bought my own house so i can have a theater again :) - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 13 Old 12-15-2013, 07:31 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

just getting started on this , so excited. i have a few extra rooms in my house. im single again and have a pretty large house, so room to play. not a high budget though, still paying for the last ex. so i ripped a wall out in my basement. i have a 25 foot long room. as you can see its thin, only 9 feet 9 inches wide the first 13 feet, then its 13 feet wide. i am a truck driver so little time to work on this, only home on weekends. but i cleared the room out myself, and hired a guy to drywall. i had him put wire in for a 9.2 system. i wanted the speaker wire coming out the very top corners but hoping i can make this work. does a screen mount off the wall or totally flat on it? if i can mount it a half inch off the wall i can run the wire up and out, its irritating though, maybe just gotta cut it out before i paint.
drywall and mudding is done, carpet goes in tomorrow, really tried painting first but was rushed and broke, our christmas party is in that room mainly so i just want carpet for now.
i have a mishmash of speakers from before, klipsch surrounds, a def tech sub, infinity front, and pioneer towers, probably gonna get all new but may need to use these until i can afford it. i have had these in storage for 5 years so maybe not in shape anyway.
i have a beam on the ceiling at the 13 foot mark so hoping i can put a projector in front of that. trying to figure out how to do the speakers on the front wall, pretty tight if i want a large screen. i dont know. maybe some thin wall mounted speakers. i could get a 7.5 foot wide screen and have enough to have about a ft wide speakers. but may look odd.