media room in basement: need advice on media closet inputs/wires - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 Old 11-10-2013, 02:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MAbaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I'm planning on wall mounting my TV and putting all media components in a dedicated closet.  Basement is not yet finished so I'll be pulling wires from the TV to the closet inside the walls.  However, I'm not entirely sure what types of jacks I need in the wall-plate that terminates under the proposed location of my TV.  The media closet will house an A/V receiver, cable box, Roku and Xbox.  Can I can connect all these devices via HDMI to the receiver, and then have a single HDMI cable that goes from the receiver to the TV?  If that's the case, I think I only need a single HDMI jack on my wall-plate.  Does this sound right?

 

Any other tips about my proposed installation would be much appreciated, as I am a complete noob when it comes to this stuff.

 

-Mitch

MAbaza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 Old 11-11-2013, 12:30 PM
Member
 
gatorchad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Sandy Springs, GA
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Sounds like you are using the TV as a monitor with the sound from the receiver. Only HDMI and power are required. As a future proofing, I might suggest running a second HDMI and an ethernet jack (for smart TV functions). Otherwise you don't have to make it any more complicated than it is. smile.gif
gatorchad is offline  
post #3 of 8 Old 11-11-2013, 01:00 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 341
HDMI, plus at least 2 cat5e / cat6 wires (to allow for Ethernet, HDBaseT, or something else), but if you want to truly be future-proof, run a flex conduit (empty) so you can add wires in the future...

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #4 of 8 Old 11-11-2013, 01:24 PM
Senior Member
 
gec5741's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Chcago
Posts: 408
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

HDMI, plus at least 2 cat5e / cat6 wires (to allow for Ethernet, HDBaseT, or something else), but if you want to truly be future-proof, run a flex conduit (empty) so you can add wires in the future...

And don't forget to add a pull string in the conduit to help pull the cable when and if needed.
gec5741 is offline  
post #5 of 8 Old 11-11-2013, 01:35 PM
Member
 
fstanek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Cincinnati, OH
Posts: 43
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Make sure to have conduit.

Also, you'll want to run an extension for the Xbox Kinect (when it becomes available).

fstanek is offline  
post #6 of 8 Old 11-11-2013, 04:57 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MAbaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by fstanek View Post

Make sure to have conduit.


I'm not sure I follow. Do you mean that I should run 1/2" steel conduit from the TV to the media closet?

Also, you'll want to run an extension for the Xbox Kinect (when it becomes available).
MAbaza is offline  
post #7 of 8 Old 11-11-2013, 05:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
MAbaza's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by gatorchad View Post

Sounds like you are using the TV as a monitor with the sound from the receiver. Only HDMI and power are required. As a future proofing, I might suggest running a second HDMI and an ethernet jack (for smart TV functions). Otherwise you don't have to make it any more complicated than it is. smile.gif

Hi gator,

Many TVs come with Netflix,YouTube apps bundled. Will I be able to pipe sound from the TV back to the receiver using the same HDMI cable?

Thanks!
MAbaza is offline  
post #8 of 8 Old 11-11-2013, 07:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,684
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote:
Originally Posted by MAbaza View Post

I'm not sure I follow. Do you mean that I should run 1/2" steel conduit from the TV to the media closet?

Not a rigid steel conduit, rather a flexible plastic (PVC) conduit meant for this purpose. Generic name is "Smurf tube" because the general-purpose stuff is bright blue. Carlon Resigard is one of the brands for the (orange) low-volt version (either will work). You'd like 1-1/2" conduit if possible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by MAbaza View Post

Many TVs come with Netflix,YouTube apps bundled. Will I be able to pipe sound from the TV back to the receiver using the same HDMI cable?

If both the TV and the AVR support the HDMI v1.4 feature called "Audio Return Channel" (ARC), you can do that.


Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off