Brooks Basement HT Build - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 29 Old 03-07-2014, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 13
I feel like I'm diving in head first, as I'm no expert in home theaters, and far from an expert in construction & renovation. I'm a techie, as are most people in AVS I'm sure, and I've learned lots from reading through many of the threads here. There are still a lot of things I don't fully understand though such as:

1. how important is placement of the sub?
2. how can I determine if I'll have resonance issues and need better sound dampening?
3. why the heck are LED recessed cans so stinking expensive?
4. does partial assymetry in the room have a significant impact on acoustics and surround effects?
5. I plan on a 2.35 screen, but no budget for panamorph lens (planning to use zoom method). But should I get a curved or flat screen?

And probably lots more that I'm forgetting...

I welcome feedback, suggestions, etc. from the community as I move forward. Here's where I stand so far:

Equipment Owned:

Projector: Panasonic AE8000U
Receiver: Pioneer VSX-92THX
Bluray: Pioneer BDP-23FP
L/R Mains: Definitive Tech Mythos Four
Surrounds: Definitive Tech ProMonitor 800
Center: Polk Audio CS1
Sub: Cambridge Soundworks BaseCube 8 (embarrassing, I know. It's a really old tie-over from long ago)

Some things (like the sub) could get replaced, but with a tight budget (isn't that the case for most of us?), I'm leaving equipment upgrades last on the priority list until the rest of the renovation is paid for. Also, I only have speakers for a 5.1 setup right now, and due to the layout of the room, I don't think it would be very easy to squeeze in a 7.1. As it is, I have to put the surrounds in the back wall and not on the sides. :-/

Room Design: