Hidden compartments, built in or another room? Advise needed! - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 07-20-2014, 10:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
shiftline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hidden compartments, built in or another room? Advise needed!

Hey guys I'm on the process of tearing down my media room (currently laying on the couch contemplating how to redo it). I bought some hdmi baluns to run the video from another room (under stairs or furnace room) the more I think about it the more I realize the sheet mass of cables I will have to run back for speakers, subs, power, ir signals, coax, USB ECt to give it that clean everything hidden look or build shelves and have it "built in". Or maybe build out the wall have it all flush/flat with hidden storage behind it for all the goods... Maybe a panel that opens?

What do you guys think? If you have some something similar please post a photo for inspiration


Should I stock up on the millions of adapters and run it all into another room... Build shelves on the diode for that built
shiftline is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 07-25-2014, 12:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
djearl81's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Midwest
Posts: 723
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi Shift,

I apologize I don't have pictures....

We've done a few installs a few different ways in the family. My parents like the built in cabinet look, so they went that way. We opened the walls, ran the cables, and drywalled. Then my Dad finished the built-in cabinets in front. It looks great, but had to go back after the fact and cut some holes for ventilation. Also, it's a bit of a pain to get to the rear of the components for troubleshooting and swapping out. This method did put all the components in place with short wire runs and easy access to swap DVDs, CDs, etc...

At my brothers, We mounted the TV on the wall, then fished the cables down to a media cabinet directly below the TV. Pretty standard, but it looks good and doesn't pose any complications in terms of wire runs, remotes, etc...

At my house we wired everything down to the basement storage room. I have my components on a storage rack. Once there, It's easy enough to get at the components from the front or back, swap wires, etc. We have a few long runs going back to the viewing room for the DVD player, Wii, etc. This gives a real minimalist look, but wire runs are longer and you'll need a system to repeat remote control signals. Can also be a bit of a pain to keep all the wires organized. When things go wrong, it's a lot of up and down stairs to figure out what's on the screen.

How much work are you willing to do? Opening walls an option?

I'm confused too.

djearl81 is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 07-31-2014, 11:20 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
shiftline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My plan was to do it in a other room however after purchasing hdmi baluns I keept dealing more and more wires that would be required and add up in cost so I returned the baluns and decided I will do a clean look with floating shelves and all wires hidden. Today I started to carve a chancel In the brick for 2" conduit. I'm then going to use 2x2 to add more depth to the front then cover it in backer board then in a stacked ledge stone

The side walls I'm going to put 3 floating shelves on each site with conduit running between two of the shelves to run the wires. Should keep all wires hidden with only the components and consoles displayed



The main reason for making the fire place thicker is to have space to run wires as well as allow me to create greater depth in the floating side shelves to accommodate an amp (I want shells flush with fireplace )
shiftline is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 08-01-2014, 08:40 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,883
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 170 Post(s)
Liked: 357
Can you bring the new mantle down lower so you could mount the TV lower? I think you and your neck will be happier if the TV is at a more natural viewing height. Can't tell from the photo how far back your seating location is - but at least the TV is lower than where it was in your first image!

Jeff


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
 -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos:
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

jautor is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 08-01-2014, 08:05 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
shiftline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yea a defiantly want to lower it. I bought a new tv today so I can figure out exact mounting locations. I think I will need a mantel if I lower the tv to block the heat... But atleast it would allow for a lower tv
shiftline is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 08-06-2014, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
shiftline's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Woo fireplace is prepped for stone. Next big decision. Hearth or no hearth.. I prefer the look of no hearth but will heat be an issue for the tv?
shiftline is offline  
Reply General Home Theater & Media/Game Rooms

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off