920x1080 and the projector only runs at max 1024x768. I am looking for a scaling box of some kind that will take the signal 1080 from the PC and scale that to the 1024x768 projector so it is not badly skewed.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Jordan
Barqs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 Old 09-26-2013, 03:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
airscapes's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Posts: 4,541
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 99
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barqs View Post

Hello everyone,

I have a PC in a conference room, 2 graphics cards one with HDMI and one with VGA or DVI output. HDMI is going into an 80" sharp LCD. The VGA is currently going into a projector in the ceiling. The 80" LCD is running at 1920x1080 and the projector only runs at max 1024x768. I am looking for a scaling box of some kind that will take the signal 1080 from the PC and scale that to the 1024x768 projector so it is not badly skewed.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Jordan

Might be more cost effective to replace the projector with one that is full HD.
airscapes is online now  
post #3 of 11 Old 09-27-2013, 01:19 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Barqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yeah, We had our local AV company come out and quote us 20k on the job due to the long throw lens. So we were investigating other options.

Thanks for your input!

Jordan
Barqs is offline  
post #4 of 11 Old 09-27-2013, 03:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Tedd's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Ontario
Posts: 3,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Doesn't the 80" hdtv have an internal scaler?

Run the computer at 1024x768 resolution and let the TV's scaler convert it to 1920x1080P.
Tedd is online now  
post #5 of 11 Old 09-27-2013, 09:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
lespurgeon's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: California
Posts: 2,455
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 40
Hmmm, got to be a better projector option. Move it in the process of relocating? The fact that you have a 4:3 projector and 16:9 TV is going to make any scaling a mess. What video card do you have - I thought I got an AMD card in a laptop to work duplicating a 4:3 image on a 16:10 screen with black side-bars. Play with those video driver options.
lespurgeon is offline  
post #6 of 11 Old 09-30-2013, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Barqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I will take a look on the Sharp 60" to see about internal scaling. I'm stuck with this projector sadly can't get approved for the 20k+ to replace it. I am running 2x amd 4350 graphics cards.

Thanks,
Jordan
Barqs is offline  
post #7 of 11 Old 09-30-2013, 01:08 PM
AVS Special Member
 
damelon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 97
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barqs View Post

Hello everyone,

I have a PC in a conference room, 2 graphics cards one with HDMI and one with VGA or DVI output. HDMI is going into an 80" sharp LCD. The VGA is currently going into a projector in the ceiling. The 80" LCD is running at 1920x1080 and the projector only runs at max 1024x768. I am looking for a scaling box of some kind that will take the signal 1080 from the PC and scale that to the 1024x768 projector so it is not badly skewed.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
Jordan

You mentioned a 20k quote on a projector due to "Throw". I know when I looked for my outdoor theater projectors, I saw several 1080P projectors which could throw a very bright image @ 1080P to almost 30' away and were around $1000. Those can all handle decently long throws with 4000+ Lumens. No lens required.

BenQ SH910
Optoma TH1060P

If you needed lens shift, the BenQ SH940 was also bright and added lens shift for around $2500.
damelon is online now  
post #8 of 11 Old 10-08-2013, 06:07 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Barqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Damelon,

The 20k would also be to run new cables (HDMI) in wall from the PC on the opposite side of the room, Along with replacing the powered projector screen in ceiling. We run a Crestron system in the room so a few of those components will need to be updated also!

If anyone has any hardware solutions I'm all ears!

Thanks,
Jordan
Barqs is offline  
post #9 of 11 Old 10-08-2013, 11:26 PM
Newbie
 
sjaak1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

You don't need any expensive hardware to do this. All you need is windows 7. Windows 7 is perfectly capable of displaying different resolutions at the same time based on your device. Right click on your desktop and select properties. Click your tv/beamer and you can assign a resolution to it.

 

You were seriously thinking about spending 20k on this??

 

Edit: You want to clone the image to the tv/beamer? In that case you will have to set the amd/ati driver to 4:3 aspect ratio (black bars) for the tv.

sjaak1234 is offline  
post #10 of 11 Old 10-09-2013, 06:57 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Barqs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey Sjaak,

Yeah that is what we were trying to avoid the black bars. Still shocking this day in age you cannot run 2 video cards to two monitors cloning the same image. You would think modern hardware would have 100x more processing power then would be needed to scale everything.

Thanks for all of your suggestions everyone.
Jordan
Barqs is offline  
post #11 of 11 Old 10-09-2013, 07:15 AM
Newbie
 
sjaak1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Except you don't want to clone the image. You want the same image displayed the same way on different aspect ratios. Obviously this cannot work because the aspect ratio is different. Depending on whether you want to clone the tv or beamer this means image information needs to be cut or added.

 

The tv will always display more information because of it's higher resolution so what you are asking would never work even if the software supports it.

 

For example: If you make a power point presentation that makes full use of the tv's 16:9 aspect ratio, you can never fit the same information on the 4:3 beamer without cropping. So you will need to keep this in mind when making your presentation at which point you might as well design it for 4:3 and go with the black bars on the tv.

 

You just cannot have a native 16:9 image and 4:3 image display the exact same picture.

sjaak1234 is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off