Help Mounting TV to IKEA Media Center - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 10-10-2013, 05:57 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have a Sony KDL-55W900A

http://store.sony.com/55-class-54.6-diag-w900a-internet-tv-zid27-KDL55W900A/cat-27-catid-All-Sony-HD-TVs

that I would like to mount to my IKEA Expedit TV Storage Unit.

http://www.ikea.com/us/en/catalog/products/30218111/

I am a complete novice when it comes to wall mounting and DIY projects of any sort, but I have been reading through the forums and the Internet and I think I have a plan on how to do this, but there are a couple of issues that I am unsure of that I would greatly appreciate any input on.

Firstly, the specs on the IKEA site state that the back panel of the unit can support up to a 55" and 55 lbs TV. My TV is is 55" and 43.4 lb, so I should be good there, but that only leaves ~11.6 lbs for the mounting bracket. After researching mounts, my current plan is to go with the Sanus VLL5.

http://www.sanus.com/us/en/products/visionmount/low-profile-mount/VLL5
http://www.bestbuy.com/site/sanus-premium-fixed-wall-mount-for-most-51-80-tvs-black/9270073.p?id=1219011467769&skuId=9270073#tab=specifications

I couldn't find a weight on the Sanus page, but the Best Buy specifications lists the mount at 5.7 lbs, giving me ~6 lbs of breathing room on the IKEA's weight rating. The mount claims it can hold up to 125 lbs, which should be more than enough, and has pretty much all of the features I could want, given my circumstances. Assuming all of this is sane up until now, this leads me to two issues: