Help running A/V wires through existing walls - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-17-2014, 11:46 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
midwestmuscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Help running A/V wires through existing walls

I have recently added another tv to my house and instead of paying for another cable box I want to run component cables into basement to other side of room then up to TV, but component cables are very large. Is there a way to splice these or cables that I can add rca jacks. I also want to use a flexible drill bit to install in wall.
midwestmuscle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-17-2014, 12:12 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,221
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 373
For retrofit you may be better off using a cat5e/cat6 cable and then either an HDBaseT (HDMI-over-category) product or a Component Video-over-cat5 balun. The "better" component video baluns will do analog audio and HD video over a single cable. Two-cable Component solutions are probably cheaper and offer more capability (analog/digital audio, video, IR repeating).

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-17-2014, 02:08 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
midwestmuscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thank you for the help. Can you please help explain what I would need and where would I get the things I need to do this. What is the difference between the 2 and what is the most cost effective.
midwestmuscle is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-17-2014, 02:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,221
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 300 Post(s)
Liked: 373
Quote:
Originally Posted by midwestmuscle View Post
Thank you for the help. Can you please help explain what I would need and where would I get the things I need to do this. What is the difference between the 2 and what is the most cost effective.
Cheapest:

http://www.amazon.com/Tripp-Lite-B13...t+cat5+adapter

(folks have had mixed luck with these, but if they work for you, they work...)

Better (2-cable):

http://www.amazon.com/CE-Labs-Video-..._bxgy_e_text_y

plus

http://www.amazon.com/CE-Labs-Compon...rds=celabs+cat

Best (HDMI using HDBaseT ):

http://www.monoprice.com/Product?c_i...seq=1&format=2

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-17-2014, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
midwestmuscle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 7
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the help. I didn't know this was even possible.
midwestmuscle is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off