Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 19 Old 01-28-2014, 10:54 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Hi AVS'ers

I've been in the forums, lurking mostly contributing every now and then for about 6yrs. I A/V as a hobby and I spend most my time browsing the build threads and following along all the amazing projects that people share here. As I finally get around to having a dedicated media room space done I figure I need to payback and share my experiences and install decisions as it may benefit others as I have benefited from those I have followed.

I've had a few different 5.1 setups that were part of our main family room TV. Never had a dedicated space. When we moved last summer to Houston we bought a new construction inventory home with a 2nd floor game room and some unfinished 12'X12' space that the builder's plans called a bonus room. Knowing I wanted a dedicated HT space for movies and sports, I studied long and hard to figure out if I could turn the bonus space into a dedicated theater. Knowing the look I would want 3-4 seats across, two rows of seats with a bar/counter at the rear I knew I just didn't have the space to "Go All Out!" in this home. So I made the decision to use the game room as a media room and finish the bonus space for a playroom / art room for our daughter and her friends. What follows is a thread of the design and layout of this media room.

As you will see the room presents some challenges but that is to be expected; a large window in the room, an open floor-plan to the foyer and stairs, and an open hallway to bedrooms.

The room dimensions are 13'4" depth by 18'10" side to side.

The shape of the room played a direct role in layout of furniture and equipment but I am hopeful it will work well.

I'll cover the equipment list in my next post.

Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 19 Old 01-28-2014, 11:38 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Club Gold