Media room setup, but missing components - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 06-25-2014, 09:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Media room setup, but missing components

Hi all,
I'm brand new to this site, and pretty much a novice, so bear with me.


My condo building has a media room. I'm told that someone stole some of the equipment, but no one has an idea of what equipment was stolen.
The bottom line is that the surround sound doesn't work.
Here's what I've found:
There is a control panel in the wall with a Crestron label. I pulled it out, and on the back it says Prodigy and PL4. There is a power cable, and an Ethernet cable.
There doesn't seem to be power to this panel, as there is no display. I'll try to find the power source.


The Ethernet cable seems to go to a Dlink Router, and there are 3 other cables from that router. Where would they go? There is a TV, Blu-ray player, and a Denon Receiver. I don't think the Ethernet cables go to any of those devices ...do they?


The speakers are all wired, and run to the Receiver.


So, my question is...where are the cat5 cables (Ethernet cables) supposed to connect? Are we missing some piece of equipment?


Just trying to get the surround sound to work from the TV and Blu-ray.


I tried to explain things as best as I can. I haven't been able to find any info on Crestron PL4 on the web, so I don't know how this is all supposed to be connected. Any help would be appreciated.
thatdarncat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 06-25-2014, 10:19 AM
Member
 
smarcus3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
blu ray and denon could all use internet. I guess the TV as well if its a 'smart' TV.

not sure on the crestron piece. However, if the blu ray --> receiver --> speakers is hooked up nothing else is required.

Perhaps draw a diagram so we can understand better.
smarcus3 is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 06-25-2014, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks Smarcus3.


There is no internet available in this media room.


I'm going to take another look at the equipment, and I'll try to create a drawing.


In the meantime, I checked ebay, and found some information. It looks like the PTL4 control panel should connect to a Crestron Media Controller (which we are missing), and there is a touchscreen remote that should go along with those items. Again, we're missing that.


I think all the audio is controlled via the Crestron panel.


I'll see if I can find out more. If anyone has any other expertise with the Crestron equipment, I would appreciate hearing about the connections. Thanks.
thatdarncat is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 06-25-2014, 10:56 AM
Member
 
smarcus3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Charlotte
Posts: 82
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 19 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Is should be possible to cutout that component if you wanted to. You would lose the ability to use the touch screen but would get you going.
smarcus3 is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off